You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Lorna Doone Hotel

3

High Street , ,, Porlock, TA24 8PS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (11)

64% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sue B

  • July 2016

Porlock break

Breakfast was delicious good to have it cooked to order and arrive hot.

Central location, but parking very limited. Rooms quiet, but old and unloved at the moment. Lovely new owners who have a busy time ahead of them!

  • s neill

  • June 2016

A good one night stay

A friendly hotel with good service.

I liked the small double attic room with a sea view. It was cheap and cheerful and the food was tasty!

  • Mark F

  • April 2016

Like a well thumbed paperback of the book

I've read some of the other reviews on here and think they're a little OTT.

Yes, the onsite parking is a bit limited and if I was to quote my initial impression of it then this review would be heavily censored. But let's be honest, it wasn't built with car parking in mind. Yes, it's an old building with all that entails. It hasn't the sterile nature of one of the big chain, soulless hotels and has a lived in feel. Being old, there are perhaps restrictions on what modernisation can be done and the biggest issue for me was the sash window which shook and rattled in the strong winds prevalent during my stay. I'm a light sleeper and had trouble sleeping through the constant banging. This meant also that room could be quite cold when the heating was off. Had it been a huge concern, I dare say the owners would have addressed that. The shower took a little getting used to but then so does the one back home.

The dining area was lovely as were the hosts. Didn't eat in so can't comment on the evening meals but two out of three breakfasts were great and third was adequate. The snug with it's open fire and selection of reading material was quite inviting after a day hiking around the moors. As noted before, it has a lived-in feel which appeals to me more than the sterile surrounds of some more modern buildings. To qualify some of the answers in the next section then no, I probably wouldn't stay here again purely on the basis of the car-parking. I carry some rather heavy and expensive equipment on my trips so parking a few streets away or in a public car park isn't acceptable for me. Nor was the musical cars and greater reversing ability than I possess required each time I needed to use the car. That restriction put me off doing my sole reason for visiting the area although in fairness I'm not sure it would have been any less of a problem in any of the nearby alternatives. I'd have no hesitations in recommending it as somewhere safe and quiet to stay to anyone for whom the parking issue wasn't a concern but would advise them to take plenty of warm clothing on cooler nights. That said, I went early April during a cold, wet and windy week across the country. It's conveniently located for all Porlock has to offer and as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

  • Llinos H

  • September 2015

Good place to stay

Lovely quaint place to stay in.

Friendly owner and good service. Room decent with comfortable beds and nice bathroom with good shower. Downside was lack of parking behind the hotel.

  • joan j

  • August 2015

shabby but not chic

I had booked 2 rooms for a one night stay with my partner, my daughter and son-in-law, but the rooms we were allocated were a terrible disappointment.

Room 2 in the fancifully named 'cottage' accommodation in the courtyard area (not part of the main hotel), was in fact part of the old stable block, overlooking a very small and very scruffy car-park and smoking area, the unit consisted of two adjoining rooms, the first had a single sofa bed and an assortment of very old and rundown furniture (the room looked like an area that old furniture had come to die!!) off of this room was the shower room which along with the rest of the accommodation was dark and dingy, cobwebs where everywhere, the whole place felt cold and damp as if it wasn't used very often, there was an electric heater supplied but unfortunately it didn't actually work. to get to the 2nd part of the room you negotiated 2 steps down, in there could be found a double bed, another scruffy chest of drawers with a television perched on top and a door leading to a further loo. Room 7. The twin room in the main part of the hotel was at least a lot brighter although it had the same mismatch of old junk shop furniture, the beds were relatively comfortable though the very small duvets kept sliding off every time you turned over in the night, the pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, there was a spare blanket but this had been rolled up and left on the floor in the, clothes hanging area (I can't call it a wardrobe as it was knocked together using the wood from an old cabinet door at one end, and a broom handle with a curtain serving as a door) the blanket wasn't placed in a bag just left exposed to fluff and dust on the carpet, the inside of the electric kettle was black (we didn't dare use it) the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the bedside lampshade was stained and broken, the shower door was hard to open and close and on top of the shower unit was an old razor left presumably by the last occupant and gone unnoticed by the cleaner, through out the night there was a motor of some sort droning away in the background accompanied by the sound of a tank filling and refilling..... we didn't have an evening meal so can't comment on the food apart from the breakfast which was reasonably good and about the only redeeming feature of the whole sorry stay. If we had arrived a bit earlier in the day. I would, after inspecting the rooms have checked out and found other accommodation.

  • phil a

  • April 2015

Nice welcoming hotel

Very good basic accommodation.

Nice very friendly staff.

  • Peter N

  • April 2015

A few days in Porlock

Perfect location for a few days walking in this area.

Members of staff were very helpful and breakfast was also very good. Maybe some of the decor needs an update but no complaints from me. I'm sure if i had any serious issues with my stay, it would have been dealt with seriously and staff would have worked hard to put it right.

  • C HARGREAVES-WOODRUFF

  • April 2015

Hearts and Minds

A friendly, comfortable establishment, fading glory that can easily be refreshed.

Great staff, comfortable room, and good host. Would return for a long weekend for sure!

  • Jane Fogarty

  • March 2015

ad said restaraunt and bar neither open

The bar and restaurant not open.

Shower didnt work, did ask and although next day water was warm not at all adequate. Room musty on first night had to ask for heating to be put on. Breakfast very average. Disappointed as rarely go away and thought from ad would have a lovely relaxing time. Thank god for the next door pub.

  • Trevor S

  • February 2015

Overnight in Porlock

Lovely stay.

Our room was rather dated and small but OK for the price. Breakfast excellent. Great place to explore Exmoor. The Royal Oak is literally next door.