No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
119 London Road , Derby, DE1 2QR
Guests have access to FREE WiFi in the public area, and FREE hard wired internet access in the bedrooms. All of our bedrooms are comfortable modern rooms with great facilities. There is ample FREE ON-SITE CAR PARKING, the hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller wanting a relaxing and comfortable stay. All rooms are non-smoking. The hotel is close to nearby attractions such Royal Crown Derby, Westfield, Cathedral Quarter, and Alton Towers (approx 40min drive).
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 234 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor quality

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The slowest check in ever!
Even though we had booked online 3 days earlier, check in took more than 30 minutes!
The explanation/excuse we were given was that the booking could not be found on the system.

Reviewed by
Nick M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and horrible!
it didn't start well. Receptionist needs to learn what good customer service is! It's certainly not leaving your guests to wait for you to respond for 5+ minutes, while you fiddle with the computer, without even acknowledging them. Our room was ok, but had a badly cracked sink in 2 places - not very hygienic. It was on the Third floor at the top of the building and the corridor to our room had suffered a flood in the earlier cloud burst, so was hot, humid and smelly. The rooms were hot and had tiny little windows and so no potential for circulating fresh air. Although being tipped out at 2 AM for a Fire Alarm was refreshing and a little hair raising - as bottom of Fire Escape has terrible drops on either side and no hand rails! Tables in restaurant were permanently sticky at dinner and breakfast. At dinner I ordered a Burrito which arrived empty and without the promised cheese or rice. So returned it. 2nd attempt at least had a meat filling. Husbands curry, had inedible rice! Staff were apologetic and I was given a free drink - what a joke! When we checked out early and cancelled our 2 further nights, they didn't even question it! However, there was only 3 cars left in the car park , so guess we weren't the only unhappy guests - as it had been full when we arrived.

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer experience
Room very good appreciated the fridge, but did seem small and therefore cramped. The night we were there was very noisy indeed, and hot beyond belief. Also had a false alarm fire evac not our best nights sleep, though the duty manager was excellent.

Reviewed by
i hall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was adequate for our needs, good location close to shops.
Shower had no pressure at all and bath quite hard to get in/out of without slipping.
Rooms clean and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
D Gill

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff a bit grumpy, room too hot, aircon not working. the £44 paid was good. Full price ridiculous.
Arrived around 11pm on a friday night. The receptionist was not particularly the welcoming sort. Our room was on the first floor and as soon as we entered the corridor, the heat blast hit us and the room was the same. The aircon in the room worked for 30 seconds before giving an error warning which required me to grovel around on the floor to reset the on/off switch for a further 30 seconds. So, no sleep. We mentioned this to reception on departure and were told that someone would contact us...still waiting. To be honest, I got the feeling that the receptionist's attitude was one of "it's not my problem", and I wouldn't deal with my customers like this. There were no questions asking for details and no real interest shown in the issue and how it might be resolved. No actions were suggested. I'm not looking for recompense, just a bit of understanding and reassurance that this is not the norm. If that had been offered, I think I could recommend the hotel (at least for location and value for money for what I paid) but this was not forthcoming.
We took no meals here.
Overall I can't expect more for £44 which was the Laterooms price. The full price, I think, was £140!!! I can forgive mechanical failure of aircon, these things happen but I felt the staff could be well served by attending customer service training and charm school.

Reviewed by
Peter Smith

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value!!!
Great Value Comfortable Clean room Modern look to the Hotel, coudn't fault except for the fact it was a Hot weekend and the room would of benefitted from Air con. Besides that Great.

Reviewed by
Neil McCombe

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a Sauna
The room was far too warm... Uncomfortably warm. Couldn't be comfortable to sleep in the heat. Also no warm water in The bathroom... So it was either a boiling hot room or a freezing cold shower to choose from Although the staff were friendly and the food was adequate I did not enjoy my stay.

Reviewed by
B Fletcher

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Good value for money. Excellent location for the train station. Food in the bar was very expensive and poor quality.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Derby stuart hotel
area around hotel has seen better days,hotel itself needs updating but was adequate for our purposes,we were visiting family and also went to sunbury hall and park.

Reviewed by
DAVID CONWAY

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next