Reviews - The Lodge Country House


Berrynarbor, ,, Ilfracombe, EX34 9SG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Mary S

  • October 2015

We had a really friendly welcome.

What lovely well kept gardens and a great breakfast

  • Lisa Payne

  • July 2015


Very warm welcome by the owners of this small country hotel set in the beautiful quite Devonshire village of Berrynarbor.

Lovely cosy clean room, stunning view from our balcony and fabulous breakfasts. Would definitely recommend and plan to return.

  • G Smith

  • July 2015

We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay at The Lodge Country House, from our welcoming cream tea to the amazing breakfast.

Lynne and Phil did everything they could to make us feel welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the only disappointment was the weather which could have been a lot better but did not stop us enjoying our visit to north Devon.

  • Fiona L

  • May 2015

Lovely weekend

Lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting.

We had a lovely view over the garden to the hills beyond. Comfortable bed and power shower as well as two armchairs in our room. The TV signal wasn't great but there was free Wifi so we could watch tv on our iPad easily. Our hosts were lovely and welcoming. Breakfast was great and we were given some cake to take on our day out (I think customers normally get tea and cake when they arrive but as we arrived late in the evening they made sure we got it the next day!). The village is very nice, and there's a great pub 2 doors away with decent pub food and reasonably priced drinks. It's ten minutes drive to Ilfracombe. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area.

  • E Mould

  • October 2014

due to some roadworks we took longer to arrive at the lodge, we were offered a cup of tea and a toasted tea cake as soon as we sat in the lounge.

The bedroom was ensuite, and from the bedroom window we had a nice view of the garden and surrounding hillside. Breakfast was a real treat, plenty of choice and well cooked.

  • N Jones

  • August 2014

Excellent break!

Lovely clean rooms with plenty of space and great hosts.

Beautiful surroundings and easy access to lots of places in North Devon.

  • Jeanette Ledger

  • August 2014

The lodge

Well what can I say....Brilliant!.

Booked a few days before as a last minute break. The owners were very friendly and made us tea served with Devon scones and cream when we arrived which was very welcome after our long drive. The room was lovely, we were given room 5 which has its own little balcony with a table and chairs which was great to sit out in the evening overlooking the lovely, well kept gardens. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean, a real home from home. If you are looking for a nice relaxing break in friendly,comfortable surroundings then look no further. We certainly would like to return and would have no hesitation in recommending The Lodge. Oh and almost forgot the breakfast....lovely lovely lovely!!!!!

  • Hugh B

  • July 2014

Home from Home and very comfortable with a beautiful garden and excellent hosts

We spent three nights at The Lodge in June 2014.

What a find for couples who are looking for a great place to stay, peaceful and quiet, and in a great location, with a delightful couple looking after you. Delicious breakfasts, lovely garden room with super views over the valley, and a beautiful garden with sun loungers and chairs to help you relax. The cream tea on arrival was very welcome and an unexpected treat. Not suitable for families, and most couples were retired or approaching retirement when we stayed, but that suited us fine. Would certainly recommend... and the village is a riot of colour, a winner of Britain in Bloom in the area regularly, we understand.

  • M King

  • June 2014

Short Break

A very enjoyable three night stay.

Very friendly hosts. Good parking. Room clean and comfortable, although would benefit from a better quality bed of King Size proportion. Excellent breakfast. Surrounding area extremely quiet.