No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Plymouth

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Armada Way, Plymouth, PL1 2HJ
Holiday Inn Plymouth soars above the sky line The Perfect location to explore Plymouth’s Seafront & The Barbican, the Hotel is only minutes away from the City Centre, Drake Circus Shopping centre and the Barbican’s cafes, restaurants, bars & of course the famous Theatre Royal Plymouth. The hotel is located in the city centre and has onsite parking, charged at £3.00 per car per day. Plymouth Train station is only a 5 minute drive away, A38 is a 15 minute drive, 30 minutes to the M5 and 45 minutes to Exeter International Airport. Plymouth’s iconic high-rise building is an impressive landmark above the city skyline, Choose from 211 bedrooms including family rooms & executive rooms most of which most enjoy impressive views of the beautiful Hoe & Sea front. The hotel has full leisure facilities including an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room and full equipped gym all included in your room rate. For a special treat why not book in with our on-site beautician, they offer everything from fully body massage to pedicures and manicures. (Additional charges apply) The on-site panoramic sea view, 11th floor Elliott’s Restaurant & Bar hosts the daily Breakfast Buffet and serves delicious European cuisine for lunch and dinner The hotel also boasts 7 meeting rooms including our impressive Mariner Ballroom for numbers from 2 – 500 people and wi-fi is available throughout the hotel (charges apply)
Picture of Holiday Inn Plymouth, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Situation !
Good breakfast, nice swimming pool and close to the Hoe and town and shopping. Lovely weekend. Third visit for us. Have enjoyed them all.

Reviewed by
Barbara N

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a good stay
This Holiday Inn is in a fabulous location, so any shortcomings are compensated for by that. I did have to change rooms because the room smelt of damp, but the hotel were quick to react and made no quibble about it. The staff are all lovely!

Reviewed by
julie r

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough
Booked room for myself, husband and grown up daughter. Two large double beds and a good size room. One bed was broken on one side so my daughter slept in that one but would not have been satisfactory for two people. Would have liked biscuits with our coffee in the room but was told by the maid that the rooms on that floor could not have them ( I realised then that our floor was solely for people who had booked via hotel deals websites). Breakfast was lovely, we had a lovely seat overlooking the Hoe

ManagementResponse

Dear Sue D, We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to know you liked the breakfast that was served and enjoyed the view of the Hoe. We have noted that you and your daughter experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the bed during your stay and would like to extend our most sincere apologies for this. We have taken note of your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Sue D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for families
Our family room was on the ground floor. There was lots of space, none of this feeling as though extra beds robbed you of floor space. Had a large window giving lots of light, in fact we left it opened , on a safety restrictor, as it was so warm. Restaurant is on the top floor with fantastic views across the city. We arrived early and our luggage was stored securely in a locked room and we were allowed access to the leisure suite to change. Under ground car park very handy £3 for 24hrs better than on street parking.

Reviewed by
S Jenkins

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want a good nights sleep don't stay here
Hotel room was shabby, cold and noisy.It was near a lift so we requested a change of room but were told the lifts were turned off at 11.They weren''t of course . I attempted to speak to a manager at 1,30am and 1.45am but no one was available. There was a large group of children(rugby team) staying who were allowed to rampage through the hotel without adult supervision. I was told by staff that the noise was coming from the bar on the ground floor - we were on 3. The rooms are badly insulated so you can hear every noise from the room next door. We did get a refund but it was the last night of our holiday and th lack of sleep meant we were I'll prepared for our 5 hour journey home.

Reviewed by
J Townsend

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn stay at Plymouth
Hotel in need of upgrade/refurbishment as rooms looking tired. Wi Fi too expensive if not a member of hotel group.Unable to have shower as boiler faulty! Swimming pool and gym only redeeming feature. Hotel in good location for bars and restaurants in proximity to the Barbican. Breakfast could be better presentation wise!

ManagementResponse

Dear P Murphy, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are pleased that our location worked for your needs. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the condition of the rooms and Internet Service may have cased you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, John, IHG Care

Reviewed by
P Murphy

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice views of Plymouth

Reviewed by
Jackie C

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
The room quality could be better for the price I paid!

ManagementResponse

Dear Varun Mahadkar, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and service we offer. Regards, Joel, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Varun Mahadkar

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious rooms and good central location
We have stayed in this hotel before albeit 12yrs ago! The location is excellent right on the Hoe and within wailing distance of all that Plymouth has to offer. This is a large hotel and offers very spacious rooms ....ours had two queen size beds! Rooms are a little tired but clean and functional. We stayed in room 616 and had two good nights sleep and could not hear anyone in adjoining rooms, it is of good solid build so no creaky floors! We booked a meal on one of our evenings here and the choice of food was good and very reasonably priced, I can recommend the carvery. Good choice of breakfast with lovely views of the sea as the restaurant is on the penthouse floor. would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
C Rowe

From St. Helens , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room comfortable, Breakfast good value. would recommend this hotel

ManagementResponse

Dear R Wheeler, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
R WHEELER

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next