No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
119 London Road , Derby, DE1 2QR
Guests have access to FREE WiFi in the public area, and FREE hard wired internet access in the bedrooms. All of our bedrooms are comfortable modern rooms with great facilities. There is ample FREE ON-SITE CAR PARKING, the hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller wanting a relaxing and comfortable stay. All rooms are non-smoking. The hotel is close to nearby attractions such Royal Crown Derby, Westfield, Cathedral Quarter, and Alton Towers (approx 40min drive).
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 231 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff a bit grumpy, room too hot, aircon not working. the £44 paid was good. Full price ridiculous.
Arrived around 11pm on a friday night. The receptionist was not particularly the welcoming sort. Our room was on the first floor and as soon as we entered the corridor, the heat blast hit us and the room was the same. The aircon in the room worked for 30 seconds before giving an error warning which required me to grovel around on the floor to reset the on/off switch for a further 30 seconds. So, no sleep. We mentioned this to reception on departure and were told that someone would contact us...still waiting. To be honest, I got the feeling that the receptionist's attitude was one of "it's not my problem", and I wouldn't deal with my customers like this. There were no questions asking for details and no real interest shown in the issue and how it might be resolved. No actions were suggested. I'm not looking for recompense, just a bit of understanding and reassurance that this is not the norm. If that had been offered, I think I could recommend the hotel (at least for location and value for money for what I paid) but this was not forthcoming.
We took no meals here.
Overall I can't expect more for £44 which was the Laterooms price. The full price, I think, was £140!!! I can forgive mechanical failure of aircon, these things happen but I felt the staff could be well served by attending customer service training and charm school.

Reviewed by
Peter Smith

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a Sauna
The room was far too warm... Uncomfortably warm. Couldn't be comfortable to sleep in the heat. Also no warm water in The bathroom... So it was either a boiling hot room or a freezing cold shower to choose from Although the staff were friendly and the food was adequate I did not enjoy my stay.

Reviewed by
B Fletcher

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value!!!
Great Value Comfortable Clean room Modern look to the Hotel, coudn't fault except for the fact it was a Hot weekend and the room would of benefitted from Air con. Besides that Great.

Reviewed by
Neil McCombe

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Good value for money. Excellent location for the train station. Food in the bar was very expensive and poor quality.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Derby stuart hotel
area around hotel has seen better days,hotel itself needs updating but was adequate for our purposes,we were visiting family and also went to sunbury hall and park.

Reviewed by
DAVID CONWAY

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Hotel
Only minor problem was shower very weak

Reviewed by
Richard Amery

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If only the rooms were as impeccable as Lauren.
Lauren, (receptionist) is outstanding, very helpful and a delight to deal with, the other staff, not so much. I stayed in the executive double and experienced a few issues. The shower seemed to be powered by an asthmatic, dwarf with little to no pressure at all. There was no gown or slippers as the site promised and the room appeared to be heated via induction from the earths core. Trying to sleep in a room estimated to have an ambient temperature equal to or greater than the surface of the sun was no mean feat. Still, it was a comfortable bed and very clean and for £45 I shouldn't moan too much.

Reviewed by
Dean p

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

real value for money
good value for the money, air con in the room helped a lot, staff helpful and friendly, furniture a little dated but we weren't there to look at the furniture! very handy for the shops resturants and bars, after a lovely Italian we found a pub by the hotel with a disco and karaoke. would defo stay here again

Reviewed by
c brown

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stopover
All the staff we encountered were very helpful, friendly and unobtrusive. Check in and out were quick. Fantastic to have ample parking in a city hotel. The bar was very comfortable and relaxing. However the room was at the back of the hotel and we were disturbed by demolition work outside. If we had been staying for another night we would have asked to move. Also the room was very stuffy and quite small.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good standard of hotel would use again

Reviewed by
John P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next