No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bedford Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Plymouth Road , Tavistock, PL19 8BB
'A Little Gem' Welcoming Town House Hotel situated in The Historic Market Town of Tavistock, Devon. Formally the home to The Dukes of Bedford and built on the remains of an Abbey.The Woburn Restaurant is renowned and features many local dishes and fresh produce.Explore Tavistock with its wealth of antique shops and Panier Market,on our doorstep - Dartmoor, a little further afield - The Eden Project. Within easy reach three excellent golf courses, (preferred rates available for our guests) If you are looking for a short break in Devon this is an excellent location. A very popular venue for Xmas shopping with excellent craft shops and market in Tavistock or the new multi million pound shopping Mall in Plymouth just 20 minutes away.
Picture of The Bedford Hotel, Tavistock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well managed and staffed by competent staff with a professional attitude to their job
The hotel has dignified charm and the attention and attitude of staff was faultless.

Reviewed by
L Spence

From Sevenoaks, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night only
Slight disappointment as expectations for this hotel was high, the room was clean and tidy smaller than expected and high window to hide from car park. Also being on lower floor meant the sound of other people were of a level to wake you from sleep. Breakfast was bordering overcooked and choice of fruit poor compared to others I have stayed in. Staff were efficient and helpful. Maybe caught a busy time and would like to check out some rooms before/if staying again as location for area is good.

Reviewed by
Sue L

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Re stay
The hotel was excellent in every way from the minute I arrived until I left

Reviewed by
Laurance Pater

From Edgware, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The night we stayed was very warm and it was difficult to sleep despite the bed being very comfortable. There was no air conditioning and although a fan was provided this was fairly ineffective.

Reviewed by
John L

From Ottery St Mary, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sheila C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good town centre position
Very good sized room and bathroom.Very efficient shower and excellent towels.A very traditional old style hotel.Nice dining room with view of Church and street.Very nice staff.Good car parking and close to all Tavistock has to offer.

Reviewed by
P Davies

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our getaway
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the bedgord hotel.the staff were attentive but did not pester you . The room was lovely ,we were lucky to be up graded and all the facilities were great . The building was lovely and some very interesting photos and pictures added to the history of the building .

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
Really nice staff - friendly - comfortable bed - great location right in the centre of town easy walks to river - good range of choices for breakfast and lots of it - upgraded our room for free - the best lemon tart I have tasted in a long time!

Reviewed by
Ian Robertson

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Quality
we had a room on the second f;ppr the room smelt a little musty we opened a window and found the paint was flaking and the wood rotting, we went for breakfast the next morning and had to wait 15 minutes for our order to be taken and then a further 45 minutes for the breakfast to arrive which was of a poor standard the bacon was dried out and the forgot the egg on the order a real let down and when we spoke to the staff about the missing item there was no apology just took the plates and added the egg to them both, I think the staff who serve breakfast need people skills training I am very unhappy with the whole experience and for the money it cost it is definitely not worth it

Reviewed by
jean Irwin

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Nights Stay
Excellent room and breakfast. Thought the reception stay were a bit slow. Had to wait for 5 minutes to get my room key because there was only one girl on reception and serving customers on the bar

Reviewed by
Chris Wiggins

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next