No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lorna Doone Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street, , , Porlock, TA24 8PS
Take a tour of the picturesque village of Porlock, travel through the narrow streets with its interesting shops and boutiques. Porlocks origins can be traced back to the 12th century and has some lovely old thatched buildings, an ancient parish church. Have a ride up the famous Porlock hill into the surrounding countryside and see the breath-taking views of Exmoor, Porlock and Porlock Weir. All our bedrooms are en-suite, individually furnished and each named after a character from the Lorna Doone story. Enjoy superb local fare in our restaurant. Relax with coffee in our cosy residents lounge or perhaps a drink at the bar. All our facilities will go towards assuring you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. Toni and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel. We can assure you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. So if your looking for the perfect Romantic Getaway, a family retreat, or you are interested in retracing the steps of Lorna Doone - a story based on real people and real places, then the proprietors of the Hotel Toni and Dick look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel.
Picture of The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Very quaint hotel but with all you need, clean with a bath and shower, breakfast very good with a help yourself to as much toast juice etc. Free WiFi in lounge area and up to date TV in room, if you are looking for a lovely oldy world break and not a modern hotel you won't be disappointed here, parking a very short distance and a lovely host

Reviewed by
p fowkes

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was very poor, shower didn't work very well and room was very old and tried with a lot of cleaning to be done

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr and Mrs, or Miss and Mr, Thank you for your review, very heartwarming that you say nothing to the owner or staff....but decide to just 'put it out there for all the world to see' Do pop in for a cuppa should you be passing again. Regards, Mo

Reviewed by
Tracey A

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable friendly hotel

Reviewed by
lynne f

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
my wife and I spent a lovely couple of days here great place breakfast and food in the evening excellent

Reviewed by
r hodgson-reed

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a friendly hotel and village
Mo was really welcoming and the room was well prepared. The hotel is showing its age but the price and other reviews had lead us to expect that. Porlock is a beautiful place with friendly shops and people (especially Eric who works tirelessly to make the village look it's best for residents and visitors). The Visitor Centre and the Museum were really well presented and very interesting. Toni cooked us a wonderful breakfast on both mornings and Mo was perfect as "front of house". There are plenty of fantastic walks around and outside the village, with stunning views everywhere. A truly relaxing weekend. Thank you so much Toni and Mo.

Reviewed by
David L

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay in homely hotel with great food

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Cheddar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend in Porlock
The Lorna Doone hotel was a lovely place to spend a spontaneous weekend away - the owner was friendly and helpful, and provided us with recommendations about places to go for food when we arrived quite late on a Friday night. The hotel had a great location in the centre of the village and the room was plenty big enough for the 2 of us.

Reviewed by
R Moore

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Visit
Very friendly and accommodating throughout. Enjoyed our stay.

ManagementResponse

Good Morning, Thank you for your review, it is very kind of you to take the time. Regards, Mo

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 day stop over
This is a poor hotel. Car parking is for just 3 cars and it was challenging to get into the entrance without hitting the rock! No evening meal was available!
The fire door at the top of the stairs opened outwards so you had to move back a step in orde to get passed and the top railing to hold on was lose.
Sadly I do not recommend anyone to stay here.

ManagementResponse

Parking and not being able to park? Well I have seen a 16 seat mini bus come in easily, it just depends on ability I suppose. Fire doors. These are designed so that should you need to get out of the building fast, you hit that door and you do just that. No meal in the evening? Had you booked one when you booked your room?. Porlock has three pubs, a fish & chip shop, plus two restaurants, come on, give us a break! Loose hand rail. The rail is attatched to a 'cob' wall, and all fixtures although secure, there is always a little give. Thank you

Reviewed by
G Phillips

From Carterton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice base
we wanted somewhere to sleep, wash and have breakfast, and thats what we had. Food was great, staff great, Porlock very nice. Yes I will be going back.

Reviewed by
F Challis

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next