Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Lynton Hotels > Jay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jay Cottage Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
6, Lynbridge Road , Lynton, EX35 6BD
A charming character cottage built in 1751 in the West Lyn Valley within Exmoor National Park and just a short distance from Lynton and Lynmouth. A pedestrian way behind the cottage with stunning views across the Channel and Countisbury Hill, takes you directly into Lynton old town within minutes. Jay Cottage with its countryside setting is ideal for walkers with a range of various walks from the doorstep and others within easy driving distance. The views from the bedrooms are across the wooded valley.
Picture of Jay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely friendly B&B
A pot of tea on arrival - just what you need after a journey. Room & bathroom very comfortable. Super full English breakfast. Debra & her husband were cheerful welcoming and friendly hosts throughout our stay, and gave excellent advice about good eating places nearby.
Thanks for a good weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary - there was even a card for us!

Reviewed by
Roger T

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming and boat-like
A charming, if slightly cramped long weekend stay. If you are used to life on a boat, or caravan, where everything is compact, you would be very comfortable here. Quirky in nature, and perfect for a short stay.

Reviewed by
kerry gasson

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay in lovely surroundings
Thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend. I could have stayed longer and explored further a lovely area. Friendly hosts who have created a peaceful haven for guests. Hope to come back soon.

Reviewed by
Kathy B

From Swadlincote, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic b&b
Would definitely recommend staying here. Our room was very clean and tidy. The food was brilliant and the people were absolutely lovely, made us feel very welcome and they were happy to help. Overall was a fab place to get away and relax.

Reviewed by
Alice A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jay Cottage
Beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Apartment was spotless with everything we needed. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Lots to do and see in Lynton & Lynmouth and other places close by. Only slight draw backs were that it is a little bit cramped, if we were any taller we may have had more of an issue & found that after one slightly wet evening lots of slugs had got through the door so were in the apartment. Other than these very minor issues would recommend Jay Cottage and Lynton & Lynmouth to everyone.

Reviewed by
R Asby

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and qwerky!
Everything we wanted for a relaxing weekend away. A really lovely little apartment. Ceilings are low and sloping - as described, and the stairs could be a little awkward for those who are above average height - but that just added to the appeal of the place for us.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relax enjoy the jem of north devon
From the moment we meet Debra a Gary we could tell we were going to have an excellent stay,a pot of tea on arrival.Nothing was to much trouble giving good suggestions for eating out.Breakfast was first class can,t fault the stay in any way highly recommended looking forward to another stay soon.

Reviewed by
simon papps

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great couple, very friendly and helpful.
Lovely room, comfortable beds, nice en-suite. Lovely breakfast.
Interesting old building (ex pub).
Off road parking.
Really enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
M Perry

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the most charming cottage very clean with lovely people! Our room was beautiful with a beautiful spacious bathroom. There is a comfortable sitting room and we wete welcomed with a pot of tea! We wish we could have stayed longer!! We stayed here very comfy for the night as we were travelling thrpugh!

Reviewed by
david Quigley

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and convenient
Jay cottage was absolutely lovely for a 2 day get away. We had a lovely room with four poster. Everything was spotless. Lots of tea,coffee and biscuits in room. On arrival we were given a pot of tea to drink in the little sitting room, which was most welcome! The weather was glorious and we spent the whole of midsummers day on a wonderful walk which started at the front door!

Reviewed by
s davis

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next