Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Southernhay East, EXETER, EX1 1QF
Contemporary 4 star hotel located in the heart of Exeter, the Southgate Hotel neighbours the Cathedral, the shopping areas of Princesshay, Bedford Square & the historic Quay. The hotel is perfectly situated for short breaks & en-route to Cornwall. Flexible dining options suiting all tastes & occasions whether you are coming for business or for leisure. The hotel has a spa facility, with an indoor heated pool, sauna and fitness room. The use of the carpark incurs a daily charge of £10.

Please note
*Hotel Restaurant, Bar and Reception undergoing refurbishment January - March 2015. We expect minimal disruption to the business & we will be offering temporary facilities to accommodate our guests whilst these areas are being renovated. Please contact the hotel for further details*
Picture of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, EXETER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night for us and kids
We spent only 1 night and chose the Mercure hotel because it had a swimming pool. We took my niece and her friend with us they are only 6 years old and they had a great time. The hotel seems very exclusive and very presentable but at the same time is very family friendly. We took the kids swimming in the evening from 18.00 until 20.00. they loved it. Hotel staff were very friendly and the room was a very good size. Breakfast was very very good. For an extra £20 it was well worth it, a self service buffet with a great amount of variety and options to choose from and very tasty. We would all visit this hotel again. £120 for 1 night inc breakfast does seem a lot but with the facilities and quality it is well worth it.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us with your niece and her friend. We're delighted to learn you all enjoyed our facilities and hospitality. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Ken G

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I enjoyed my 1 night stay, and the checkout time of 12pm was really useful. The hotel is very close to the main shopping centre. I do think the £10 overnight parking charge is too high though, when it's not even undercover. Breakfast was good.

ManagementResponse

Dear Linda, Many thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your favourable score. We charge for car parking separately to our bedroom tariff so guests can accurately compare our prices to those of the other city centre hotels who are not able to offer ample, secure onsite car parking. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Linda K

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location

ManagementResponse

Dear Lorraine, Thank you for your feedback - we are pleased the location suited you. Please do visit us again soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Elaine K

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing stay
Reception was busy on arrival and it took a little while to check in, but once in the hotel room was perfect, we stayed in a standard room, (we normally upgrade but couldn't this time as the hotel was fully booked) you don't have the little extras of an upgraded room ,but even so the room was lovely, modern and comfortable. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were great as usual and the added benefit of towels means you don't have to carry your own. Breakfast time was busy again and we did have to wait a while to be seated and wait for certain foods to be replenished, but food was very nice and all in all a very good stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay, we are pleased to learn you enjoy staying with us regularly. I am sorry if you were delayed slightly on arrival to the hotel, we have just launched our e-check in facility so this should speed up the process going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
S Watts

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short but sweet stay
welcoming and helpful staff...very comfortable room, interesting and delicious room service menu, central, loved the unusually generous sized swimming pool and spa

ManagementResponse

Dear Sue, Many thanks for your generous review following your recent stay. The team and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and hope you will come back and visit us soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
sue parker hall

From Hayle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel. Staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Good-sized pool and pretty good gym.

ManagementResponse

Dear Paul, Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to learn that you found the team professional and made use of out leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Paul G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
This is the 4th time I've stayed at mercure Hotel and the 2nd time at the southgate Exeter,my experience on this last visit was once again very good I found all the staff pleasant very friendly and would go out of there way to help you out.
On this visit I upgraded our room which I think I would do again to have a bit more space and a nicer bathroom,the reason for staying also at this hotel is how central it is very close To the restaurants and shops.
We had a breakfast included in our booking and once again it was brilliant,will defiantly be staying here again in the future.

ManagementResponse

Dear R Hoyles, Many thanks for your glowing review - we are so glad you found the staff pleasant and the Privilege room and breakfast enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
R Hoyles

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, central base for a short stay
The Mercure is in a good,central location for Exeter city centre. Parking is expensive (as is the public car park opposite) but convenient. Didn't try the gym or pool but looked OK (although quite small). The room was comfortable and clean,and we had a good night's sleep.

ManagementResponse

Dear Gilllian M, Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the location ideal and you enjoyed a good night's sleep. We charge for car parking separately to our bedroom tariff so guests can accurately compare our prices to those of the other city centre hotels who are not able to offer ample, secure onsite car parking - I'm sorry if you found it expensive. We hope you will still come back and visit us. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet quality near city centre
Stayed one night on business trip. Hotel was welcoming and room was clean and pleasant. Being close to the city centre I was concerned about noise levels but it proved to be a tranquil oasis. Breakfast and lunch were excellent
I will use the hotel again

ManagementResponse

Dear Stephen Cleverly, Many thanks for your feedback following your business trip - we are glad you enjoyed a peaceful stay and our food offering. Do come back soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Stephen Cleverly

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only complaint silly prices in the Bar, otherwise a lovely stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Kaye W, We are so glad you enjoyed a lovely stay - I am sorry to learn that you found the bar prices expensive - we regularly check our prices with other city centre hotels and I can confirm we are competitively prices in the market place. We hope you will return soon. Kind regards, Fiona Darde

Reviewed by
Kaye W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next