No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lynton Cottage Hotel

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Lynton Cottage Hotel, North Walk , Lynton, EX35 6ED
This Grade II listed Georgian hotel has panoramic sea views over the North Devon coast line. Set 500 feet above sea level, this is a stunningly beautiful and tranquil location. The Hotel offers a variety of Superior, Deluxe and Classic rooms, all en suite. Balcony, Four Poster or Ground Floor rooms, are available by request, subject to availability. Located only 100 metres from the village centre of Lynton, in the heart of Exmoor. Surrounded by stunningly beautiful scenery, Exmoor is a major attraction for walkers. The Hotel facilities include Dining Room, Residents Lounge & Bar. FREE WIFI in bedrooms. The author C.S.Lewis visited here in 1925, and stated "The view from the Balcony was beyond everything I have seen".
Dinner - It is necessary to book a table, 24 hours in advance.
Food is available every evening. 6pm - 7.30pm.
Picture of Lynton Cottage Hotel, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the place to stay!
Check in faultless and professional yet friendly
Accomodation - fab, clean, spacious with every detail covered - perfect
Food: Excellent presented well and very fresh and flavourful
Location - perfect just what the web site says
Parking free and plantiful.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
John Harrison

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
Clean
Cosy
Good food
Fab views
Comfortable rooms

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
Annette S

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at the Lynton Cottage
We very much enjoyed our stay. We were very pleased to get an unexpected upgrade and the views from the lounge and bedroom were superb. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Sally B

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lived up to expectations. Bathroom was larger than expected and exceptional. Bed was very attractive-looking, large and with a very comfortable and firm mattress. Cottage Suite was a very good size. The desk manager could have been a little more customer-friendly.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stepping back in time...
We thoroughly enjoyed the location and were amazed at the of the size of the suite we had with a great expanse of old beams and a wonderful 6ft bed!! The views were amazing and Lynton itself is so beautiful!! Our only real criticism was it was a little tired with regard to the decor particularly in the bathroom but we understand that the hotel is undergoing various stages of upgrade and renewal. We will definately return to this hotel. Loved it!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. This room is the only one in the Hotel currently without a seaview, and is offered at budget prices. It is due to be upgraded to a Suite, now that we have planning permission to change the windows, that will then give the most magnificent views over the Bay. We will take on board your comments reference the decor, and will review this promptly. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will come back later in the year, after the full upgrade. Regards, Bill

Reviewed by
Yvette Tyler

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Occasional tripper
This hotel was everything we expected

Reviewed by
Michael Grugan

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic retreat.
The views from our bedroom were fantastic, if you are looking for peace and quiet this is the place to visit.
Staff very helpful but unobtrusive. We would certainly come here again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
A Walters

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed by the scores that you have attributed to the various categories. They are certainly not representative of your feedback given at time of check out. Nor are they accurate for the standard of facilities that we offer. We hope that your next visit to England will be more to your expectations. Regards Bill

Reviewed by
Irene I

From Denmark
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good little hotel
Lovely location, fantastic views, not too far from town.
Good quality bed and bedding.
Too many good things to write, but always go for a room with a view,it would be a shame not to.
The cheapest room booked via late rooms was the smallest bedroom, good for a few days but probably not good for a week!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The character of the building, as it has been developed over the decades, has given most of the rooms an individual uniqueness. This allows us to offer a whole range of rooms with different facilities to suit different budgets. All except one room, have magnificent seaviews. Something for everybody. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Bill

Reviewed by
Sue H

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When booking we had to book for dinner 24 hrs in advance - although there are other places it was claimed that they would not be 'up to the standard' their guests would expect. I was surprised that everybody HAD to be sat down at the same time - 7pm. By doing this the small team were uneccesarily rushed and could not be that attentive to tables as they had to rush to get food out, drinks orders in and out etc all at the same time. One person even had to wander into the kitchens to get some attention. A three course dinner was all done in an hour and it felt pretty rushed. Starter was very basic - a little disappointing. Main courses were beautiful albeit very basically presented. It was off season and the owners had not been installed long as well as having a family. I agree with and accept that they need their time but I felt a bit forced to book there and I think they set themselves up a biot by doing this. Having said that, this is the ONLY criticism and it did not detract from a wonderful stay. Bill was really kind and welcoming. The views are just stunning and the local area amazing. You probably wouldn;t want to walk back up from Lynmouth after dinner later on but is owrth it during the day. I also left some items in our room and the staff and bill were amazing at getting them back to me. Would definatley recommend people to stay here and wuold love to support the new owners - I would just manage guests expectation about dinner a bit better, although it may be completly different in high season.

ManagementResponse

Lynton is a very small town, and it is common practice amongst Restaurants to request that Diners book a table in advance, especially in winter. This is also common practice amongst the Hotels in town. It must be remembered that Exmoor is very rural and Hotels here, are very small, often only 7 or 8 rooms. With 16 rooms, we are almost the largest Hotel, but cater for Hotel residents only. We do therefore operate on a "small scale" basis, and broadly advertise our procedures both on the websites we use, plus an information email sent to Guests before arrival. Guests are under no pressure to book dinner with us, but we have found it better to inform them in advance, of the limited availability of Restaurants in town. Else there is a real risk during winter, that people will struggle to find somewhere to eat. We do favour a policy of generous portions, rather than following concepts of ornamental decoration of food which still leave Guests hungry. Thank you for your comments, all feedback is useful.

Reviewed by
Marcus Chapman

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next