Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Bournemouth Hotels > Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MEYRICK ROAD , Bournemouth, BH1 3DN
The newly refurbished grand 4-star hotel is set high on Bournemouth's East Cliff and offers spacious bedrooms, AA Rosette award-winning restaurant, gardens, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a leisure club with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is now shut for winter.

With its grand charm and richly decorated reception areas and lounges, you can relax in style and comfort, savour a splendid meal in our superb restaurant against the sparkling backdrop of the sea and unwind with a gentle swim or sauna in our Waves Health & Leisure Club. Choose from a range of bedrooms, many offering private balconies and stunning sea views. The hotel offers of a choice of function, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking.

Whether it's a family holiday or an idyllic coastal break, the Menzies Bournemouth Carlton hotel is the perfect choice.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and over priced
Not at all gd value for money, service and food in the restaurant very substandard and expensive, rooms tired and too hot. Wouldn't rush back.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good
I booked a room through late rooms for two adults at a cost of £157. When I arrived I was met by my friends who were also booked into the hotel, they had just checked in. On my turn I was told very bluntly by the only lady manning the desk "your name is not on our reservations, there is nothing I can do". Well at least it was to the point. I had to phone Laterooms who had my details and payment. They contacted the hotel and told them to find me a room which they did in the Royal Bath Hotel. On arrival at the hotel the room I was given was dark, cramped and had a duel aspect view of an indoor carpark and a brick wall with a down pipe.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From SUTTON, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommend
Great service and very Pleased with Hotel from Reception Check in, to a really nice room and comfy bed with great sea views and finished off with a great Breakfast! Would definitely stay again..

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From Gillingham, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff!
Perfect for an overnight stay - I came down with my husband and 2 children for the Bournemouth Marathon. We didn't get the seaview room we'd booked on LateRooms but were given a £20 discount when we pointed it out. The staff were very accommodating and friendly - they let us keep our car in the carpark even after check out and also let me come back to use the shower in the pool area after the marathon. Kids enjoyed the pool. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was lovely. Decor in need of a refurb but overall we would definitely stay here again. Perfect if anyone's taking part in the Bournemouth Marathon festival as race Finish and the race village is just a short walk from the hotel.

Reviewed by
G PARKER

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but internet poor
Our internet connection was intermittent, whether in our room or the main area of the hotel. Otherwise, everything was as expected.

Reviewed by
PHILIP T

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay nice room amazing view and staff

Reviewed by
Daiva D

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel welcome, room service good. Lovely sea views.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very clean and our room was a sea view suite
The room was lovely the only disappointing thing was the bay and ceiling had a bit of water damaged and the wall paper was missing but the room was very clean and well presented apart from that, the views across the sea were very relaxing and the added extras in the room were lovely.
The food was excellent however the staff in the restaurant didn't really work well together, the first night the waitress kept stretching over me to get the menus, we had to ask for water and rolls and then after the main course no one came back to us, so we left, which did my waistline good because I didn't really want a pudding!!!. Needless to say we unbooked dinner on the 2nd night. Breakfast was lovely again on both mornings we were forgotton about with coffee, which was a real shame because the standard of food was excellent.

Reviewed by
L Harrison

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay! Would stay again!
We received a very warm welcome from the lady on reception. She made sure we were looked after! She was very pleasant and an asset to the hotel. The room was very pleasing, very spacious and classy. We had an evening meal and the food wad excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again! Excellent value for money!

Reviewed by
J Webb

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
lovely views

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next