No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Watersmeet Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mortehoe , Woolacombe, EX34 7EB

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The incredible location overlooking Woolacombe beach is second to none."

A former Edwardian coastal residence, the Watersmeet is now one of Devon's finest coastal hotels. It is situated above a quiet, sandy beach on North Devon's rugged coastline. All but three bedrooms have spectacular sea views, many with balconies or a terraces to view the magnificent sunsets. The very best pocket sprung beds; thick, luxurious duvets; crisp white linen and superior memory foam pillows ensure a comfortable night's sleep. With a choice of two restaurants the views are stunning. The fine dining 2 AA rosette restaurant is renowned for its excellent cuisine or the informal bistro restaurant with a menu to suit all appetites.

On the hotel's doorstep you will find one of the country's highest rated beaches recently voted the third best in the UK by trip advisor and the nearby championship golf course. The many scenic coastal foot paths that surround the hotel are owned by the National Trust.

Heated indoor and outdoor pools with steam room and hot spa. Ground floor rooms available, lift to all floors. Free parking and internet access.
Picture of Watersmeet Hotel, Woolacombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Watersmeet Experience - Highly recommended
The hotel is situated in a beautiful position overlooking beach and sea and with plenty of good sunsets to be seen when the weather is clear. The hotel is excellent situated for those wanting to walk along the coastal footpath with some excellent scenery to be seen.
The hotel staff are very friendly and the customer service was excellent, the staff went out of their was to be extremely helpful and to ensure that your stay was a memorable one. The food was excellent and every mouthful was enjoyable. There is also an excellent wine list to suit all pockets.

Reviewed by
Philip Dawes

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very attractive hotel pleasantly situated with good accommodation, food and service,
The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. My wife enjoyed the pool and sauna. Our one complaint was the amount of time it took to serve evening meals in the smaller restaurant. We waited over an hour for our main course. Priority is probably given to the orders from diners in the main restaurant but guests should be expected to wait that long. The couple on the next table were equally unimpressed..

Reviewed by
d butler

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced

Reviewed by
Manfred H

From Havant, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Excellent food and service. A very relaxing atmosphere. Immaculate!

Reviewed by
P Oliver

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Near the beach
Beautifully updated hotel with great views and nice outdoor pool. 10 mins walk from main woolacombe beach - 2 small coves closer. Breakfast was excellent with lovely views. Bar area very relaxed and pleasant with lots of games

Reviewed by
Hugh R

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful setting
The position of the hotel overlooking a small cove at the Mortehoe end of Woolacombe Bay was a delight. One can easily walk from the hotel in several directions and further afield from Mortehoe and Croyde. We felt the price of dinner too high although the food was interesting and beautifully cooked but the Bistro was much better value. The breakfast buffet was not quite of the standard we would expect… a small table with some interesting fruit but uncut grapefruit which naturally no one touched and a limited range of cereals. Only butter was offered and the service was somewhat hit and miss with the waiters and waitresses doing their best but not always working as a team. It made a difference when the manager was there. She was very aware and kept the show going. Despite these criticisms, we did enjoy our stay.

Reviewed by
J Wright

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oustanding Situation
The hotel is in an outstanding situation perched on a cliff top overlooking the bay with views over the ocean to Lundy Island and west to Baggy and Hartland Points.
We stayed three nights as the weather was more or less perfect and actually stayed around the hotel as the grounds and facilities were perfect for relaxing.
The choice at breakfast was outstanding particularly the fresh fruit.

Reviewed by
Warwick Davis

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel.
Excellent hotel but quite expensive

Reviewed by
Craig E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A luxurious hotel in a stunning location. The food is outstanding.
Only two negatives, the steam room was only put on when I arrived at the pool area so it was not hot enough to use during my visit. On our first night Friday 6 June, we were woken at 2.30am by raucous activities taking place around the pool below our room and were not able to get back to sleep. On reflection we wish we had complained the following morning, particularly as another couple commented that they were also disturbed.

Reviewed by
Patricia Blackwood

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful getaway
The room was lovely, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. My only comment is the lead on the hairdryer is very short and no easy way to see in a mirror when drying my hair. We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal and the food was good and the service unobtrusive. Lovely views from the dining room. The hotel is in a fairly remote spot with great walks and views.

Reviewed by
Carol D

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next