No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Waterloo

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1, High Street , Bristol, BS40 8AR
The accommodation is 20 yards from the pub in a private modern house. There are 6 bedrooms nicely decorated. All rooms have TV and internet connection. A twin bedroom with en suite.3 double bedrooms sharing a toilet and bathroom. On the ground floor is a family room with twin beds and a sofa bed and a further double bedroom with shared toilet and shower room. Breakfast is self serve from a selection of complimentary cereals, toast, tea and coffee available in a communal kitchen.

The pub restaurant is open daily fro 12 noon to 8.30pm serving delicious home made food.
Picture of Prince of Waterloo, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Welcome
Although the pub was busy when we arrived, we were dealt with in a reasonable time and shown to our accommodation. Everything was explained and we did not feel were intruding on her time.

Reviewed by
Raymond Holmes

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!
After arriving just as the carvery was finishing, they showed me directly to my room, and prepared a plate of dinner. Service came with a smile (though could have been that the chef was finishing for the day) and was very rapid, even got table service drinks and it all put on a bill for the meantime.
Ample parking was available and with a quick turnover of customers there for either a quick pint, or a Sunday lunch it was very lively.
Free wifi was an added bonus, and helped me into the the night with the assistance of a friendly chat with the regulars, landlord/lady, and even the chef. That and the vast range of local ciders, lagers and ales available on tap.
The room came with free wifi again and was set back on the opposite side of the road away from traffic and pub noise. Free breakfast, tea and coffee came after a wonderful nights sleep in a clean tidy spacious double bedroom. Even had a chance for a coffee while watching freeview TV in the morning.
All in all a brilliant nights sleep and would highly recommended to anyone travelling alone, or with others. Worth swinging by even for a cheeky pint and some food.

Reviewed by
William B

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good traditional pub, decent accommodation, ultra convenient fro airport.
The review title says it al really. I have stayed at the POW before, and will almost certainly do so again. Very pleasant landlord & (presumably) his wife. Good, solid food - with daily specials particularly good value. Wi-Fi worked well.

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disturbed sleep
Pleased with the room etc, but overall experience let down by inconsiderate guests staying in other rooms. As I had to get up at 4am for flight tried to sleep from about 930pm. Unfortunately guests were shouting between rooms, laughing loudly banging doors. This carried on again as they returned to rooms up to half past midnight. Not happy with this, although I realise out of management control, but overall affects my experience. Would I stay again - no.

Reviewed by
J Grassie

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place for leisure
Friendly owner and staff. Love your free fried Chinese noodles late night for my parents!!!

Reviewed by
l yu

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, could of done with a chair to sit on in the room. Planes quite close by.
Excellent pit stop. Fab pub. Great food.

Reviewed by
serena e

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful - no frills
This was more like a hostel than a hotel - I didn't mind, but I think other people that were staying thought that is was falsely advertised and I would have to agree. It isn't a hotel in the traditional sense, it's a house split into rooms with a self service kitchen and a bathroom - the house is a separate building to the pub. The facilities were clean and tidy. The room we were staying in was a very small double - it was difficult to move round the room. The staff member I met when we arrived was bright and was genuinely happy to help us. If you want service and to have staff around, as in a traditional hotel, then this probably isn't for you - but if you just want a bed, shower and cereal or toast in the morning then it does the job.

Reviewed by
Angela G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Very pleasant stay, rooms very clean and situated just across from the pub. shared bathroom very clean. Great value for money!

Reviewed by
L Murphy

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub and modern rooms.
The accommodation is just over the road from the lovely traditional pub set in a lovely village, we had lasagne for tea and it was nice just far too much cheese covered on top. The room was lovely and clean, good sized shared bathroom 2 of them actually and the breakfast facilities in the kitchen were fantastic being able to help yourself at 4:45 in the morning was great. Would definitely return!

Reviewed by
Lee Drake

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you're needing a night local to bristol airport and need to leave early.
Room is a little noisy due to people coming and going. Also some aircraft overflights.
Room cleanliness and comfort cant be faulted. Wi Fi is efficent although couldn't get a signal on my mobile phone (EE), but there is a land line in the Prince of Waterloo which does a large range of good food and drinks.

Reviewed by
James D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next