Reviews - Monkton Court Hotel


Monkton , ,, Honiton, EX14 9QH

Price From 199.62 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Patrick B

  • November 2015

  • Paul H

  • September 2015


This is an overnight stopover trying to be a gourmet hotel and failing to be either!

  • Richard S

  • March 2015

business stop.

nice hotel, good location, next to a very busy road, but it goes quieter at night

  • Paul F

  • November 2014

Monkton Court Hotel

Excellent hotel.

  • Roslyn F

  • October 2014

food - when you get it - is great

I was asked to come down for dinner at some point after 7 as there was a function on in one of the other rooms.

At 7:30 when I came down, I was told that I should have come down at JUST after 7 as it would now be a long wait for food, which was frustrating. When the food did eventually arrive, however, it was lovely. Breakfast the next morning, however, was even worse. I came down, helped myself to the continental breakfast laid out, and despite hearing loud chatter coming from the kitchen the entire time, nobody came to offer me coffee, toast, or cooked breakfast. When I came to leave, they still charged me £5 for my bowl of cornflakes.

  • David P

  • September 2014

A curates egg of a hotel.

A poor start when checking in with a receptionist who had to be asked to turn around from a computer screen to face us when speaking.Subsequently everything was very satisfactory and friendly.Room comfortable, but bathroom lacked a shaver point and fixed shower over the bath.Food very attractively presented and excellent quality from an imaginative menu.The extra charge for breakfast made the stay a little expensive.

  • John S

  • August 2014

Lovely Accommodation

The hotel is a little gem.

Lovely gardens to the rear. Staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was amazing

  • Anne-Marie Creamer

  • July 2014

a very friendly little hotel, with excellent service, good food and good value for money

I loved this little hotel.

The room was clean and very nice, excellent value for menu in fact, but my main memory was that there was excellent service, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. And may I say theta their Hungarian chief does an excellent dinner. I would highly recommend the Monkton Court Hotel.

  • S Donaghy

  • May 2014

We stayed in one of the two bedded rooms adjacent to the main hotel building.

Spacious room, very comfotable bed and large bathroom. Evening meal in the hotel was excellent.

  • D Francis

  • February 2014

Warm & cosy but, not great for business people

Monkton Court was ideally located to break up my journey from Surrey to Dartmoor.

Sitting on the side of the A30 it's easy to find and has adequate parking. "We've upgraded you to a better room the main building" were nice words to hear on arrival too. The room was a reasonable size, dominated by a huge wooden bed on which two double mattresses sat, and into which I immediately sank. The staff here are courteous enough and, on the night I stayed, a fire burned in the lounge where comfortable seats and a relaxing environment made it difficult to stay awake after dinner. The restaurant is run separately to the hotel. The menu is good and the food excellent. But, for a businessman, this lead to two rather strange things happening: Firstly, I received a call when back in my room asking me to settle my account that evening; and secondly, I then had to pay two separate bills, one for the hotel and one for the restaurant. Perhaps this was due to be having to leave before breakfast, which isn't available before 8.00 AM. As it was, I had to unlock the hotel to let myself out the next morning. If the hotel has all the business it can cope with, then fine. But, I think the main reason for my being upgraded to the main building from the annex was that the annex was empty. I don't believe the main building fully occupied either. If Monkton Court is to attract business visitors, like me, then it needs to make one or two relatively straightforward changes: Integrated billing; breakfast available from a reasonable hour, a manned reception; and, the ability to check-out on departure,