No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pack of Cards

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Pack of Cards, High Street , Combe Martin, EX340ET
Hello and welcome to the Pack o' cards.

Situated in the beautiful seaside village of Combe Martin, the Pack o' Cards Inn is a unique Grade 2* Listed Ancient Monument and has been featured on the Paul Daniels Magic Show on BBC television.

Constructed in 1690 to resemble a deck of cards card castle,it was built to the size of 52ft x 53 ft ,the cards in a pack including a Joker Card, has four floors to represent the suits in a pack,13 doors on each floor,13 fireplaces, the number of cards in a suit, and prior to William Pitts window tax ,the panes of glass in all of the windows added up to the total value of a pack of cards.

Nestling on the edge of Exmoor, Lorna Doone Country,with plenty of free car parking, and less than a 10 minute stroll to the beach and the sea,the Pack o' Cards is the ideal base for your stay in North Devon. All of our bedrooms have been recently refurbished and decorated. And, for that special why not stay in one of the larger rooms ,The Pink Room which is a 4 poster King size bed or The Fuschia Room, also a King size bed with its wonderful ornate ceiling, pure luxury.

We have a fine selection of real ales and lagers, including our own Pack o' Cards ale which is especially brewed for us and is not available anywhere else in the UK, and you can enjoy excellent meals in our 3 restaurants or our riverside garden. there is also 2 playground areas for younger and older children.

So come and visit one of Britain's most unusual follies - it is sure to be a unique experience !
Picture of The Pack of Cards, Combe Martin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday boy.
Made to feel very welcome. Food was great. Good night's sleep.
Made my birthday celebration.

Reviewed by
J Bussell

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Lovely Hotel, staff, food , and owners all excellent A wonderful stay!
Unsure how reviews read as not 100%

Reviewed by
P Mansfield

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would happily come again. Organising a date for next year

Reviewed by
K Berry

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer break
Service at meal times was a bit slow but room was comfortable, staff were friendly and location was excellent.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Bolt Hole
On the main road through Combe Martin, 15 minutes walk with a toddler from the shale beach, the PoC is a friendly hotel-pub where locals and holiday makers can relax in the large landscaped garden. A full range of breakfasts for all tastes and quiet rooms. Large car park and all the facilities. Slightly erratic internet, but we were trying to get away from work etc so not a major issue for us.

Reviewed by
Duncan P

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Combe pleasure
Lovely characterful hotel in a picturesque town.

Reviewed by
H Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room size
room quite small, furniture felt squeezed in as bunk beds also in room. Bed very close to bathroom door and kept knocking my knees on base of bed when passing as not much room. No bath mat first night or toilet paper but saw toilet paper in hall so helped myself. Could see other rooms which were much better and would stay again in bigger room. Otherwise food excellent and staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
carole h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pink Room
Did not get to the hotel until about 10.30 pm, so we were very tired, check in was very quick and efficient, we had the pink room which had a four poster bed (never slept in one before),the bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely nights sleep after a very hectic day. The breakfast we had in the morning was one of the best we have ever had (and I have had a few) so all in all a short but very sweet stay.

Reviewed by
Ricky Bell

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Excellent area close to Combe Martin beach. Rooms are a little dated but food quality, restaurant setting and outdoor area were excellent.
If you passing by but not staying make sure you stop off for food.

Reviewed by
Katarina B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four Poster Fun
Thought we would love the luxury of a four poster bed, and we did. Very comfortable and a good price. Attentive staff made us very welcome. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next