No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marquis Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Marquis Hotel, Belgrave Road , Torquay, TQ2 5HQ
The beautiful Marquis Hotel was built in the 18th century as a holiday home for the 3rd Marquis of Bute. Around 1920 it was converted into a fine hotel and retains many of the original features and has fine sea views.

The hotel has undergone a major renovation including brand new bathrooms in all the bedrooms.

We have 44 en-suite bedrooms, all with TV and DVD Player, Wi-Fi and tea making facilities. We welcome Business and Holiday guests alike.

The Marquis Hotel adjoins Tor Abbey Park, with a private entrance to the Riviera Conference Centre with its tennis courts, bowling greens and 9-hole pitch and putt. It is walking distance from Torquay's Princess Theatre, town centre, harbour and great beaches and Golf Course within 3km.
Picture of Marquis Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely time the hotel was really nice and staff so friendly and the receptionist cant remember her name but young with blonde hair was brill so helpfull and bubbly.
would deff go back

Reviewed by
nicola hathway

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

after renervations this will be lovely
nice place but we were the only guests here due to it being renovated in due course. Owner friendly but breakfast left a lot to be desired due to it being cooked by him. Not sure if h is the cook at all times. Room was very large and we were very satisfied with our stay.

Reviewed by
p bailey

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms refurbished to good standard , noticed no 'fire escape' details in room or hotel facilities book giving meal times etc .This however did not detract from a pleasant weekend .

Reviewed by
Chris M

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely clean stay
It was a lovely clean room . Bed was extra comfy. Price was a bit high for one night but nice to have a warm tidy hotel.

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, very comfortable beds, bathrooms refurbished beautifully and great breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Powell

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff. Room very nice with spectacular views out over the bay (sea view), and well fitted, recently renovated shower room.

Reviewed by
s guest

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, and the room was nice, however the bathroom needs modernising and the DVD player did not work. Other than that, the hotel was lovely, the bed was very comfy and the staff were pleasant.

Reviewed by
J Greenslade

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I think that everything was very good with the exception of the bed. Both my wife and I found the bed very hard and uncomfortable. I accept that this may be subjective.

Reviewed by
M Savage

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room had obviously been given a recent upgrade by the new owners, using high quality fittings, but the workmanship was very shoddy - which let down an otherwise pleasant hotel. Staff were charming, especially the Australian young lady. Hotel very well placed for everything in the town, with lovely view from dining room. I would advise the proprietor to spend a night in each of the rooms to note and repair all the many little snags, after which this hotel would be a delight and would be lifted to another grade. Good luck with the new enterprise. Oh - and I can recommend the full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Jayne A

From East Sussex, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is "OK"
Hotel has newly refurbished rooms and bathrooms so they were very good.
The dinning room is a work in progress, its just a room with tables and chairs placed in it with no character .The breakfast menu sounds good but the quality does not live up to the expectation.
Poor quality ingredients and very limited selections at the buffet with things not being refilled as they empty so you costantly have to ask.
Add to this the location ,with loud music resounding in the rooms from nearby bars until 2am on Friday and Saturday nights and the experience is not one to recommend.

Reviewed by
PAUL S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next