No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bedford Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Plymouth Road , Tavistock, PL19 8BB
'A Little Gem' Welcoming Town House Hotel situated in The Historic Market Town of Tavistock, Devon. Formally the home to The Dukes of Bedford and built on the remains of an Abbey.The Woburn Restaurant is renowned and features many local dishes and fresh produce.Explore Tavistock with its wealth of antique shops and Panier Market,on our doorstep - Dartmoor, a little further afield - The Eden Project. Within easy reach three excellent golf courses, (preferred rates available for our guests) If you are looking for a short break in Devon this is an excellent location. A very popular venue for Xmas shopping with excellent craft shops and market in Tavistock or the new multi million pound shopping Mall in Plymouth just 20 minutes away.
Picture of The Bedford Hotel, Tavistock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel a little bit tired, staff not very chatty but on the whole Hotel was convenient for my trip.
I would stay there again as it was close to my relatives home. Biggest issue was pillows and cushions could have smelt better.

Reviewed by
Lyn T

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed at The Bedford on many ocassions and have been over the moon with all aspects but this time we were a little disappointed - on arrival we were given keys to our room and found that the room had not been made up-so went and saw receptionist who was very helpful and we were allocated another room which was very nice but we could not see out of the bottom windows much to our dismay-but we thought we would just get on with it and i didnt really want to start moaning sbout it because that was not me-even though i have made a comment now-we were disappointed but it would not stop us from staying at the Bedford in the future because we have always have good service and the staff are very friendly-we will be back and tavistock is such a lovely place to visit as is The Bedford Hotel.

Reviewed by
C Pryor

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My first time at the Bedford, I will definitely go again sometime in the near future. The staff were efficient, friendly, helpful and considerate at all times. The room was excellent and real value for money. The standard of food is top quality and not over priced. Hotel beer was very very good and could easily compare to a good local pub. All the staff were attentive but I have to give a special mention to Kirsty, a real asset to the hotel.
Thanks for a very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Anthony Griffin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming hotel with good service and value for money

Reviewed by
James M

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair to middling
Hotel comfortable but a little dated and worn.
Room comfortable and clean. Nice touch of chocolates with refreshments.
Bathroom more up to date and clean. Lots of toiletries available.
Food in the Garden room at the back. Nice view of the well tended garden. Cooked breakfast was nice.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
N Harrison

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well managed and staffed by competent staff with a professional attitude to their job
The hotel has dignified charm and the attention and attitude of staff was faultless.

Reviewed by
L Spence

From Sevenoaks, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night only
Slight disappointment as expectations for this hotel was high, the room was clean and tidy smaller than expected and high window to hide from car park. Also being on lower floor meant the sound of other people were of a level to wake you from sleep. Breakfast was bordering overcooked and choice of fruit poor compared to others I have stayed in. Staff were efficient and helpful. Maybe caught a busy time and would like to check out some rooms before/if staying again as location for area is good.

Reviewed by
Sue L

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Re stay
The hotel was excellent in every way from the minute I arrived until I left

Reviewed by
Laurance Pater

From Edgware, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The night we stayed was very warm and it was difficult to sleep despite the bed being very comfortable. There was no air conditioning and although a fan was provided this was fairly ineffective.

Reviewed by
John L

From Ottery St Mary, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sheila C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next