No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bradbourne House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
5 Marine Parade, Appledore, EX39 1PJ
Grade 2 listed Georgian gem which sits in a terrace of imposing large houses looking out right over the River Torridge. There is an ever-changing vista to absorb the eye - a flotilla from the yacht club directly across the river, the local pilot gig rowing teams practising, or a fishing boat returning to Appledore or Bideford. Across the road the historic Richmond Dock, now a working dock again.
The house has retained a wealth of original architectural features such as a wooden Georgian cantilevered staircase, floorboards, original cornicing and sash windows. Our furniture and decor compliment the age and style of the house. But we also incorporate modern amenities - copious hot water and heating from a new top-of-the-range boiler, crisp linen bedding, tv/dvds, hospitality trays, free wi-fi and I-Pod docking stations.
We have two doubles, one twin and one single room complete with sofa or chairs and coffee table for relaxing after a day exploring.
Secure bike/surfboard storage. Dogs welcome.
Picture of Bradbourne House, Appledore at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appledore Break
Had a Really enjoyable time ,Penny & Martin made us feel at home ,could not fault any of the Bradbourne House Experience.

Reviewed by
Gordon Manzie

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute gem in Appledore
This was a last minute booking in a place I had not heard of but the whole experience was a joy. The house is an absolute treasure trove full of items lovingly bought and carefully placed. Martin is a natural host where nothing is too much trouble but not in an obtrusive way. The food was freshly prepared and covered all tastes and the location was perfect. The whole experience was a joy.

Reviewed by
Jackie W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prefect B&B
We stayed here for 2 nights in September. Following a 4 hour drive we were treated to a welcoming freshly brewed pot of tea and homemade welsh cakes. Our host gave us a comprehensive overview of Appledore, Bradbourne House and all the places to visit and the best places to eat, drink and enjoy ourselves.
The B&B was luxurious and extremely comfortable and we didn't want for anything. Both Penny and Martin made us feel like royalty and ensured that our stay was very enjoyable.
There was a wide choice of different Breakfast items and all of the food was plentiful and of high quality.
There were historical books, maps and guides to the local area in our room which made the stay even more enjoyable in that we learnt significant things about the village and its history.
The resident cat Arthur is also a joy to meet.
We booked this B&B by chance and really hit the jackpot. If you only stay in one B&B in the next 12 months, make it this one.
What a wonderful place to stay and unwind. We came away feeling totally relaxed and are determined to go back for another visit.
The Ferry trip from Appledore to Instow and back is a must.

Reviewed by
Simon Bishop

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a visit
Excellent stay in a great period property. Attention to detail second to non. Best quality and choice of breakfast. Will be back in the future - many thanks.

Reviewed by
S Meacham

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Weekend
We had a wonderful weekend in a superb Georgian house with superb hosts. We were made immediately welcome and given an excellent briefing on the village of Appledore and its essential services. The hosts really are a superb advertisement for Appledore. They are obviously in love with the area themselves and this transmits into the quality of the experience they provide for their guests.. Penny had already recommended the excellent nearby Bensons fish restaurant and she and Martin did everything possible to make our stay exceptional. Breakfast was excellent and when we found an anniversary card in our room on our special day it just topped off a great stay.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not find fault with anything, hosts, food and accommodation very good
A lovingly restored bijou bed and breakfast. thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish it could have been longer - will return later in the year. Very centrally placed to visit this part of Devon.

Reviewed by
Gill B

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B in great location.
Right on the front with stunning views, this is a very high quality B & B with great attention to detail.
Hosts were very friendly, bedroom was beautiful and breakfast was yummy.

Reviewed by
k connor

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding experince
I would highly recommend this beautiful accommodation and excellent service.

Reviewed by
S Allen

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in Appledore
Very friendly and hospitable owners. This period house had recently been refurbished, so had a lot of character. Food and service was very good. Remember to bring cash, as payment is not taken at point of booking.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.