No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
4 HIGH ST , ILMINSTER, TA199AW
The Bell Inn – Ilminster The Bell Inn is a traditional Public House with accommodation.

It is located within the market town of Ilminster in Somerset only 200yds from the town square. The building dates back to 1760 and has been an Inn for much of its time. Guests can relax in the bar areas or in the private beer garden to the rear of the property.

All of the rooms are located on the first floor via stairs.

Free parking is available in our car park to the rear of the property.

Room 1 – Is the largest room and consists of a double bed & two single beds.
Room 2 – Is a good sized single room.
Room 3 – Is a spacious room and consist of a double bed & a single bed.

All rooms are en-suite with showers and have modern free view TVs, Tea & Coffee making facilities.
Free WI-FI is also available.

A breakfast menu is available from 07:30am Please order the night before @ the Bar.

Food is served in the bar/lounge at most times

We are located just off the junction with the A303 & A358.The Bell Inn is well placed for access to and from all parts of the West Country by road and rail.

The M5 Motorway (junction 25) is approx 8 miles away from us.
Picture of The Bell Inn, ILMINSTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Nice room and nice person looking after us. No food and pub not open during the day.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Clean and comfortable, quiet- ladies skittle match in bar below- didnt hear a thing!

Reviewed by
martin k

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Innkeeper hospitality
much appreciated the extra mile he provided. It really made a difference

Reviewed by
s chung

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean room and was only booked as a stop over for a long journey to Devon but wish we had paid more for more comfort. Reviews said family run pub, but was more like one man, a pub full of men, not very comfortable for me, glad hubby was there. Very little choice in food, but it was cooked good. Working mans, builders pub, not familly or city, mini break place.

Reviewed by
helen roberts

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
We stayed here as our friends were getting married and was near to their house. The landlord was very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. Even asked if we needed to use an iron for our clothes for he wedding. We will definetly go back and would recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Meads

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
To start with it was easy to find, it doesn't sound like something to be pleased about, but we have had a few places where we just can't find them, which is frustrating after a long drive and with a bored child in the back. When we arrived, we went in and were shown around which was really nice and made us feel welcome.
The building
The Bell Inn is a lovely old building which the owner has made into a real pub, with the rooms upstairs. It's very easy to navigate around as the stairs are located in plain sight in the pub and all the trims are off one corridor. Brilliant for tired guests. During the day you can use the pub downstairs if you want to instead of holing yourself up in your room, which makes you feel more at home.
The Room.
The room was lovely, the mattresses weren't too soft, nor were they too hard. Having a family room, we had a double and single bed with clean bedding and two pillows (each, unlike some places which only have one). Freeview TV on the wall, which suited us perfectly. There were less plug aockets than we were used too, but this made us think about we actually wanted to have plugged in, and to be honest swapping a plug over is not a big deal, and some compromises are expected when you are staying in an old building. A hair dryer was in the room, which is handy if you have forgotten your sand there were tea/coffee facilities- here was a point that made both me and the wife very happy, there was fresh milk in a jug rather than the little pots of UHT stuff which tastes fake.
Our room was an en-suite, with power shower, toilet and sink, a little amenities bag is provided if you have forgotten your toiletries! Plenty of towels are provided and the water gets hot quickly. The only downside to the room is that there is not masses of storage space, but I have seen places with less. There's a hanging rail and a shelf above, and a couple of shelves below, which provided enough space for our stay of 3 days for 3 people. You might struggle if you were staying for a week. The room was generally quiet, with a view over the quaint village, we were warned that we might hear the bell from the church, but none of us did. We could hear some noise from downstairs, but this wasn't a lot and it didn't go on too late, we were still able to fall asleep easily.
The food.
Simply put it was pub food done well. There was no pretending to make it fancy, but it was nice, satisfying and was done well. We has an evening meal when we first arrived an breakfasts for the 3 Mornings. We all enjoyed the food including the fussy child, I have to say the chips were some of the best I have had for a long time!
Overall, a very enjoyable stay where we felt at home. I know that we will be staying there again the next time we are down that way. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Nice room. Friendly staff. Made sure everything was ok. Provided us with a drink for our onward journey. Very impressed.

Reviewed by
r bloomer

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brief but pleasant stay
This was only an overnight stop for a business meeting. I arrived late but the landlord was most accommodating and prepared me a meal late in the evening. The room was basic but comfortable. The breakfast was good. So no complaints

Reviewed by
John H

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
Beautifully clean rooms. Host Alan very friendly and helpful. Nice added touch of small jug of fresh cold milk for tea/coffee on arrival and another one in the morning left outside our bedroom door. The night we stay the landlord had a pool tournament in the bar so there was nowhere for us to have anything to eat but there was no trouble and the noise was minimal.

Reviewed by
J Imms

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay at short notice
Nice little pub, friendly locals, basic pub food but very well presented. Great room with free wireless internet.

Reviewed by
Graham Daniells

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next