No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hoops Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hoops Inn Horns Cross, Bideford, EX39 5DL
The Hoops Inn is a beautiful grade II listed building nestled within the unspoilt countryside of this most scenic part of north Devon. Set approximately 1 mile back from the coastal path it is in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding countryside, highlights include the picturesque village of Clovelly which is approximately a 10 minute drive from the Inn.
All rooms have en-suite bath or shower room facilities, flat screen Televisions, Tea & coffee making facilities. Dogs are permitted in our standard rooms only at an additional fee of £5.00 per dog per night.

Breakfast is included in the room price and we serve food every day in the bar or dining rooms from noon until 21.00hours. Our menu features fresh, locally sourced seasonal ingredients.
The Inn has extensive, beautifully landscaped grounds for guests to enjoy.
Picture of The Hoops Inn, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub/hotel
The Hoops Inn is a lovely, traditional country hotel. There was a small glitch at check-in with our room, but this was quickly and satisfactorily resolved and the rest of our stay was excellent. The food - breakfast and dinner - was great and the setting ideal for a quiet country break.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and helpful. food delicious but I did feel the breakfast was a little expensive at £11 per person, especially as we do not eat a great deal! The room was clean and comfortable but quite small. The only complaint , the duvet was too small, it barely reached the edge of the bed. Good job the weather was warm !

Reviewed by
derek w

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic break
Lovely stay at the Hoops Inn for my wife and I. Staff very welcoming and helpful. The room was amazing (room 2 if you can get it!) and exceeded our expectations. Great location for visiting Clovelly. Would definitely recommend and hope to come back soon!

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hoops Inn excellent as ever
Delightful stay we will be back soon

Reviewed by
David Roles

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country inn
The inn and the room we had was fine. My main problem was the distance from Bideford which meant we had to spend thirty pounds on taxis to join the rest of our party for the evening. Beware, breakfast doesn't start until 8:30 which rules out the hotel for Lundy departures.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the hoops inn.
We enjoyed our stay at the hoops inn. It was located just inside north devon and 15 miles from cornwall.
The staff were friendly. The breakfast was superb set you up for the day.

Reviewed by
R Pearson

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money and excellent food
This is the third time that I have stayed at the Hoops as a single business traveller and once again I felt welcomed and well looked after. The superior double was excellent value for money. The food was superb and by the far the best meal I have had in a very long time. Inn hotels can often be somewhat difficult for a single female but the hospitality and had a very comfortable and secure stay.

Reviewed by
Vanessa M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel
Lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful. The room was so cozy and spotless, could not fault it. The breakfast was also very good. It is everything you would want in a hotel, i would recommend anyone to stay. Will certainly go back.

Reviewed by
K Brett

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab stay!!
We had a fantastic stay at the Hoops Inn. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed and a huge shower. The Inn itself is beautiful with a thatched roof and open fires. The food was amazing. Both our evening meal and our breakfast were so tasty with great vegetarian options. The staff were great and very friendly too. Would not hesitate to recommend Hoops Inn and we can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel very welcome by friendly, helpfuk staff. Room was comfortable, breakfast good, only complaint was that bathroom heating wasn't working.

Reviewed by
Philip H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.