No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hillside House Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hillside House Exeter Road, NEWTON POPPLEFORD, SIDMOUTH, EX10 0DE
Set within 20 acres of grounds, the Hillside House Hotel boasts a bar and restaurant. It is located in Newton Poppleford and features an Elemis Beauty spa on site with a variety of treatments, Jessica Nails, Sauna and a heated outdoor SwimSpa, and a Hot Tub.

In the mornings, the Hillside House serves full English breakfast with freshly ground coffee and a daily newspaper. The Popplefords Restaurant overlooks the picturesque landscape and offers a range of traditional meals and a carvery. The well-stocked bar provides a wide selection of wines.

With views over the Devon countryside, the contemporary rooms feature a flat-screen TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer.

Guests can enjoy body and beauty treatments in the Hillside House Hotel’s spa. It is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth’s Jurassic Coast. Aylesbeare Common boasts a wide variety of butterflies and is adjacent to the hotel. Exeter Airport is just a 10-minute drive away.
Picture of Hillside House Hotel, NEWTON POPPLEFORD, SIDMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hillside House Hotel
A very nice well run hotel.

Reviewed by
J Wilde

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room
The family room is very large, there is a small park to entertain the children.

Reviewed by
E Hale

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service
When we arrived, the hotel wasnt aware that we had our 3 year old son with us, despite advising this through the late rooms website. But making up the sofa bed in our room was no trouble and was done straight away. The hot tub and swim spa was brilliant and very welcomed after a day at the beach

Reviewed by
C Spearing

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been better
On arrival I asked what time breakfast was served and was told from 9am - I said I would not be having it, as I needed to go out before then - I was not offered any alternative (fruit/juice etc) which was disappointing. I was accompanied to my room by receptionist (no offer to carry my bag) - the single room was adequate but somewhat cramped and the en-suite was tiny. It was a hot day and the whole of the upstairs area seemed very stuffy. There was no brochure or any other information about the area etc in the room.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size familly room
So rare to find a hotel that can accommodate a family of five.
The family room was spacious and clean and was exactly what we needed for our two day trip. Our only (minor) grumble was the milk was not replenished for the complimentary tea and coffee. I know we could have asked for some but we shouldn't have to.

Reviewed by
S Harris

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views
Large comfortable room, plenty of storage, very comfortable bed, large bathroom & soft fluffy towels. Everything very clean and tidy but relaxed not stuffy. Stunning views all around and plenty of parking. If you want clean warm and friendly this is the place for you.

Reviewed by
S Foster

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet getaway
Superb staff, superb rooms, superb location and best of all superb beds!

Reviewed by
PETER COLES

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drove past the place twice, the sign on the lawn said "Popplefords spa" right at the top of the building was "Hillside House Hotel"

Reviewed by
mark cox

From Lightwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good genuine service and very helpful.
Very nice hotel good service throught out. Very child friendly staff were great.

Reviewed by
john a

From neston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stop over
Good communication and welcome from the owner. Little disapointed at the size of the childrens sofa bed as it only folded out to a single bed and kids had to top and tail the room was a good size and would easily fit bigger. Also we had a room at the front of the house and was awake before 6am due to noise from the road as we had windows open due to heatwave and vertical blinds tapping would benefit from curtains. Room was clean and modern with good sized bathroom.

Reviewed by
James P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.