Reviews - Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa

4

Parkgate Road,Mollington, Chester, CH1 6NN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (87)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kate P

  • August 2015

Mixed experience.

We had a room on the road side of the hotel, it was small, noisy and not as clean and fresh as I would expect from a 4 star hotel.

However on raising my issues with the manager I was immediately offered a room on the grounds side of the hotel that was of a higher standard and quieter. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. This is a pet friendly hotel so we were able to take our dog, however there was a charge of £15 per night for the dog, which I feel is a bit steep, I am not sure what this charge covers. The walls are very thin and we could hear the T.V. and conversations in the adjoining rooms. The hotel is generally a nice place to base yourself with easy access to Chester and the surrounding area as well as North Wales. The food at the hotel was excellent.

  • Gemma R

  • July 2015

Rooms need refurbishment

The hotel staff & reception were good.

The breakfast in the morning was delicious. You could get fruit (a good selection, not just melon), cereal, breads, pastries and then all the hot stuff, bacon & eggs, including hash browns. Our room was very tired, the bathroom was clean but there were odd stains on the bedroom carpet. if the rooms were updated I would definitely stay again. Great central location to Chester, shops, bars & restaurants. 5 minutes in a taxi.

  • L Roe

  • June 2015

Great

All about the hotel was nice although in need of decorating

  • Robert K

  • June 2015

Scruffy hotel

In dire need of refurbishment.

Tired, dated decor. Carpets need replacing throughout. Laundry left in hallways overnight. Chipped and worn varnish and paintwork throughout. We paid £129 without breakfast for one of the worst looking rooms I've ever stayed in. We complained and were moved to a family room. Much bigger with nice view over the garden but dust everywhere, cold, shower head broken and in desperate need of modernisation. Same calibre of accommodation that I'd expect to pay £40 for in Blackpool (with breakfast). Sort it out. Wouldn't cost much to replace some furniture and paint/varnish throughout!

  • Kristine M

  • April 2015

Lovely welcoming staff ensure a comfortable stay

All staff were very welcoming and friendly which was a good start.

Although they did not have a family room they generously gave us two rooms with an interconnecting door so our children were nearby. Sadly the amount of staff on hand that evening was down to a minimum so we had to wait about half an hour for our bar food. When it arrived though it was very nice. The hotel was obviously once quite a grand place but it is now looking very tired especially the carpets and bathrooms. However, everything was clean and comfortable.

  • A Forrester

  • March 2015

The hotel was clean but now looking a bit tired needs redecorating

I went for a short break with my daughter who has special needs .

She was so disappointed to find out that the jacuzzi wasn't in use as a new pump was needed.

  • Katrice B

  • March 2015

Room was lovely, clean and spacious.

Shame the music from downstairs was loud enough we could hear it in our room till early in the morning. There was tiles in the bottom of the jacuzzi where they had fallen off and the steam room smelt of stale water. Would not stay again.

  • Richard Jones

  • March 2015

Holiday break

Good on the whole.

It was what I wanted

  • Paul H

  • February 2015

In need of update

Foyer and bar area was very nice Room very tired and in need of update.

(Curtain would of looked good when first put up in 1970)

Kids bedroom we couldn't turn off the radiator which was always red hot. (Dangerous).

We had no HOT water for 2 of the 3 nights stay.

Tried to charge me for food and drink I never had. Had to speak to manager who then organised for it to be cancelled and gave me compensation.

  • Philip F

  • February 2015

Recent stay in Brook Mollington Banastre

I paid £101.40 for an apparent 'executive double' room with breakfast included.

I am struggling to understand where the value was in my purchase. I fail to see what was executive about the room I stayed in, perhaps it was the bottle of water you generously included. Both I and my partner were disappointed by the size of the bed in particular.

We both felt that the pictures on your website were misleading as what we actually received was not similar to the pictures. The size of the bath tub also disappointed us hugely as well as it being outdated and not particularly clean. The hot water tap was loose in our sink too.

Ignoring this we headed to the pool and 'spa', which again, was a disappointment. The female changing rooms were actually still under construction and my partner was unable to even get a shower before entering the pool. The Jacuzzi had loose tiles all over the place and I actually cut myself on part of it. The steam 'room' and sauna just about fit the two of us in, another person tried to enter and there was physically not enough room for them.

The breakfast service to put it bluntly was shambolic. We headed down for breakfast at 09:30 and waited to be seated only for nobody to seat us. I had to ask reception for a seat and was told to sit at a dirty table. We sat down at a dirty table and were kindly asked if we'd like the table to be cleared. We said yes and the disgruntled waitress semi-cleared the table as if this was a nice gesture to us and left us with a dirty tablecloth - thank you very much. Feeling that the service could not get much worse before we'd even eaten we tried to put some food on our plates only to be told that 'the chef was having a paddy and doesn't want to cook anymore eggs'. In disbelief I helped myself to some overcooked sausages, some cold baked beans and some clearly defrosted, dry bread and attempted to get some orange juice only for there to be none left. - You get the picture. Utterly shambolic. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family based on my recent stay. Misleading pictures, small beds, poor spa area, appalling breakfast service just to name a few led to me and my partner feeling very disappointed.

I regret not looking at more reviews of your hotel on the internet now as I see many people have had similarly disappointing stays.