No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hills Farm

3Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
HILLS FARM, WHITFORD ROAD , AXMINSTER, EX13 7NS
The beautifully converted stone barns are in an area of outstanding natural beauty, nestled high on the hill within 100 acres and overlooking the picturesque Axe Valley with views of the Jurassic Coastline and surrounding countryside.

The three converted barns retain their rustic charm, whilst providing comfortable and clean accommodation at sensible prices. Each one has been individually designed and furnished with en-suite shower rooms and kitchenette that contains fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, crockery & cutlery. We provide bed linen and towels in all barns. We welcome behaved pets, we charge £20.00 for dogs
Picture of Hills Farm, AXMINSTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Hills Farm/the Cranberries
Fantastic views of the area, friendly owners and lovely clean accommodation.

Reviewed by
Samantha P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hills Farm 6/7 October
The accommodation was pleasant, if a little compact, but it was well maintained and clean. The welcome was friendly and the owner was very helpful.

Reviewed by
Mark Denning

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Great Escape

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely

Reviewed by
Lee B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic spot in the country
The views over the valley at Hills Farm were to die for. We received prompt service from the gentleman on reception on our arrival who gave us some tips on where to visit. We were merely passing through for the night on our way to Cornwall, but were extremely pleased with the room and the value for money. It was clean and tastefully decorated, in keeping with the surrounding properties. Good base for those wanting to visit nearby Seaton and Beer, together with Lyme Regis. The door was a beautiful original feature but the lock did not seem totally secure, but given that we had taken few valuables for one night and the area generally, I do not think this is too much of a problem. May have felt more uncomfortable leaving belongings if we were staying for a few days however. Apart from this, the place was fabulous and the lock did not bother us during our short stay.

Reviewed by
Sophie G

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully rustic & well maintained (Rustic 2)
The converted rustic barn was like a miniature cottage! It has a microwave, so plan your cooking around that. When one maintenance job came up it was fixed by the team by the time we got back that evening, and with no fuss made. Although there's a powerful electric heater, I wouldn't recommend winter stays as there's a slight draft from the door. As someone else said in a review it could do with a separate ceiling over the bathroom for privacy. Suitable for couples who aren't shy of each others habits!

Reviewed by
I Mcgee

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
accommodation clean but small things like position of tv and quality of some fittings a let down.i was under the impression that spa facilities were available but that was not the case

Reviewed by
VALERIE W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to escape to
We have stayed here before & couldn't wait to come back, it has everything we needed & is only a short cra journey from Seaton, I love staying here!

Reviewed by
Aron G

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rustic retreat, great location
We stayed in one of the rustic rooms for a wedding we were attending for the weekend. The room is well appointed, nice bed with plenty of room, great kitchenette, and a clean modern bathroom. Parking was a little tricky but that might be because of the renos. Highly recommend staying here for lovely views and great service.

Reviewed by
A Phinney

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hill farm
The bed was extremely comfortable but it felt like a converted cow shed. Bathroom was fine but the catering facilities were basic in the extreme. We just used the kitchen to make a drink. Fine for one night but I wouldn't want to stay any longer. Left early morning just as the builders were about to start work across the yard.

Reviewed by
G Cable

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next