No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grange

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
19 SOUTHBOURNE ROAD , ST. AUSTELL, PL25 4RU
The Grange is a 4 Star Highly Commend & AA Breakfast Award run Bed and Breakfast where we liked to make our guests comfortable and relaxed a perfect base from which to explore, The Grange is ideally located in the heart of the Cornish Riviera and just minutes from the legendary Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. With the unique beauty of the south Cornish coast on our doorstep and countless world-class attractions nearby, a holiday at The Grange is all about unwinding and making the most of these magical surroundings
The Rooms at The Grange are all individually designed some boasting roll top baths and a 4 Poster rooms yet fresh uncluttered but makes an idyllic base for a relaxing holiday. Our accommodation are comfortable - all rooms are en-suite, centrally heated and complete with 32" Flat Screen Televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, radio, hairdryer toiletries, bathrobes and chocolates. There is even fast Free WiFi access available for all guests. Breakfast/Dinner is served in our stunning Guest Dining/Lounge were we serve a variety of breakfast choices from Cornish breakfast or a fresh Continental feast is a great way to start the day.Evening meals can be provided as long as they are requested in advance plus a variety of pubs and restaurants can be found within a 10-15-minute walk.
The Grange is within easy reach both to the main Train and Bus Station in St.Austell making us ideal for those who choose to travel without a car.But for those who have their own transport we do also provide Free onsite car parking and street parking .
Picture of The Grange, ST. AUSTELL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and Friendly
The Grange is a small B&B with three guest rooms. We stayed in the loft suite which was very clean, well appointed and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
N Jellicoe

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
From the moment we arrived until we left the attention given to us was first class.
Very comfortable room and great bathroom. Excellent breakfast.
Very helpful advice regarding restaurants and directions in the area.

Reviewed by
E Lenz

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great bedroom with real character, fabulous breakfast
Brief one-night stay on business visit to the area. Late booking and unable to stay at usual places. Took a chance on a new guest-house/B&B with a last-minute discount. Not disappointed. Far better than the alternative which was the faceless Travelodge just down the road!

Reviewed by
Tim L

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall it was a pleasant stay. The room was a bit small.

Reviewed by
Y Kang

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable stay, good selection at breakfast and the box of chocolate Thortons in the room was a very nice touch

Reviewed by
K Bishop

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing too much trouble
We could not fault any aspect of our stay at the Grange. Our hosts were friendly and helpful in every respect. By their recommendation for an evening meal, we found Charlestown, a gem of a place which we certainly would not have found by ourselves. The room was spotlessly clean and furnished to the highest standard. Breakfast offered a wide choice and hot options cooked to order. Would not hesitate to return or to recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Sue D

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Weekend
I've never left a review before but felt that the Grange deserved one. The wonderful weekend that we had was made even better for knowing that we would be coming back to a lovely hotel like the Grange. The room was very luxurious and clean with a lovely bathroom to come home to and a bed so comfortable you wouldn't want to get up in the morning. James, the owner, was very accommodating and friendly and couldn't do more to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We shall be and already have recommended this hotel to friends and will certainly stay here again next time we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Richard Gollop

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top quality very well looked after hotel
This Hotel had the best room I have stayed in, in my life and due to me working away weekly I have stayed in quite a few hotel rooms. There were Thornton's chocolate's by the tea and coffee making facility's, a mini fridge (as in half size of a kitchen fridge) though this would of been nice if it was pre chilled, dressing gowns, posh fixtures and fittings and a very large wall mounted on a swing arm TV couldn't of asked for more.
now for the bad points the car park is minute and I found myself being blocked in by other guests, and breakfast is served round a dining table so everyone sits together.
other than these small points it was best hotel ive been to so far and would defiantly go again

Reviewed by
Simon S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Anniversary Break Away
The loft room was absolutely perfect for us for a long weekend, what with a four poster bed being the bonus. The room was lovely, as was the breakfast and additional services available, should you require them!
James was very helpful and happily suggested some bars & restaurants for us to try out - Austell's restaurant is brilliant and great food and wine to boot!
We would both highly recommend using The Grange to explore the south Cornish coast or just to chill out!

Reviewed by
Christian van der Merwe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly service and a good room. Recommended to all.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next