Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Bournemouth Hotels > Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MEYRICK ROAD , Bournemouth, BH1 3DN
The newly refurbished grand 4-star hotel is set high on Bournemouth's East Cliff and offers spacious bedrooms, AA Rosette award-winning restaurant, gardens, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a leisure club with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is now shut for winter.

With its grand charm and richly decorated reception areas and lounges, you can relax in style and comfort, savour a splendid meal in our superb restaurant against the sparkling backdrop of the sea and unwind with a gentle swim or sauna in our Waves Health & Leisure Club. Choose from a range of bedrooms, many offering private balconies and stunning sea views. The hotel offers of a choice of function, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking.

Whether it's a family holiday or an idyllic coastal break, the Menzies Bournemouth Carlton hotel is the perfect choice.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and service

Reviewed by
Christopher M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value at clifftop hotel
Reception efficient and friendly; room larger than expected for a standard double; everything there (except fridge which would probably be in deluxe standard) but great value for money.

Reviewed by
Ann C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was ok bot the bathroom needs upgrading and the bath itself didn't look clean. The hotel is great though and we always look to stay there

Reviewed by
Nick L

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff. Great location, but hotel was FAR too hot. Awful nights sleep plus window wouldn't stay open. Shame as not a nice relaxing night as planned

Reviewed by
Lyndon S

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 322 was great, very spacious, clean and tidy. Plenty of tea/coffee etc, could have done with abit more milk and sugar. Bed was very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. Room was in ideal part of hotel, no noise was heard even In the morning by cleaners.

Reviewed by
Z Cridge

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really big room, good quality tea/coffee facilities, good sized bathroom room excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Hailey P

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Bournemouth
Nice sea front hotel. very nice room. lovely place

Reviewed by
richard s

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely traditional hotel
We stayed in a room with our 7yr old and it was perfect. Right on the seafront with a seaview. The room was large enough for us not to feel cramped with 3 of us. It had everything we needed. Tea making facilities etc. Perfect for our short stay in Bournemouth.
They are obviously taking the upkeep of the hotel seriously. It was all lovely apart from the flooring in the bathroom and swimming pook area, which I appreciate is hard to keep pristine. The breakfast was gorgeous. Plenty of choice and lovely and hot. Service was superb by all staff.

Reviewed by
Fiona B

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value and location
The room was clean and tidy; bed comfortable and furnishings pleasant. If I changed anything it would be the replacement of the bath. The leisure centre was good and the receptionist particularly helpful and pleasant. It was disappointing to learn on check-in that the sauna was out of action. Jacuzzi and pool were warm and the outlook on to the pool outside attractive. Evening meal was good and staff pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was first class - plenty of choice and great food. My only negative comments would be (1) I guessed where the car park was by driving around the back of the hotel [I didn't notice any signs]; and (2) had I not looked my bill carefully on check-out I would have been charged for two evening meals instead of one and the full rate for breakfast rather than LateRoom's discount at time of booking. The receptionist, however, quickly rectified this and did not make me feel awkward about discussing it.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey C

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and over priced
Not at all gd value for money, service and food in the restaurant very substandard and expensive, rooms tired and too hot. Wouldn't rush back.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next