No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road,Mollington , Chester, CH1 6NN
This 4-star country-house hotel is set in nice grounds, 2 miles from Chester city centre. It has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, hot tub, squash courts and spa.

Mollington Banastre has free parking, Free WIFI and a Spa. The Garden Room Restaurant looks out over the gardens and offers modern cuisine. The lounge bar and the informal Brasserie in the Health Club serve afternoon tea, light snacks and drinks. The hotel is 5 minutes from Chester Racecourse.

Rooms at Mollington are elegantly decorated and offer work desks, some with garden views. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WIFI and tea and coffee facilities.

Well located for the M56, Chester, Mollington Banastre Hotel is also 5 minutes’ drive from Cheshire Oaks Shopping Outlet where guests receive an additional 10% discount. Ellesmere Port and Chester Zoo are both under 10 minutes drive.
Picture of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay in Brook Mollington Banastre
I paid £101.40 for an apparent 'executive double' room with breakfast included. I am struggling to understand where the value was in my purchase. I fail to see what was executive about the room I stayed in, perhaps it was the bottle of water you generously included. Both I and my partner were disappointed by the size of the bed in particular.
We both felt that the pictures on your website were misleading as what we actually received was not similar to the pictures. The size of the bath tub also disappointed us hugely as well as it being outdated and not particularly clean. The hot water tap was loose in our sink too.
Ignoring this we headed to the pool and 'spa', which again, was a disappointment. The female changing rooms were actually still under construction and my partner was unable to even get a shower before entering the pool! The Jacuzzi had loose tiles all over the place and I actually cut myself on part of it. The steam 'room' and sauna just about fit the two of us in, another person tried to enter and there was physically not enough room for them.
The breakfast service to put it bluntly was shambolic. We headed down for breakfast at 09:30 and waited to be seated only for nobody to seat us. I had to ask reception for a seat and was told to sit at a dirty table. We sat down at a dirty table and were kindly asked if we'd like the table to be cleared. We said yes and the disgruntled waitress semi-cleared the table as if this was a nice gesture to us and left us with a dirty tablecloth - thank you very much! Feeling that the service could not get much worse before we'd even eaten we tried to put some food on our plates only to be told that 'the chef was having a paddy and doesn't want to cook anymore eggs'. In disbelief I helped myself to some overcooked sausages, some cold baked beans and some clearly defrosted, dry bread and attempted to get some orange juice only for there to be none left.
- You get the picture. Utterly shambolic.
I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family based on my recent stay. Misleading pictures, small beds, poor spa area, appalling breakfast service just to name a few led to me and my partner feeling very disappointed.
I regret not looking at more reviews of your hotel on the internet now as I see many people have had similarly disappointing stays.

Reviewed by
Philip F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of update
Foyer and bar area was very nice
Room very tired and in need of update. (Curtain would of looked good when first put up in 1970)
Kids bedroom we couldn't turn off the radiator which was always red hot. (Dangerous).
We had no HOT water for 2 of the 3 nights stay.
Tried to charge me for food and drink I never had. Had to speak to manager who then organised for it to be cancelled and gave me compensation.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
I was looking forward to getting away for some peace and quiet and a relaxing stay.
Unfortunately I found the Brook Mollington to needing a good clean in all communal areas, the beds were awful. The website promised mattress toppers but it would appear that none of the beds had these as I was asked to be moved after the first night. I didn't sleep well both nights of my stay but did not receive an apology for this. I came away from Brook Mollington exhausted.

Reviewed by
claire b

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa
Overall our stay at the Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa, was good. The service from staff was excellent, everyone we encountered was polite and helpful. The breakfast was a standard selection of hot and cold buffet style, but it was very tasty. The bed was very comfy and although we were near the road we had a good nights rest, the room was also a nice large size.
My negative comments would be the room we stayed in, the leisure facilities and generally the hotel itself were a bit tired and in need of serious updating. The shower in the room was either burning hot or freezing cold. The sauna was out of order, which was a little disappointing. The room we stayed in was a little dusty and the slight smell of damp made me think it hadn't been stayed in for a while.
Generally though, a good budget hotel and a nice stay.

Reviewed by
D Gill

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Embarrassing!
I found this hotel on late rooms and thought it was a great discount. How wrong I was! I thought this would be a nice Christmas gift for my wife and I to get away from the kids for a night. We pulled up at the hotel and instead of the 4star country escape we were expecting it was more like pulling onto a run down council estate. Looking round the hotel and the room was also tired, run down and in desperate need of a refurb. We did our upmost to spend as little time as possible In The hotel. In my opinion this hotel is over priced and a total disappointment.

Reviewed by
M Ward

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Friendly enough and comfortable. Could do with a bit of a face lift in areas. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
I Watson

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Impressed
I would not even waste your time and money going to this hotel, I have emailed them twice with regards to my disgust and at the moment I am being ignored. Will NEVER stay here again.

Reviewed by
V Perry

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two night break for my friend and i
The first room we were given looked like it was a 2 star that was dated and dirty.The window sill had all bits all over it.The windows were filthy.There was no catch on the bathroom door.There was rust on the curtain rail.The sink was all cracked.I complained and was given the room next door.It was a lot better but even that sink had a crack in it.The hotel is tired and dated.The bar area was covered in dust.Really disappointed.

Reviewed by
j barnes

From wilford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing to add
Nothing to add.

Reviewed by
H Leveau

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet, good size room. Needs money spent on it!
Pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and bathroom. Rather tired decor lets it down, but quiet and close ( ish) to Chester.

Reviewed by
j richards

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next