No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Longbridge Deverill , WARMINSTER, BA127DG
Welcome to The George Inn, a traditional English coaching inn set within two acres of grounds on the picturesque banks of the River Wylye in Longbridge Deverill, Wiltshire.

Situated on the doorstep of attractions such as Longleat, Stonehenge, Centre Parcs and the historic town of Warminster, The George Inn is the perfect stop-off for those heading along the southern counties of Bath, Salisbury and Frome or as an ideal half-way point for those travelling from Cardiff to Newport, or for those heading from Bournemouth to Poole.

The George Inn offers 12 rooms each equipped with free Wi-Fi, private bathroom, a TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities.

The traditional Smithy Bar, with its oak-beamed panels and wood furniture is the perfect setting to enjoy the pub’s superb selection of real ales from nearby Upham Brewery, which are on offer alongside a fine choice of wines. The seasonal menu made with locally-sourced ingredients, is also guaranteed to satisfy diners regardless of the occasion.
Picture of The George Inn, WARMINSTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
This hotel was recommended to us as a comfortable and convenient place to stay while visiting Longleat and Stourhead. Staff were very pleasant, food above average for pub grub. Rooms stocked well with toiletries, filter coffee and a variety of teas. Good value for money as breakfast was included. Only complaint I have was when I asked for a cappuccino for breakfast and was told "not at this time of day" (it was 9am).

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great one night stopover
On our way back from a family holiday we made a last minute decision to stop over and visit Longleat. We didn't expect to find anything more than an ordinary B&B at 2 hours' notice, but we were lucky enough to find The George. The accommodation was excellent, the food was great (both dinner and breakfast) and it's only a few miles from Longleat. A really enjoyable stay!

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hair found in bed and bathroom area.

Reviewed by
O Green

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Longeat Safari Park Overnight Stay
The hotel was very close to Longleat. Great for an overnight stay. The family room was excellent, very spacious, clean, and very well presented. The hotel staff were very helpful and professional. In the gardens there is a play area and space for children to run about; providing the weather is good, this is a real bonus.

Reviewed by
Michael O

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stop over
Good food, clean room, friendly staff, excellent value for money, great base for visiting Wiltshire, no complaints!

Reviewed by
peter S

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab staff, very accommodating.
We stayed at the George inn while traveling from Devon via Southampton then onto longleat. The evening we stayed was my daughters birthday, we had taken a cake with us and we no trouble at all the staff kindly brought it out and sang to my 4 year old daughter as well. Throughout our stay the staff were always friendly and helpful and cheerful, even at breakfast! The room was to a very high standard and was worth the money we paid to stay. The food was excellent, cooked fresh to order and good value for money. We would defiantly stay again and recommend it to friends. Thanks to all the staff, you did make a difference to overall experience.

Reviewed by
T Nicholls

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thin Walls!
We stayed on a visit to Longleat, for which this hotel was perfectly situated. The site had been recently refurbished and was excellently presented throughout, tastefully balancing the antique pub with contemporary interiors. The staff were all excellent, friendly and very helpful. The food was well presented, but a bland for the price. You would also expect for the price of the room not to have to endure creaky floorboards in the corridor outside the room so loud that they woke you up in the night, or walls so thin that you could easily eavesdrop on the conversation of the couple in the next room (entertaining though it was!) We did inform the staff, and they were very receptive, welcoming our comments. The traffic noise wasn't too bad, despite being next to the road which was good, so presumably the outside walls were of a sturdier construction. The location was also lovely, with picnic tables and a delightful little stream on the grounds.

Reviewed by
Nathan S

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful place to stay. Extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was amazing with beautiful decor and very well designed for a family room. Well equipped with tea/coffee and toiletries. The staff were very friendly and make our two young children very welcome. The only negative is I felt the food was a bit basic and not very well presented. Aside from that a lovely place to stay and will most definitely return.

Reviewed by
R Wickens

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Holiday
The George Inn has recently been renovated and is very modern. They were quite busy so our food was a bit late and the quality was mixed. The staff are friendly and made the visit enjoyable.
Our room was spacious and a curtain separated a bunk for our daughter. The only downside was the broken radiatior (so you couldnt turn it off) and some kind of extraction fan below our room that was noisey.
So a mixed review, but we would go back, just not order the steak or stay in room 10.

Reviewed by
B Withers

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
We booked at the last minute and had the last available room, it was very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable, the room was on the small side but as we were only staying one night this was not a problem, the bathroom only had a shower and the pressure was so low it took an age to have a shower, luckily there was lots of hot water. The rooms do not have any soundproofing and the person in the next room was watching loose women at 3am this woke us up! Jannet street porters voice coming through the walls was not a good start to the day! The breakfast was really good quality and the tea/coffee tray in the room had more tea and coffee etc than your average hotel this was a really nice thing as I normally have to ask for more tea etc.

Reviewed by
M Green

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next