No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Bristol Brigstow

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5-7 Welsh Back , Bristol, BS1 4SP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Activity & Large Hotel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel – a unique four star boutique style hotel, standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard, overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city. Within walking distance of the hotel enjoy the vibrant metropolis with its infamous shops, quality restaurants, bars and nightlife many of which are located along the waterside. The Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station where trains leave every twenty minutes to the historic City of Bath with a journey time of under twenty minutes. There is an adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park, where as a guest of the hotel you will receive a 25% discount.

The hotel offers 116 contemporary designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom! There are also a limited number of twin bedrooms available and to feel really special, for an additional cost, there are ten Privilege bedrooms and one Suite; these room types are subject to availability and bookable on a request basis only.

The ellipse restaurant and bar is open daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights with amazing wines to complement. Alternatively, enjoy a coffee or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by.

Whether you are planning an evening of corporate entertainment or a family celebration, the city centre Brigstow Hotel will provide the perfect setting for your event. We pride ourselves on offering high standards of service and quality with a local flair and an eye for detail. The River View Suite and the Mezzanine floor are an ideal venue to hold any event up to 100 persons whether a private dinner, drinks reception or state of the art meeting in very trendy,modern surroundings including floor to ceiling windows with unobstructed views of the river. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym (not for posers!) where the hotel has made arrangements with their compliments.

Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel.

Picture of Mercure Bristol Brigstow, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 208 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently situated, high quality accommodation, helpful staff

Reviewed by
r griffiths

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room choice
For some reason, I was allocated Room 401 which is a room for those with disabilities / restricted movement.
While I understand perfectly why you need a number of these, they are not particularly friendly to fully mobile people. My principal concern is over the shower (wet room) arrangement. Unfortunately, no matter how I tried to position myself, the bathroom became flooded. Of course, all sanitary units / sinks were lower than necessary etc
minor gripes only but worth mentioning because I would veto in the future if offered similar.

Reviewed by
James Hawkins

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgraded was an added bonus
We booked the room only a couple of days before staying the night. My teenage daughter and I had come down to the open day at Bristol university and a stay over night and an early start seemed more peaceful than a mad dash on a train early in the morning. When we arrived we were told that the standard rooms had sold out so we were being upgraded . That was a bonus . The room was well designed, clean and stylish and my daughter was very impressed with the tv in the bathroom. It set out day in Bristol off to a very positive start. I was also impressed with the reception staff who helped us print out a form for our open day visit to the University . Wonderful service.

Reviewed by
Norma F

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel....la ....riffic
Clean and tidy modern hotel and room ...friendly staff that were happy to when i needed extra milk for my tea . A splendid room with a riverview . And a bath with a tele ....ideally situated also . Smack in the middle of a great night out in bristol ...thumbs up...:-)

Reviewed by
d stainer

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart modern hotel.
Comfortable beds and rooms with modern design. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel
Hotel was very clean and welcoming. Its beautifully kept inside and has a great setting with the river out front. The room was so nice and the bed was amazingly comfortable. With a tv in the bath and everything one needs to have a relaxing night away i recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
Hayley du Toit

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great one night break!
Myself and my Husband fancied going somewhere different for the night and was very pleased with our stay! Great location, friendly staff and the room was also excellent for the price. Would definitely stay at the Mercure again and will also recommend to family and friends. :-)

Reviewed by
Ruth S - Hall

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bristol Show stay
Stayed here after seeing a show at the Hippodrome... was very good ...on all levels.. Staff very helpful and courteous, room very pleasant! Only had breakfast so cant comment on full menu...however the food served at breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
l bates

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine location, good service, comfortable room
We were very well pleased with our choice of hotel - always uncertain quality when arranged by internet. Excellent location and easy parking, albeit at a discounted daily £15. The staff were efficient, helpful and courteous. No complaints.

Reviewed by
T Perks

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable deal though wouldn't want to pay the rack rate
Room was small but bathroom good size. Water pressure in our room (502) was poor the shower was little better than a dribble and forget filling the bath, life's too short. Cleaning issues with sweet wrappers left after the previous guests.
Good location for city centre - quiet but short walk to main facilities.

Reviewed by
Terrence S

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next