No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Long Range Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Straightway Head, Whimple, , Exeter, EX5 2QT
The Long Range Hotel is a friendly, family run Hotel, situated in its own grounds with ample car parking. The Bar Lounge provides relaxed surroundings at the end of the day and is popular with all ages. We offer a traditional Full English Breakfast as well as catering for special dietary requirements. We have en-suite rooms with colour TV and tea & coffee making facilities. There are also 2 heated indoor swimming pools available. Exeter is located in the Southwest of England. It is situated on the River Exe in the county of Devonshire. Full of character and ancient history, Exeter is still able to offer all the amenities and comforts that would be expected of a modern day city. Exeter is the capital city of Devon and provides the county with a central base for education, medicine, religion, commerce and culture. The city is also home to the magnificent Exeter Cathedral, which dates back to Norman times. If you are planning a trip, a holiday, or a short break, Exeter has something to offer people of all ages to enjoy all year round. The surrounding area of Devon with its sweeping countryside, its narrow hedged roads and lavished green fields are only a few miles from the centre. And with its pivotal position within the county, Exeter is also ideally placed to base a trip to branch out visiting places such as the famous Dartmoor National Park and the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines.
Picture of Long Range Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Bathroom mirror light never worked, bed was uncomfortable, television was extremely small.
Had to leave for work (7am)before breakfast was started (8am) but was offered no discount or sandwich or fruit that I could take with me.

Reviewed by
M Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
Nice basic simple room for one person which was clean and tidy and very friendly owners.

Reviewed by
G Wylde

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and comfortable room
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and adequate for my needs. The full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Marie B

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The real retro
This hotel is straight out of the 1960s. It's how British hotels used to be. We thought we had booked room 17 in the motel style rooms but were given room 3 which has a special mention from reviewers on Tripadvisor. The bed was so uncomfortable. When my partner turned over I was almost bounced out of bed. The wallpaper was peeling, the windows mouldy and draughty (although secondary glazing had been fitted) and the furniture old and makeshift. Not at all a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
John Hancock

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
This is a low cost fairly basic but comfortable accommodation which is good value for money. Our Hosts were very friendly and helpful. The Breakfasts more than adequate. Showers were excellent. Use of the warm swimming pool was an added bonus. Plenty of parking available and easy to find and a good location for sight seeing. Amazingly, the lovely village of Whimple 1.5 miles away has it's own Railway Station so easily accessible by Rail.

Reviewed by
Stuart Alexander

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
I had a one night stay with breakfast and was in the annexe which is like a motel room. Nice and clean and a great shower. Digital tv reception a bit patchy and the decor a little dated but a great price, a good night's sleep and a truly amazing breakfast for the money. No hesitation to stay again.

Reviewed by
Mike T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, dated and lacking the basics
Hotel is right next to A30 and noise of cars and planes landing at Exeter Airport (hotel is under the flight path) well into the early hours made it difficult to sleep. Décor is very dated and dingy and secondary double glazing on windows made them difficult to open. There was a problem with hot water in the morning so we had to take cold showers (owner did get it sorted after we had breakfast but it was too late by then). Breakfast was OK except for the mushrooms which were just nasty and rubbery. Owners were friendly and pleasant but that didn't make up for the poor quality of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

useful B& B!
I think good value for the money sums it up. I had a pleasant stay - to sleep and have breakfast and it suited my needs for those four days. Very nice owner, working hard to build it up. I was a single - outside - so can't comment on the hotel accomodation.

Reviewed by
Ruth T

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay
Comfortable clean room set in annexe to the main hotel. Very helpful and friendly owners. It was great to stay in a place with so much open space and it was possible to park really close to the rooms. The A30 does run past so there is some road noise but it did not affect my sleep at all.
Went to a super pub a few miles away in Whimple for great food and real ale.
Loved it from start to finish and would recommend.

Reviewed by
brian p

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit run down, in need of some painting and decorating.
This was cheap to book and it showed really.
Breakfast was good.
Staff were friendly.
Plenty of parking.
Swimming pool available to use.
Okay if you just want somewhere to stop off and get your head down.

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next