No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shave Cross House Hotel

5Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Shave Cross Inn, Marshwood Vale, Bridport, DT6 6HW
The Shave Cross House is a Dorset flint stone building with beautiful stone floors and oak beams constructed in the same tradition as the 700 year old Inn which was once a busy stop off point for pilgrims and monastic visitors (who had their tonsures trimmed as a mark of respect while staying).

This luxury boutique accommodation, is set in the grounds of the Famous and popular Shave Cross Inn, with its unique Shavers Restaurant which has been serving authentic British, Modern Caribbean and International cuisine for the past 10 years and has been awarded many accolades. The pub has also won 2 CAMRA Pub of the Year awards during this period for its real ales and ciders. And features in Alastair Sawday’s Special places Pubs and inns of England and Wales as being in the top 10 best summer gardens, and in winter its amazing log fire and ashe’n faggot burning on the old 12th night with the Wessex Morris dancers

The accommodation, comprises of 7 luxury en-suite rooms of which 3 are four poster double bedrooms, 2 doubles with sleigh beds and 2 honeymoon suite, Each room has been individually designed by the owners and furnished with luxurious fittings. All rooms are en-suite, have flat screened T. V’s hairdryers and tea making facilities. The rooms are available for daily, weekly or weekend breaks; so why not spend a romantic weekend, and enjoy the delights of the unique Shavers Restaurant.

This is the one place that is very individual sitting at the end of several tortuously narrow lanes where you can get away from it all, for people wishing to unwind, relax, chill out and recover from the stresses of modern life.

Situated In the centre of the beautiful Marshwood Vale West Dorset just 3 miles as the crow flies, from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast and in a true part of Hardys Dorset and defiantly ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’

2013 Visit Britain 5* Award And 2013 AA 5* And Highly Commended Restaurant Award And Breakfast Award.

2008 Taste Of The West Gold Awards 2008 Dining Pub Of The Year.

Well Behaved Dogs Accepted But Not In The Restaurant.

The restaurant and bar are closed on Mondays, except Bank Holiday Mondays. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Picture of Shave Cross House Hotel, Bridport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful three days at shave cross
A fabulous inn well off the beaten track, and one which has retained its original features and added very comfortable accommodation. The open log fire was a joy to behold! The owners were away but the staff were incredibly warm, welcoming and capable, and nothing was ever too much trouble. The combination of traditional and Caribbean-style food worked very well, and the service was never anything less than perfect. It was a real pleasure to stay there and I'd have no hesitation at all in recommending a visit to this Dorset jewel.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room here was spectacular and certainly to our taste. We gave 5 for cleanliness as there were spiders in 3 out of the 4 corners of the bathroom- a minor thing. Upon arrival there was no indication of where to go to check in and when we did get to the right place we were not made to feel welcome, instead we were accused of having said we were going to be arriving early, which we didn't. Apart from that we were not spoken to! We did wonder if this was because we're a same sex couple?
We did not eat in the pub for dinner as much of the food is spicy which is not to our taste. There were only 3 vegetarian options for my partner and they were very stereotypical. Not all non meat eaters want goats cheese as the option everywhere they go, especially as there are very good meat alternatives such as the quorn chicken pieces and the quorn mince which can be used to make a vegetarian version of much of the food offered to meat eaters. Breakfast had a good range on offer and we liked that food was locally sourced. The bread, croissants, sausages and juice were all lovely. The fruit looked good but didn't taste right and we ordered a tea and decaf coffee but got given a regular coffee and a decaffeinated. Again minor things but when it's a hotel with 5starts hanging on the wall I'm expecting perfection.
We would stay again as the location and building are beautiful and now we know how things work we'd be very comfortable here.

Reviewed by
Wendy Turner

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good overnighter for onward travel
Great location just outside Weymouth for a late ferry arrival. Family run with warm and friendly atmosphere. Lots of locals in attendance which is always a good sign, but slow service due to low on staff

Reviewed by
Leonie Le Tissier

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quiet and attractive pub with rooms
We arrived at 5pm on a Saturday (as did another couple) and although we knocked on 3 doors nobody was around. The pub opened at 6pm. The website said only one room was left - but actually there were only 2 rooms occupied - on a Saturday night in June! The pub was very quiet and we were the only people in the restaurant on a Saturday night. On the Sunday night I think it was equally quiet. The second night someone was playing music and walking on our ceiling and we couldn't sleep. I think the sound insulation could be much better. The floors were made of stone and I expect the floor above us was made of stone too so that's why it was noisy. The pub garden was lovely - but empty.

Reviewed by
Graham M

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Getaway
We had a lovely weekend stay at the Shaves Cross Hotel. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the restaurant with a caribbean twist was excellent and we would definitely go back. Many thanks

Reviewed by
Ruth Wood

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Deborah B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shhh - wonderful hotel to keep secret to those who know!
An absolute gem. Tiny hotel tucked away in the lanes - really easy to miss but well worth finding. We stayed in the vaulted ceiling room, which was fabulous. Cosy and with stunning views across the Dorset countryside, and definitely somewhere we will go back to. Roy and team made us so welcome, and we had one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble, and it felt as though you were staying with friends rather than being a paying guest.

Reviewed by
Sue C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some things good, some not so good!
The standard of the room was good with all the extras enabling it to achieve a high star rating. The lady who initially dealt with us when we arrived and served us during breakfast was very helpful and polite. However there were some things that let the visit down.
1.The room we were given was not as described on the confirmation by late rooms and although the owner explained that ours was a discounted room and they were full, this leads to a disappointing first impression.
2. Late rooms call it a hotel - it is a pub with a fairly recently built barn style detached annexe with rooms. Again not sure if this is late rooms description, but a little mis-leading.
3. Although the annexe is very attractive, the sound insulation was poor between our room 4 and the one above. I don't expect to hear snoring at 5 am or bathroom activities ( I won't go into detail) from another bedroom!
4. Breakfast was pleasant and freshly prepared but we waited nearly an hour for our cooked breakfast, from sitting down - there were only 12 guests staying.
5. Overall the high star rating was let down by the above.

Reviewed by
Simon Vaux

From Evesham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing break
We stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a find! Thanks to Laterooms.com
Beautiful room with sleigh bed. Quality bathroom. Lots of little touches that make a holiday special.
The breakfast was superb, the a la carte and the bar meals couldn't be faulted. Being serenaded from the kitchen was a treat. We will definitely stay again - soon !!

Reviewed by
Sue T

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual and peaceful
This is certainly a lovely old inn. Well off the beaten track and very quiet with a pleasant garden. The restaurant menu is interesting with a lot of Caribbean influence. Fantastic breakfast. We were a bit surprised to find that we seemed to be the only residents during the two days that we stayed, during the August bank holiday week! The accommodation had obviously been built and furnished to a high standard but the ground floor room that we occupied had a rather damp smell. No windows. Just French doors to a shared patio and a farm view. Overall a bit over priced.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next