No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Churchwood Valley

4Visit England Assessed Self Catering Ratings explained
Churchwood Valley Wembury, Plymouth, PL90DZ
Churchwood Valley is a beautiful, natural wooded valley running down to the sea at Wembury Bay in South Devon. Look closely and, hidden among the lush green foliage, you'll see wooden cabins nestling on the hillside.

It is a haven of peace within an environmental paradise, Churchwood Valley is a few minutes' walk from a safe family beach and the South West Coast Path.

If 'getting away from it all' is the most important part of your holiday – Churchwood Valley is for you. Each holiday cabin has its own plot on the hillside, surrounded by trees, flowering shrubs, hedges and rustic fences. By moving no further than your armchair, you'll see delightful displays of bird life, and a trip to your private patio may well afford a glimpse of badgers, foxes, squirrels and other wildlife.

There are no discos, bars or cafes – just rock pools, wildlife and breathtaking scenery. Secluded it may be, isolated it is not. Churchwood's licensed shop sells a wide range of food and drink, beach toys, gifts and many other products, so you don't even need to leave the site for those 'essential' items. We also have a fully equipped launderette.

Situated just 7 miles from Plymouth Churchwood Valley is an ideal base to explore many of Devon and Cornwalls main attractions.

Please note: Due to the park being located on the side of a valley, much of the access is not suitable to those with mobility problems. For more information please contact the laterooms team.

Cots and high chairs are available on request for a £5 hire charge. We allow up to 2 dogs per cabin at a cost of £5 per dog per week, or part of a week.

We do accept arrivals after 7pm if the booking is made over 24 hours in advance.
Picture of Churchwood Valley, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cozy tree top Chalet
Very cozy Chalet in among the sweet chestnut tree. View through trees to Wembury Bay.
Staff most welcoming and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Cobb

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean.A little outdated furniture but ok

Reviewed by
A wright

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful setting!
Very beautiful woodland setting, with all the lodges / cabins carefully set so as not to overlook each other, giving a lovely quiet and secluded feel. Our one bedroom lodge had all we needed for the 3 days we were there, however if we'd been there for longer, more storage space for clothes etc would've been needed. Everything was fine, though basic. The only thing we would say is the mattresses & bedding & pillows have all seen better days and need replacing. If we go again next year, we'll bring our own duvets & pillows, also padded mattress covers to soften the lumps!

Reviewed by
Catharine K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely secluded log cabin set in a wooded valley just five to ten minutes walk from the beach. . The only minor niggle for us was the mattress was quite hard, but we would certainly recommend.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Tranquility
Log cabins in a peaceful valley. We saw lots of birds and the beach was secluded and quiet. We are a couple and I'm glad we paid a bit extra for an A6. It was about the smallest we would have been comfortable in.

Reviewed by
Karen P

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Secluded getaway in beautiful setting
Only stayed 2 nights but decided we would return for longer. Loved the natural surroundings and the proximity of both coast and city. We found it to be a peaceful environment.

Reviewed by
John C

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A peaceful spot
We booked this at the last minute to celebrate our Anniversary and got a good deal through laterooms.com. Churchwood Valley was recommended to us by friends who visited during the summer and thought it would be perfect for us as we love walking: they were right! The cabin was basic and the décor plain but it was very clean and well-equipped, and we loved the way each cabin has its own secluded spot, nestled between the trees with views across the valley. A 5 minute walk to the beach/coast path from where we stayed and 25 minutes along the lane to the village pub, where we enjoyed excellent food and drink. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the coastal walks were lovely, despite the weather and the fact that at this time of the year the ferry wasn't operating when we walked eastwards - our lack of research! A lovely break!

Reviewed by
J Alsford

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

churchwood valley
Quiet and peaceful woodland location, near to the beach with plenty of walks. Accomodation was well equiped,clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The site caters for dogs and there are plenty of walks. Would have no hesitation, in recommending or visiting in the future.

Reviewed by
s wright

From Liversedge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful location to unwind in. Equipment good quality. Shame there was only uncomfotable futon seat
This was a two person lodge so futon would not and could not be used for sleeping due to space. They are really uncomfortable and no substitute for a propper chair or settee.
I would recommend but with the caviat that the seating was not relaxing or comfortable. If that is not a priority there is no problem.

Reviewed by
Celia B

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent site with excellent cabins perfect fir families and couples

Reviewed by
D Kerner

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next