No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hoops Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hoops Inn Horns Cross, Bideford, EX39 5DL
The Hoops Inn is a beautiful grade II listed building nestled within the unspoilt countryside of this most scenic part of north Devon. Set approximately 1 mile back from the coastal path it is in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding countryside, highlights include the picturesque village of Clovelly which is approximately a 10 minute drive from the Inn.
All rooms have en-suite bath or shower room facilities, flat screen Televisions, Tea & coffee making facilities. Dogs are permitted in our standard rooms only at an additional fee of £5.00 per dog per night.

Breakfast is included in the room price and we serve food every day in the bar or dining rooms from noon until 21.00hours. Our menu features fresh, locally sourced seasonal ingredients.
The Inn has extensive, beautifully landscaped grounds for guests to enjoy.
Picture of The Hoops Inn, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hoops Inn, pub/hotel.
A busy pub/hotel that managed to combine the two. The bedrooms are small but comfortable and sited away from the bustle of the bars and restaurant, and even in February cosy and warm with an opening window if you like fresh air at night.
The food was a pleasant surprise, if you wanted to eat in the bar you could and the restaurant was a well patronised(by locals) calm and traditional dining room with an adventurous menu,very good too.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Limited menu, and large turnover of staff for a two day stay.

Reviewed by
Elaine H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend away
What a lovely place. Staff very friendly, good accommodation and fabulous food.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable pub accomodation
We were greeted nicely on arrival. Room was clean, comfortable, and warm. Very quiet overnight and good breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
Wendy L

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good all round no complaints at all

Reviewed by
k Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend stay
The Hoops was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff could not have been more welcoming and always giving helpful ideas of where to go and what to see. The room was cosy with the fourposter I requested and with a lovely smart shower room. The noise from the road ( we were on the front) was no issue at all. We could still hear the owls hooting! The food is excellent and the dining room very comfortable and informal so we ate there both nights.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay but Average Experience
We stayed at the Hoops Inn for two nights in early October 2014. The room was a superior double at the front of the inn ... quite pleasant and not too noisy, but perhaps a little jaded. We ate at the Inn on the first night and the food was reasonable pub food. My burger with chips was fine if a little meager in size given that it cost £10.95 and my wife's cod loin was pleasant. Overall quite a pleasant if not particularly special experience.

Reviewed by
Sandra G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Staff welcoming when we telephoned with eta to double check restaurant times, and when we arrived. The food was good in the evening and for breakfast. Shower only produced very hot water. Room clean but in need of face-lift. Beware low entry to car park!

Reviewed by
Stephanie B

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the fifth time we have stayed here and it never fails to please the food is fantastic and the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant we are already deciding our next stay.

Reviewed by
R Heath

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub/hotel
The Hoops Inn is a lovely, traditional country hotel. There was a small glitch at check-in with our room, but this was quickly and satisfactorily resolved and the rest of our stay was excellent. The food - breakfast and dinner - was great and the setting ideal for a quiet country break.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next