No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lopes Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
2 Market Place, , , Westbury, BA13 3DQ
Lopes Arms Hotel is a friendly and welcoming establishment and a perfect place to stay with family, friends or business people. Offering Accommodation and hospitality to individuals throughout the local area, The Lopes Arms Hotel, which is based in Westbury, originally started out in 1596 as the St George and Dragon Inn and has many years of experience in the hotels profession. With a restaurant, bar and rooms available and fully qualified staff, the establishment provides a professional nice atmosphere to individuals. The service is intended to make customers feel welcome, enabling customers to enjoy their stay. Children and animals are also welcome in the bar area and rooms.
Picture of The Lopes Arms Hotel, Westbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late arrival, early departure, no complaints!
Clean, appropriately equipped room. Everything worked, a comfy bed, and a huge TV. Big problem was the music (up to midnight) and the boisterous carousing (until I finally fell asleep at 2.00 am) from the pub across the road. But it was a very hot Friday August night in the centre of town- so what could I expect. Excellent breakfast, charmingly served. The waiter looked as if he had been sleeping rough for a year, but he didn't put me off my breakfast. This was very much a town centre pub, but I felt safe, and unexpectedly well nurtured, which compensated for everything. Would stay again, on my own, for passing through business purposes, as it did the job at a very reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Ros R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont be put off by the look.
The hotel needs much to be spent on it to bring it up to standard. However, the new manager and his staff provided us with excellent and friendly service, the room was clean and comfortable and the food very good. Provision was made for my wife's gluten free requirements.

Reviewed by
Alan P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation 'tired' but clean
Good value for money, but needs some attention to decoration. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good full English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic weekend!
Where to start, very friendly people who made us feel very welcome from the second we walked in the door! The place was very nicely laid out and very clean. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was also lovely, very nice to see old beams still around. Breakfast was brilliant as well.

Reviewed by
M Harrison

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haphazard but friendly
The staff at the Lopes were cheerfully amateurish (the guy who showed me to my room bounded up the stairs while I struggled behind him with three bags, and the woman who showed up after I'd stood around waiting for several minutes laughed and said I should just have shouted) but very friendly - I'd sooner have that than some stony-faced robot in it just for the tip.
The hotel itself is a bit like that too - kind of creaky and all over the place, but cute and charming. You're assaulted by a waft of kitchen grease when you leave your room, but my breakfast was very good and would you really prefer it the other way round? I was also told I had the quietest room in the house, and it was fine overnight, but the din from downstairs all evening long made it very hard to work. (I'd imagine if you wanted to watch telly, read or get it on between the sheets, hearing every word uttered by the kitchen staff would be as off-putting for you as it was for me, too.)
The car park is accessed by a corridor that feels like a portal into the 1950s and is both uneven and almost completely unlit at night. A definite recipe for accidents, so take a torch (or the number of your favourite no-win-no-fee law hack).
I'm making it sound like a hated the Lopes, and yes it has real failings. But it has a real human touch, too. Don't expect perfection, and be chilled to its quirks, and you'll come away smiling.

Reviewed by
alan kidd

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfortable rooms

Reviewed by
carole oliver

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was top class, the room was big, bed was comfy but the bathroom was out dated

Reviewed by
Anthony S

From Bristol , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall a good do
Only let down by baf staff not wanting to serve after 11.45 despite saying midnight cut off. Othewuse a good stay friendly reception & good breakfast.

Reviewed by
andy s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
I stayed at the Lopes Arms Hotel for 4 nights. The breakfast was cooked to order each morning and was very good. My en-suite room was clean with plenty of room. I had no other meals whilst I was staying, but on the Sunday people were arriving early for the carvery. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Yes the building could do with a lick of paint and some of the carpets a bit threadbare in places, but overall my stay was very good and I had no complaints.

Reviewed by
Raymond G

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.