Reviews - Old Waverley Hotel


43 Princes Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (239)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Simpson

  • November 2015

Old Waverley

Fantastic hotel, great room, excellent staff and facilities (let down slightly by two single mattresses placed together to make a double which parted during the night) left with an aching back.

  • Peter Baverstock

  • November 2015

Trip to wedding in Scotland

We had spent three previous nights in Scotland prior to this, all at Premier Inns.

These were generally half the price of the Waverley, however the Premier rooms were larger and of better quality with superior beds. The breakfasts at Premier were freshly cooked rather than buffet and were better for it. The only advantage the Waverley had was it's city centre location.

  • William Milliken

  • November 2015


Centrally located in Edinburgh to shops and tourist sites.

Comfortable hotel with old world charm in the superb building.

  • angela c

  • November 2015

Old Waverley Hotel

Staff friendly and helpful.

  • A Adamson

  • November 2015

Old Waverley Hotel

Excellent location, good base to see the city.

  • nolan guthrie

  • November 2015

Perfectly located hotel,but situated above shops, lift above first floor, not for the aged.

Perfectly clean establishment, bit old, pleasant staff, but must have the squeakiest floorboards in the hotel trade.

It was fun listening to people rising in the night. Breakfast lovely, included in the price, regretfully the evening menu appears repitisous, same soup our two nights, and a god awful gravy/sauce served over all meat dishes over powering the taste, little wonder only two others in the restaurant at 8pm on a Friday

  • J Macdonald

  • November 2015

Old Waverley Hotel

Excellent breakfast, all tastes catered for, attentive staff.

  • Neil S

  • October 2015

Excellent location

Was just what I needed for a flying visit that required me to be back o the train early.

Was a bit worried being directly on Princess St that might get a bit noisy at the front, don't know as got room at the back. All I can say is they empty all the glass bottles into the bins about 2 o'clock.

  • Elizabeth J

  • October 2015

Autumn break

Sadly we only stayed the one night.

We were fortunate that we had a fantastic view overlooking the Scot Monument. The hotel is really well situated for the station and all the sights. The staff were very helpfull and polite. If I have a criticism it would be that it could probably benefit from double glazing for those of us who aren't used to traffic noise but hey that comes with a city break.

  • S O'Donnell

  • October 2015

Lovely hotel

Nice hotel with lovely views, reasonably priced drinks in bar and food menu, very friendly staff!