Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Lynton Hotels > Jay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jay Cottage Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
6, Lynbridge Road , Lynton, EX35 6BD
A charming character cottage built in 1751 in the West Lyn Valley within Exmoor National Park and just a short distance from Lynton and Lynmouth. A pedestrian way behind the cottage with stunning views across the Channel and Countisbury Hill, takes you directly into Lynton old town within minutes. Jay Cottage with its countryside setting is ideal for walkers with a range of various walks from the doorstep and others within easy driving distance. The views from the bedrooms are across the wooded valley.
Picture of Jay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money in a fairytale cottage
This apartment next to a B&B was unlike anything I have stayed in before, but in a good way. It was an old fisherman's cottage which had been refurbished and modernised, utilising every inch of space and is now a charming self-catering cottage. It would not be suitable for anyone who is very tall or wide as the staircases were a little cramped and the bedroom had sloping ceilings, but I would not hesitate to use it again, perhaps when the weather was a little better! Our hosts also provided a welcome-pack of bacon, eggs, bread and marmalade.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful quirky apartment - How do I find more like it!
The apartment is almost a minimum space cottage.
Lovely greeting from the owners & with a welcome pack that was most helpful. The apartment has room for two but maybe not if you are tall. The design is such that there is everything you need in a very compact area. That might sound cramped but for two, it's perfect for a short getaway.
Ideal for walking but a car would be useful for evenings out as while Lynton has everything you might need, it's nice to have the freedom to find other places.
Would I go again... Certainly, Loved it!

Reviewed by
R Cox

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good accomodation, well worth the money.
Very friendly welcome and a pot of tea as well. The owners were very attentive without being claustrophobic. The room was spotless and the shower room was equipped with quality soap and shower gel. The breakfast was full cooked and very good.

Reviewed by
Allan W

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable, very friendly.
Shower is small but can be overlooked as everything else is excellent. Would stay there again and would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Leonard A

From Innisfail, Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely friendly B&B
A pot of tea on arrival - just what you need after a journey. Room & bathroom very comfortable. Super full English breakfast. Debra & her husband were cheerful welcoming and friendly hosts throughout our stay, and gave excellent advice about good eating places nearby.
Thanks for a good weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary - there was even a card for us!

Reviewed by
Roger T

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming and boat-like
A charming, if slightly cramped long weekend stay. If you are used to life on a boat, or caravan, where everything is compact, you would be very comfortable here. Quirky in nature, and perfect for a short stay.

Reviewed by
kerry gasson

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a comfortable nest
we stayed for four nights room was comfortable and breakfast was excellent our hosts were friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us parking was a bit tight

Reviewed by
ALAN S

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay in lovely surroundings
Thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend. I could have stayed longer and explored further a lovely area. Friendly hosts who have created a peaceful haven for guests. Hope to come back soon.

Reviewed by
Kathy B

From Swadlincote, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic b&b
Would definitely recommend staying here. Our room was very clean and tidy. The food was brilliant and the people were absolutely lovely, made us feel very welcome and they were happy to help. Overall was a fab place to get away and relax.

Reviewed by
Alice A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jay Cottage
Beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Apartment was spotless with everything we needed. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Lots to do and see in Lynton & Lynmouth and other places close by. Only slight draw backs were that it is a little bit cramped, if we were any taller we may have had more of an issue & found that after one slightly wet evening lots of slugs had got through the door so were in the apartment. Other than these very minor issues would recommend Jay Cottage and Lynton & Lynmouth to everyone.

Reviewed by
R Asby

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next