No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lodge Country House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Pitt Hill, Berrynarbor, , Ilfracombe, EX34 9SG
The Lodge is a delightful detached Edwardian Country House, built in the early 1900's and set in over an acre of beautiful mature gardens. Awarded Four Star Guest accomodation by Visit Britain The hotel is situated in the sleepy picturesque village of Berrynarbor which has numerous accolades for "Britain in Bloom" and "Best kept village" with it's olde world tea shoppes, 17th Century "Ye Olde Globe " and wealth of quaint cottages close by, famous for it's "Flower Pot Men" This is certainly the place to stay if you want a peaceful, quiet and relaxing holiday. Walk the South West Coastal Path or stroll in the breathtaking scenery of the Sterridge Valley. Historic towns for shopping, quaint villages for cream teas, and some of the best beaches in the country at Woolacombe & Croyde Bay.A short distance is the Exmoor National Park, and Lorna Doone country. Family owned and run The Lodge rooms are decorated to the highest standard with , Complimentary WI FI, LCD colour televisions and tea & coffee making facilities. Our philosophy is to offer a great service, wonderful food, comfortable accommodation and a good selection of wines and beers in a relaxed and informal manner. This philosophy has continued to the present day and customers return time and time again to enjoy The Lodge and has now been awarded a Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence"
Picture of The Lodge Country House, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

due to some roadworks we took longer to arrive at the lodge, we were offered a cup of tea and a toasted tea cake as soon as we sat in the lounge. The bedroom was ensuite, and from the bedroom window we had a nice view of the garden and surrounding hillside. Breakfast was a real treat, plenty of choice and well cooked.

Reviewed by
E Mould

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent break!
Lovely clean rooms with plenty of space and great hosts. Beautiful surroundings and easy access to lots of places in North Devon.

Reviewed by
N Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lodge
Well what can I say....Brilliant!! Booked a few days before as a last minute break. The owners were very friendly and made us tea served with Devon scones and cream when we arrived which was very welcome after our long drive. The room was lovely, we were given room 5 which has its own little balcony with a table and chairs which was great to sit out in the evening overlooking the lovely, well kept gardens. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean, a real home from home! If you are looking for a nice relaxing break in friendly,comfortable surroundings then look no further. We certainly would like to return and would have no hesitation in recommending The Lodge. Oh and almost forgot the breakfast....lovely lovely lovely!!!!!

Reviewed by
Jeanette Ledger

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home and very comfortable with a beautiful garden and excellent hosts
We spent three nights at The Lodge in June 2014. What a find for couples who are looking for a great place to stay, peaceful and quiet, and in a great location, with a delightful couple looking after you. Delicious breakfasts, lovely garden room with super views over the valley, and a beautiful garden with sun loungers and chairs to help you relax. The cream tea on arrival was very welcome and an unexpected treat! Not suitable for families, and most couples were retired or approaching retirement when we stayed, but that suited us fine. Would certainly recommend... and the village is a riot of colour, a winner of Britain in Bloom in the area regularly, we understand.

Reviewed by
Hugh B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
A very enjoyable three night stay. Very friendly hosts. Good parking. Room clean and comfortable, although would benefit from a better quality bed of King Size proportion. Excellent breakfast. Surrounding area extremely quiet.

Reviewed by
M King

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getaway
We were very pleased with the hotel, we wanted a quiet and relaxing break, and that's what we found, the room was very lovely with the luxury of a balcony overlooking the quiet surroundings, we had an enjoyable weekend, would book again.

Reviewed by
Malcolm F

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic break
A beautiful location with stunning gardens and views. Clean and well kept accommodation with great food. A must for old and young. We can't wait to get back!! Thanks Lynne and Phil

Reviewed by
Mark R

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.