No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Monkton Court Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Monkton Court Hotel, A30/A303, , Honiton, EX14 9QH
Colin, Jenny and Joe serve morning coffee, bar snacks, comfort food and afternoon tea. Come and relax in front of the fires or chill out in the sunny orchard For the more nocturnal amongst you why not try our evening brasserie menu and then sink into one of our delicious beds? We are a hidden gem waiting to be discovered on the A30 - just outside of Honiton - halfway between London and Cornwall - the perfect pit stop! We are a short drive away to the best Devon can offer Monkton Court is an ideal central location from which to tour and explore the treasures of the West Country. The resorts of Beer, Branscombe, Sidmouth and Lyme Regis, the fabulous Jurassic coastline, are all but a short drive away. The attractions in this beautiful part of the country are simply too numerous to list, with the borders of Somerset and Dorset on its doorstep.. Honiton, the centre of lace and antiques is 2 miles away, with the cathedral city of Exeter a 20 minute drive – giving full access to Dartmoor, Exmoor, South Devon, North Devon and Cornwall. The ancient market town of Axminster, famed for its carpets and rugs worldwide is only 11 miles away.
Picture of Monkton Court Hotel, Honiton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Accommodation
The hotel is a little gem. Lovely gardens to the rear. Staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was amazing

Reviewed by
John S

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very friendly little hotel, with excellent service, good food and good value for money
I loved this little hotel. The room was clean and very nice, excellent value for menu in fact, but my main memory was that there was excellent service, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. And may I say theta their Hungarian chief does an excellent dinner. I would highly recommend the Monkton Court Hotel.

Reviewed by
Anne-Marie Creamer

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in one of the two bedded rooms adjacent to the main hotel building. Spacious room, very comfotable bed and large bathroom. Evening meal in the hotel was excellent.

Reviewed by
S Donaghy

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm & cosy but, not great for business people
Monkton Court was ideally located to break up my journey from Surrey to Dartmoor. Sitting on the side of the A30 it's easy to find and has adequate parking. "We've upgraded you to a better room the main building" were nice words to hear on arrival too. The room was a reasonable size, dominated by a huge wooden bed on which two double mattresses sat, and into which I immediately sank.
The staff here are courteous enough and, on the night I stayed, a fire burned in the lounge where comfortable seats and a relaxing environment made it difficult to stay awake after dinner.
The restaurant is run separately to the hotel. The menu is good and the food excellent. But, for a businessman, this lead to two rather strange things happening: Firstly, I received a call when back in my room asking me to settle my account that evening; and secondly, I then had to pay two separate bills, one for the hotel and one for the restaurant. Perhaps this was due to be having to leave before breakfast, which isn't available before 8.00 AM. As it was, I had to unlock the hotel to let myself out the next morning.
If the hotel has all the business it can cope with, then fine. But, I think the main reason for my being upgraded to the main building from the annex was that the annex was empty. I don't believe the main building fully occupied either. If Monkton Court is to attract business visitors, like me, then it needs to make one or two relatively straightforward changes: Integrated billing; breakfast available from a reasonable hour, a manned reception; and, the ability to check-out on departure,

Reviewed by
D Francis

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtyard Room was Good accommodation for parents with young adults (not children anymore!)
Bathroom needs extractor fan and shower curtain. Although roll top bath looks nice, with shower on bath taps - not very practical!

Reviewed by
Helen B

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, very hospitable
We stayed overnight at Monkton Court and were delighted with the very spacious suite for us and our 2 children (8 & 10). The room was clean and newly decorated to a high standard. The beds were extremely comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was big and luxurious. The owners/staff? were friendly and helpful. As a stop-off en route to deeper Devon it was perfect. thank you.

Reviewed by
Helena C

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only distraction from a perfect stay was smell in rooms
Lovely homely feel

Reviewed by
P Cooper

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and relaxed
Very friendly and relaxed. Good restaurant and food was very good.
Room was very clean and comfortable. View from window was of local fields, very pleasant.
WiFi wasn't available in the room, and partially worked in the bar area.
Nice gardens available.

Reviewed by
Martin E

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Monkton Court
Room was adequate, but pricey for a small room. Could you see any fire alarms, either in the bedroom, hallway or downstairs. Food very good.

Reviewed by
D Kent

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation wasn't what we expected as we weren't part of the main hotel and were in a cottage

Reviewed by
L O'Reilly

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.