No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hoops Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hoops Inn Horns Cross, Bideford, EX39 5DL
The Hoops Inn is a beautiful grade II listed building nestled within the unspoilt countryside of this most scenic part of north Devon. Set approximately 1 mile back from the coastal path it is in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding countryside, highlights include the picturesque village of Clovelly which is approximately a 10 minute drive from the Inn.
All rooms have en-suite bath or shower room facilities, flat screen Televisions, Tea & coffee making facilities. Dogs are permitted in our standard rooms only at an additional fee of £5.00 per dog per night.

Breakfast is included in the room price and we serve food every day in the bar or dining rooms from noon until 21.00hours. Our menu features fresh, locally sourced seasonal ingredients.
The Inn has extensive, beautifully landscaped grounds for guests to enjoy.
Picture of The Hoops Inn, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend stay
The Hoops was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff could not have been more welcoming and always giving helpful ideas of where to go and what to see. The room was cosy with the fourposter I requested and with a lovely smart shower room. The noise from the road ( we were on the front) was no issue at all. We could still hear the owls hooting! The food is excellent and the dining room very comfortable and informal so we ate there both nights.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay but Average Experience
We stayed at the Hoops Inn for two nights in early October 2014. The room was a superior double at the front of the inn ... quite pleasant and not too noisy, but perhaps a little jaded. We ate at the Inn on the first night and the food was reasonable pub food. My burger with chips was fine if a little meager in size given that it cost £10.95 and my wife's cod loin was pleasant. Overall quite a pleasant if not particularly special experience.

Reviewed by
Sandra G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Staff welcoming when we telephoned with eta to double check restaurant times, and when we arrived. The food was good in the evening and for breakfast. Shower only produced very hot water. Room clean but in need of face-lift. Beware low entry to car park!

Reviewed by
Stephanie B

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the fifth time we have stayed here and it never fails to please the food is fantastic and the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant we are already deciding our next stay.

Reviewed by
R Heath

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub/hotel
The Hoops Inn is a lovely, traditional country hotel. There was a small glitch at check-in with our room, but this was quickly and satisfactorily resolved and the rest of our stay was excellent. The food - breakfast and dinner - was great and the setting ideal for a quiet country break.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and helpful. food delicious but I did feel the breakfast was a little expensive at £11 per person, especially as we do not eat a great deal! The room was clean and comfortable but quite small. The only complaint , the duvet was too small, it barely reached the edge of the bed. Good job the weather was warm !

Reviewed by
derek w

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic break
Lovely stay at the Hoops Inn for my wife and I. Staff very welcoming and helpful. The room was amazing (room 2 if you can get it!) and exceeded our expectations. Great location for visiting Clovelly. Would definitely recommend and hope to come back soon!

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hoops Inn excellent as ever
Delightful stay we will be back soon

Reviewed by
David Roles

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country inn
The inn and the room we had was fine. My main problem was the distance from Bideford which meant we had to spend thirty pounds on taxis to join the rest of our party for the evening. Beware, breakfast doesn't start until 8:30 which rules out the hotel for Lundy departures.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the hoops inn.
We enjoyed our stay at the hoops inn. It was located just inside north devon and 15 miles from cornwall.
The staff were friendly. The breakfast was superb set you up for the day.

Reviewed by
R Pearson

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next