No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Plymouth

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ARMADA WAY, PLYMOUTH, PL1 2HJ
Choose the spacious Holiday Inn Plymouth hotel on Plymouth Hoe's cliff tops, minutes from the city centre. The peaceful Holiday Inn Plymouth is surrounded by the grassy open spaces of Plymouth Hoe. Relax over dinner with views across Plymouth Sound from 11th-floor Elliott's restaurant and bar. Exeter International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Plymouth Airport 6 miles from the hotel. Leave your car in the car park and stroll to shops in Plymouth city centre .

Yachts moor up next to cafes at the stylish Barbican marina , 5 minutes away, and sharks swim at the National Marine Aquarium . Sea views are on the menu at breakfast and dinner from top-floor Elliott's restaurant , and you can order local Plymouth Gin in the laid-back, pub-style bar .
Picture of Holiday Inn Plymouth, PLYMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for families
Our family room was on the ground floor. There was lots of space, none of this feeling as though extra beds robbed you of floor space. Had a large window giving lots of light, in fact we left it opened , on a safety restrictor, as it was so warm. Restaurant is on the top floor with fantastic views across the city. We arrived early and our luggage was stored securely in a locked room and we were allowed access to the leisure suite to change. Under ground car park very handy £3 for 24hrs better than on street parking.

Reviewed by
S Jenkins

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want a good nights sleep don't stay here
Hotel room was shabby, cold and noisy.It was near a lift so we requested a change of room but were told the lifts were turned off at 11.They weren''t of course . I attempted to speak to a manager at 1,30am and 1.45am but no one was available. There was a large group of children(rugby team) staying who were allowed to rampage through the hotel without adult supervision. I was told by staff that the noise was coming from the bar on the ground floor - we were on 3. The rooms are badly insulated so you can hear every noise from the room next door. We did get a refund but it was the last night of our holiday and th lack of sleep meant we were I'll prepared for our 5 hour journey home.

Reviewed by
J Townsend

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn stay at Plymouth
Hotel in need of upgrade/refurbishment as rooms looking tired. Wi Fi too expensive if not a member of hotel group.Unable to have shower as boiler faulty! Swimming pool and gym only redeeming feature. Hotel in good location for bars and restaurants in proximity to the Barbican. Breakfast could be better presentation wise!

Reviewed by
P Murphy

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice views of Plymouth

Reviewed by
Jackie C

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
The room quality could be better for the price I paid!

ManagementResponse

Dear Varun Mahadkar, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and service we offer. Regards, Joel, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Varun Mahadkar

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious rooms and good central location
We have stayed in this hotel before albeit 12yrs ago! The location is excellent right on the Hoe and within wailing distance of all that Plymouth has to offer. This is a large hotel and offers very spacious rooms ....ours had two queen size beds! Rooms are a little tired but clean and functional. We stayed in room 616 and had two good nights sleep and could not hear anyone in adjoining rooms, it is of good solid build so no creaky floors! We booked a meal on one of our evenings here and the choice of food was good and very reasonably priced, I can recommend the carvery. Good choice of breakfast with lovely views of the sea as the restaurant is on the penthouse floor. would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
C Rowe

From St. Helens , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room comfortable, Breakfast good value. would recommend this hotel

ManagementResponse

Dear R Wheeler, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
R WHEELER

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for an overnight stop - fabulous views!
This was a late rooms.com booking - so glad I opted for this one!
Only issue - the offer on late rooms wasn't completely understood by the hotel - this probably needs sorting out - what's included and what's not!

Reviewed by
Karen Currie

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

try this one!!
excellent service good staff would use again

Reviewed by
peter martin

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

diving weekend at plymouth
It was the scuba clubs 25th annual trip to plymouth. All decided to book into the holiday inn for comfort and quality, we were not let down. 1st class hotel with 1st class accommodation.

Reviewed by
D Roper

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next