You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

4

Southernhay East, EXETER, EX1 1QF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Isabelle F

  • April 2016

Discovering Devon

Central quality hotel, children enjoyed the swimming pool, very friendly staff.

It was our first visit to Devon. Exeter is a beautidul city where people were very frienfly. We also went to beautiful Torquay and Sidmouth nearby. Excellent family short break.

  • nigel t

  • April 2016

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

1st Class.

  • M Roff

  • February 2016

Good but could be significantly better

As with most hotels, the lobby was very pleasant.

It was tastefully decorated, with a nod towards elegance. The bar area was clean, tidy and felt fresh, if a little modern and in direct contrast to the more traditional feel of the lobby adjacent. The room was a little smaller than I had expected. I noted that the cupboard door over the fridge had a broken hinge, meaning that the door would not close properly.

The bed, although nice and large, had a ridge running down the length of the middle, which I assume is where two bed are joined together. This was uncomfortable at night.

I would have preferred to see a full door on the shower, as the half door meant water escaping onto the floor, no matter how careful one was in the shower.

The television remote had no battery cover and was taped up with masking tape. This is a cheap, tacky and ugly fix instead of replacing the remote.

Othe than that, the room was clean and well stocked. I appreciated the complimentary cold drinks and nespresso coffee. I used the pool on one morning. Everything there was fine, but it would be useful to have had some indication as to which bin to deposit used towels in. The only obvious candidate had litter in so I asked the attendent. He informed me it was the bin I had suspected. I informed him it had litter in, and a sign would be useful. I was told that the manager had decreed no signs, as this did not convey the five star image they wanted. I pointed out that litter in a towel bin didn't convey this either. Given the items I mention above regarding my room, these also definitely do not convey a five star image. Breakfast was a very hit and miss. Hot food all fine except for bacon, which was dry and tough, like leather. On both mornings, when ordering from the staff (poached eggs and kippers) I had to chase them up after 15-20 minutes wait. Again, this all chips away at the perceived quality of the hotel.

I didn't mention any of the above at the time as, to be honest, it wasn't worth it - there was always someone at reception and I couldn't be bothered to waste time queuing.

When I came to check out there were two other guests complaining to the manager about issues, so I certainly wasn't the only one.

I would stay here again, but I would expect better attention to detail regarding room maintenance and better service at breakfast.

  • Mark G

  • December 2015

Well situated location

Stayed just once but will be back.

Clean effective and efficient. Didn't try food or bar ....bar looks ok menu looked boring and typical pub grub fare.

  • Neil C

  • August 2015

Business Stay

Very nice hotel, room given was a ground floor next to car park, had my concerns but the receptionist said don't worry.

I had no noise from the car park at all during my stay. Very good.

  • A Watson

  • May 2015

Relaxing Break

An excellent stay, modern facilities, and good customer service.

  • James L

  • April 2015

Very good

I was impressed by the facilities, for the price

  • Sarah W

  • March 2015

Generally good, although definate room for improvement

On arriving the reception desk had 3 staff, but no-one seemed interested in booking us in and left us standing there waiting.

The room was nice, the pool and gym were lovely as usual, however the breakfast although nice, was a little chaotic, no juice glasses, no sausages, no eggs, everyone running around, one waiter came running through the door with eggs and bumped right into a guest. Also even after speaking to the hotel, and them saying they couldn't do a better price, a few days later all prices were reduced, which was annoying.

  • Kathy B

  • March 2015

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Lovely weekend break in Exeter.

Hotel excellent central to walk everywhere. Relaxing hotel with everything you could need. Will definitely visit again.

  • K Atkinson

  • February 2015

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Very good customer service...

Room was great not a bad word to say.