No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Long Range Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Straightway Head, Whimple, , Exeter, EX5 2QT
The Long Range Hotel is a friendly, family run Hotel, situated in its own grounds with ample car parking. The Bar Lounge provides relaxed surroundings at the end of the day and is popular with all ages. We offer a traditional Full English Breakfast as well as catering for special dietary requirements. We have en-suite rooms with colour TV and tea & coffee making facilities. There are also 2 heated indoor swimming pools available. Exeter is located in the Southwest of England. It is situated on the River Exe in the county of Devonshire. Full of character and ancient history, Exeter is still able to offer all the amenities and comforts that would be expected of a modern day city. Exeter is the capital city of Devon and provides the county with a central base for education, medicine, religion, commerce and culture. The city is also home to the magnificent Exeter Cathedral, which dates back to Norman times. If you are planning a trip, a holiday, or a short break, Exeter has something to offer people of all ages to enjoy all year round. The surrounding area of Devon with its sweeping countryside, its narrow hedged roads and lavished green fields are only a few miles from the centre. And with its pivotal position within the county, Exeter is also ideally placed to base a trip to branch out visiting places such as the famous Dartmoor National Park and the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines.
Picture of Long Range Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for......
This was a last minute booking and I opted for a cheap stay, my expectations weren't high given the cost therefore cannot complain to much.
The room was basic and very dated and unfortunately an infestation of flies in the evening didn't help - the reception helped to remove the first three flies, but was closed before 9 pm so I was left to deal with the problem myself. - no offer of a discount when I mentioned it again in the morning.
On the plus sides the shower was a highlight, hot and powerful, I only had scrambled eggs for breakfast and that good..

Reviewed by
L Miles

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling, back to the 70s
A absolute rip off Im afraid, for over £50 when you compare what a travelodge can provide, here we go:
Mouldy grouting in bathroom
Tiny TV
Bar shut at 9pm and not able to check in after
Cheap dirty carpet in bathroom and cheap plastic shower cubicle
Wood chip wallpaper
granny un co-ordinated furniture

Reviewed by
Nick Britten

From BUCKINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value a work in progress
Came here to drop son at Uni .
Helpful owners directing us to a pub a mile or two away for evening meal
Happy to open the bar later and chat on our return
Ready and waiting to prepare our breakfast knowing we needed to get away quickly
The room we had is obviously one of the ones yet to be refurbished but functional and clean.
Nice clean linen and towels with decent pillows

Reviewed by
Nicholas T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Bathroom mirror light never worked, bed was uncomfortable, television was extremely small.
Had to leave for work (7am)before breakfast was started (8am) but was offered no discount or sandwich or fruit that I could take with me.

Reviewed by
M Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
Nice basic simple room for one person which was clean and tidy and very friendly owners.

Reviewed by
G Wylde

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and comfortable room
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and adequate for my needs. The full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Marie B

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The real retro
This hotel is straight out of the 1960s. It's how British hotels used to be. We thought we had booked room 17 in the motel style rooms but were given room 3 which has a special mention from reviewers on Tripadvisor. The bed was so uncomfortable. When my partner turned over I was almost bounced out of bed. The wallpaper was peeling, the windows mouldy and draughty (although secondary glazing had been fitted) and the furniture old and makeshift. Not at all a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
John Hancock

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
This is a low cost fairly basic but comfortable accommodation which is good value for money. Our Hosts were very friendly and helpful. The Breakfasts more than adequate. Showers were excellent. Use of the warm swimming pool was an added bonus. Plenty of parking available and easy to find and a good location for sight seeing. Amazingly, the lovely village of Whimple 1.5 miles away has it's own Railway Station so easily accessible by Rail.

Reviewed by
Stuart Alexander

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
I had a one night stay with breakfast and was in the annexe which is like a motel room. Nice and clean and a great shower. Digital tv reception a bit patchy and the decor a little dated but a great price, a good night's sleep and a truly amazing breakfast for the money. No hesitation to stay again.

Reviewed by
Mike T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, dated and lacking the basics
Hotel is right next to A30 and noise of cars and planes landing at Exeter Airport (hotel is under the flight path) well into the early hours made it difficult to sleep. Décor is very dated and dingy and secondary double glazing on windows made them difficult to open. There was a problem with hot water in the morning so we had to take cold showers (owner did get it sorted after we had breakfast but it was too late by then). Breakfast was OK except for the mushrooms which were just nasty and rubbery. Owners were friendly and pleasant but that didn't make up for the poor quality of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next