No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pack of Cards

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Pack of Cards, High Street , Combe Martin, EX340ET
Hello and welcome to the Pack o' cards.

Situated in the beautiful seaside village of Combe Martin, the Pack o' Cards Inn is a unique Grade 2* Listed Ancient Monument and has been featured on the Paul Daniels Magic Show on BBC television.

Constructed in 1690 to resemble a deck of cards card castle,it was built to the size of 52ft x 53 ft ,the cards in a pack including a Joker Card, has four floors to represent the suits in a pack,13 doors on each floor,13 fireplaces, the number of cards in a suit, and prior to William Pitts window tax ,the panes of glass in all of the windows added up to the total value of a pack of cards.

Nestling on the edge of Exmoor, Lorna Doone Country,with plenty of free car parking, and less than a 10 minute stroll to the beach and the sea,the Pack o' Cards is the ideal base for your stay in North Devon. All of our bedrooms have been recently refurbished and decorated. And, for that special why not stay in one of the larger rooms ,The Pink Room which is a 4 poster King size bed or The Fuschia Room, also a King size bed with its wonderful ornate ceiling, pure luxury.

We have a fine selection of real ales and lagers, including our own Pack o' Cards ale which is especially brewed for us and is not available anywhere else in the UK, and you can enjoy excellent meals in our 3 restaurants or our riverside garden. there is also 2 playground areas for younger and older children.

So come and visit one of Britain's most unusual follies - it is sure to be a unique experience !
Picture of The Pack of Cards, Combe Martin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pink Room
Did not get to the hotel until about 10.30 pm, so we were very tired, check in was very quick and efficient, we had the pink room which had a four poster bed (never slept in one before),the bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely nights sleep after a very hectic day. The breakfast we had in the morning was one of the best we have ever had (and I have had a few) so all in all a short but very sweet stay.

Reviewed by
Ricky Bell

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Excellent area close to Combe Martin beach. Rooms are a little dated but food quality, restaurant setting and outdoor area were excellent.
If you passing by but not staying make sure you stop off for food.

Reviewed by
Katarina B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four Poster Fun
Thought we would love the luxury of a four poster bed, and we did. Very comfortable and a good price. Attentive staff made us very welcome. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First family break
We took our 7 month old daughter on our first break away and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean and spacious and the pub / restaurant were very child friendly. The pack of cards is ideally located without being too far away from local attractions. We would recommend this place to stay as a couple or family. It really does suit everybody

Reviewed by
L Hadley

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very relaxed and welcoming place.
The Pack of Cards is in a great spot for a peaceful break by the coast. Our room was clean and quiet and you're made to feel at home the moment you arrive. Chris and Debbie are great hosts, they serve a fabulous breakfast and nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely return and recommend it for a great value stay.

Reviewed by
Vikki N

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely experience
My partner and I stayed at The Pack of Cards in Combe Martin in early April. We had one night here and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The room was comfortable, the staff and owners were very friendly and the food was delicious. Would absolutely recommend

Reviewed by
Chris Humphry

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Scenery, Friendly Staff, Lovely Building
My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Pack of Cards B&B. Great value, great food and top top hospitality. The staff were all very friendly and went above and beyond to make you feel welcomed. We would definately recommend Pack of Cards and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
T Quaif

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

november 2013
What a wonderful treat it was to stay at the Pack of Cards. The delux room had plenty of space and was nicely decorated although the bathroom was small, it is due to be upgraded and a comfortable king sized bed ensured a good nights sleep. The food both breakfast and the evening meals were some of the best meals we have tasted in a long time and really good portions. Chris, Debbie and all the staff made us very welcome and could not have been more helpful. We look forward to returning next year.

Reviewed by
carl Anderson

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a really lovely stay at The Pack of Cards while my daughter was on a residential weekend in the area. I was a little worried about travelling alone for the first time but I needn't have been..... I received a very warm welcome from all the staff and felt completely comfortable staying there. The room was well equipped and warm with a tv/dvd player and plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
Alison J

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay.
The bar and clientel made this a unique place to stay. If you prefer the upper end of luxury staying away when a company is paying bear this in mind ? The owners make you feel welcom & the beer makes the eve....lol

Reviewed by
m spry

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next