No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swan Hill House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Swan Hill House, Swan Hill Road , Colyton, EX24 6QQ
Swan Hill House is a victorian villa near the coastal towns of Seaton, Beer, Branscombe and Lyme Regis. An ideal base to explore the Jurassic Coast and the countryside around Devon and Dorset. Six en-suite rooms, a guest lounge, off-street parking and a garden. Many home-made goodies offered, from freshly made cake on arrival, the biscuits in each room and the baked bread and breakfast specials each morning.
Picture of Swan Hill House, Colyton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way!
I've got nothing negative to say about our stay here. The room was beautifully decorated (as was the whole hotel), the bed was comfortable, there were really good range of complimentary drinks (including cold drinks in the fridge) and home-made cookies - a really nice touch. The breakfasts were excellent and there's a changing daily special and home-made granola and bread/toast - all delicious. The owners are really friendly without being intrusive and happily give advice on local amenities. They also booked a table at a local restaurant for us. We would certainly go back if we were in the area and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel !

Reviewed by
David Taylor

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Felt totally spoilt as a guest
Simon and Libby were so accommodating with everything from homemade biscuits to a fully stocked complimentary fridge with water, milk and juice.
Breakfast was cooked to order and very delicious. The room was very clean, old with a fireplace but not used, but still clean. A lot of these old houses you can tell that they are old as the décor can be tired, but this felt very fresh.
I cannot reiterate enough how much I enjoyed my stay, would and will recommend this to anybody.

Reviewed by
Sarah Coulson

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
From the minute we were greeted at the door I can honestly say it's the best B&B I've ever stayed at. The rooms are beautifully furnished, nothing has been forgotten, the cookies were a delicious touch too. Tea and cake on arrival was a welcome treat. The breakfast? Well what can I say..... Choice was endless and delicious with everything being locally sourced. There was so much I didn't need lunch that day. Value for money? Definitely. We will be making a return. Hats off to Simon and Libby.

Reviewed by
Sophie Barnett

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have wished for more.
Simon and Libby ensured that our stay was memorable, and one we hope to repeat. The welcoming and friendly atmosphere, together with first class accommodation and delicious breakfasts add up to 5 star service. The homemade biscuits and cakes were a bonus reflecting Simon and Libby's attention to detail. Thank you for making our holiday so special.

Reviewed by
B Fentum

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B an B in UK
Highly recommend a stay Simon and Libby deserve their success. Cleanest hotel or B and B I have stayed in. Breakfast first class

Reviewed by
John Hall

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellence.
I have nothing but praise for this establishment and most genial hosts.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Robert Whittingham

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrific
What a wonderful experience. Nothing was too much trouble for Simon and Libby, they made us feel as if we were the only ones there.spotless everywhere,the breakfast choice was amazing and so well cooked.( the vegetarian cheese scone with scrambled eggs and vine tomatoes) I can highly recommend..
We will certainly go again.

Reviewed by
Helen Hall

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, food and hosts
This little B&B was fabulous. Simon helped take our bags on arrival and showed us to our room. He was very helpful suggesting places to eat and also gave us some of his delicious home-made cake. The room was great and comfortable. Great location for seeing things in the area. Breakfast yummy too.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only stayed for one night unfortunately but we were very happy with everything and will definately be staying again when we have more time. Very welcoming, very comfortable and great breakfast. Many thanks,
Alan Young

Reviewed by
Alan Young

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Excellent stay. breakfast good couldn-t fault stay.

Reviewed by
J HOLLOWAY

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next