No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stones

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stones, 48 The Avenue, , Minehead, TA24 5AN
'Stones is a wonderfully different and refreshing concept for a British seaside hotel.' Welcome to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant... Located along The Avenue in the centre of Minehead, we at Stones are very proud of our recently refurbished Hotel. We have combined classic charm and modern elegance to create somewhere that is comfortable to all, with friendly helpful service to ensure you enjoy your visit with us. We are wonderfully situated for those wanting to enjoy all the area has to offer, from the natural beauty of Exmoor and the dramatic coastline to the historic West Somerset Steam Railway and superb Links Golf. At Stones we have put together a menu that offers something for everyone. From traditional dishes to foods from around the world, all our meals are homemade by our team of talented chefs. We also offer a constantly updated Specials Board with wonderful seasonal dishes. Our staff are attentive and friendly to ensure you enjoy your meal with us.
Picture of Stones, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good value hotel, but remember it is also a bar and restaurant
No problems at all. Clean and well equipped room and although I booked and paid for a single room I was upgraded to a double a t no extra cost as they were not full. Remember this is also a bar and restaurant and on the main street so can be a bit noisy. Very central for everything the only issue I can see is the car park which was also being used by bar customers. Will stop here again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Martyn Parsons

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was excellent, great location and staff were very good. Only problem was empty bottles were put in recycling bin at 7.15, 6.45 and 6.30 in the mornings, not good.

Reviewed by
stuart davies

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed
We needed a place to stay while travelling to Minehead to pick up our son from his holiday. We usually stay in Premier Inns etc and this hotel was a pleasant surprise and change, we actually got a room with an window that opened properly and where the temperature could be controlled. Friendly and helpful staff who showed us to the room and gave a mini tour so we could get our bearings.
Very good hotel.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel

Reviewed by
C Richards

From Burry Port, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel very clean and extremely friendly staff. perfect location. will visit again :)
Visited minehead to visit family on holiday. The hotel is just a minutes walk from the beach front with the local shops right on the doorstep. Room was very clean and tidy although the bed was a little on the hard side but some may appreciate that. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really very good with lots of choice. I have to say I rate this hotel very highly indeed and would recommend to anyone who is staying in the area, 24hr reception and with the bonus of on site parking goes a long way. Happy to stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
W Jackson

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
We spent 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) in the hotel and were impressed with it. The décor in the bedroom and the bar/restaurant was lovely and beautifully clean. Our room was immediately above the bar and thought it may be a bit noisy...it wasn't at all. Friendly staff and a great base to explore the surrounding areas like Dunster Castle. The seafront and station for the steam trains are only a 2 minute walk away. Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
My fiancé and I stayed here for a night and were very impressed with the hotel, especially the service of the staff, which was excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is lovely with luxurious beds and plush comfortable furnishings throughout. The only negative thing was that we were on the top floor and the hotel does not have a lift so we had to walk up the numerous flights of steep stairs.

Reviewed by
Katie Reeve

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable with good food
My single room was newly refurbished with en-suite/shower; compact but with all the amenities - tea/coffee making and TV. It was quite warm at night but then what do you expect for mid -July.
Breakfast excellent and evening meals available - also good food and very helpful staff. Basically a pub by night once the food is over. Ideally situated for the seafront and town.

Reviewed by
Roy P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

attentive and courteous and helpful staff
A very pleasant week in Minehead made more enjoyable by the attentive and courteous staff.
Used the Stones restaurant every night but one because we seemed to exhaust their menu.
My wife and I, being elderly and slightly infirm, appreciated very much the help with luggage and occasional assistance when acsending the stairs.
Our stay would have been almost perfect except that we would have been very pleased to find that Stones had a lift!

Reviewed by
John N. Barrett

From Olney, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place
We arrived at a very busy time but they saw we was checking and came and checked us in room was lovely only down fall i can say was shower was so small my husband is a tall man and didnt fit in hit his head trying to wash....breakfast was lovely very friendly service would stay again..

Reviewed by
e rousell

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next