No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Yallands Farmhouse

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Speke Close, Staplegrove, , Taunton, TA2 6PZ
**Free Fibre Optic WiFi** Chris & Karen Ward look forward to welcoming you to Yallands Farmhouse - our delightful Grade II Listed building dating back over 400 years, which sat amidst acres of green fields for several centuries. The expansion of Taunton during the 1970's led to new housing being built on the former farmland. The farmhouse, with its secluded garden, small orchard and stone barn was left intact. As a result, Yallands has become an unexpected 'oasis' of peace and tranquility within a modern corner of Somerset's county town. We are self-assessed 4 star rated and are situated 1½ miles from Taunton town centre on the north-western edge of the town. We are easily reached from the M5 motorway - junction 25 (4 miles) and junction 26 (6 miles). For those who are reliant on public transport a local bus, with a stop at the foot of the garden, provides a daytime service to and from the town centre. The lovely town centre provides excellent shopping and county cricket, horse racing, golf and other leisure facilities are all available nearby. Taunton has a good selection of restaurants and wine bars to suit most tastes and the surrounding countryside offers many delightful pubs which serve excellent food. There is ample car parking space in the private grounds together with lockable cycle storage in the stables. We are particularly convenient for Taunton School, The Somerset Heritage Centre & Nuffield Hospital. Why not enjoy relaxing in our gardens in the summer or sitting in front of our open fire in those cold winter months? Yallands is open all year round and - whether you are a tourist or a business visitor - you can be assured of a warm welcome and our individual attention.
Picture of Yallands Farmhouse, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acceptable Accommodation
Booked a single room and that is exactly what I got - shame no one thought to upgrade considering I was the only guest! A little more thought would have been appreciated as I was there a couple of nights. The room was on the small side but had everything I needed. Everything was okay but nothing I could get complimentary about. An offer to help with my suitcase on leaving would have been appreciated when leaving. All in all I'll probably book a Travel Lodge next time - bigger room, better bed, etc.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to find, but definitely worth it
Get out your sat nav and don't lose heart. It doesn't look right as you drive thru a housing estate, but you're on the right track!
Once you arrive, relax and rewind - the welcome is genuine, rooms are really comfortable, clean and tastefully furnished.
Breakfast is hearty, and you're really close to the centre of town.
Recommended.

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, tastefully furnished, comfortable stay. Frindly welcome.Recommended
My title says it all. Breakfast great, room great, location great .Hosts great.

Reviewed by
JULIE R

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
We visited Taunton and needed to stay overnight. We had a warm and friendly welcome from the owner. The room we had was comfortable and had everything we needed. We had a good night's sleep in the comfy bed. Breakfast was served quickly, it was hot and tasty.
The location was ideal being about a mile and a half from the centre of Taunton. All in all, we were very satisfied.

Reviewed by
Wendy C

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My third time at Yellands, which must say something? Owners are very obliging, whatever your needs, they will try their best to accommodate. Current pricing is very competitive.

Reviewed by
J Wildish

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect B&B location for wedding receptions at Roughmoor Farm
A perfect day, a wedding in Taunton, the reception at Roughmoor Farm, use of P&R, and lovely B&B within 10 minute walk of both, all with no hassel of parking or traffic.

Reviewed by
J Zownir

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable Stay
Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Very welcoming and friendly hosts. Rooms very comfortable and nicely furnished in a traditional way which suited the lovely old Farmhouse building. Everything we needed in the rooms to make us feel at home, including tv, tea making facilities, hair dryer etc. Nice big sitting room downstairs with comfy chairs and TV. Very tasty breakfast in nice dining room with lovely old fireplace. We would definately stay again if we are in the area, and highly recommend Yallands Farmhouse.

Reviewed by
catherine c

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yallands break
Perfect for what we wanted. Lovely place, friendly owners and nice pub/restaurant within walking distance together with the odd shop. Breakfast was wonderful - no need for lunch! Set within a housing estate, but once there, it wasn't an issue.

Reviewed by
James B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somerset Heritage Centre Visit
Yallands is excellent: the beautiful farmhouse itself, the quality of the accommodation and breakfast, and, not least the hospitality and helpfulness of Chris and Karen. The farmhouse is within very easy walking distance of the heritage centre and, at about 1.5 miles, within reasonable walking distance of the town centre. A very enjoybale experience.

Reviewed by
John M

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcome in peaceful location.

Reviewed by
Anna S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next