No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blackbird Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
A38 Wellington - Taunton Rd Nr West Buckland, WELLINGTON, TA21 9HX
Phil & Keirsten extend a very warm welcome to you to The Blackbird Inn

With a Double Room costing only £60.00 per couple Bed & Breakfast and as little as £40.00 for a single The Blackbird Inn makes the ideal spot to stay whether it be as a stopover before continuing your journey or a longer stay to explore the beautiful Somerset Countryside.

We are situated on the main A38 and are very easy to find and less than 5 minutes from the M5 motorway.

Famous for food: Our menu offers many of the traditional favourites sourced using local suppliers and using only the finest and freshest ingredients.

Our Bar is very well stocked with 3 Local Real Ales, 2 local Ciders, Stouts, Bitters & 3 Lagers. Plus a comprehensive wine list of wines from around the world as well as lovely Bean to cup coffee.

We are pleased to be able to offer our customers free WiFi.
Picture of The Blackbird Inn, WELLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blackbird Inn
We had an excellent overnight stay on the way down to Cornwall.
Good food and drink.Nice atmosphere in the bar.
Only downside was the noise from the A38 and being careful to cross it to get to the carpark.

Reviewed by
Michael Knight

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, good pub, great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian THOMAS

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and good deal
Friendly people, Nice food, Rooms were enough spacious
Only drawback was the noise of the traffic.

Reviewed by
Nirmal Kurungat

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The Blackbird Inn is to be recommended! !
We arrived at 11pm. and couldn't have had a warmer welcome! !
The room was very comfortable and we felt really at home.
Breakfast the following morning was very nice indeed and the service was excellent.
Nothing was too much trouble! !
If there was an Olympic games for a B&B. The Blackbird would win the Gold medal

Reviewed by
David Pallister

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall value
The Blackbird is looking a bit tired but the landlord provides a good value offering for his cusyomers and I would certainly stay there again whrn needs demand

Reviewed by
Murray H

From Cobham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay on way to Cornwall
Had a really enjoyable overnight stay and thought the food was wonderful.thank you for your warm hospitality from the couple who's son lost his car keys but found out they had been given to taunton police.

Reviewed by
s smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
This is an historical Inn with an interesting pub sign. Good sized room and bathroom. The staff were welcoming. They were also able to provide vegetarian sausage at breakfast when requested. Our room was on the main road but the double glazing was effective. Nice pub where we played Bar Billiards. You do need to walk through the pub or restaurant to access your room. Close to M5, countryside and seaside. Good value.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking for a quick and cheap place to stay whilst my mum and I visited my new born grandaughter in Taunton. Very impressed. Big clean room, food was amazing and all reasonable. Only down side, had to keep bedroom window shut because it was noisy and food in the evening took a little long to serve. But it was all freshly cooked.

Reviewed by
niki c

From gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal base for touring Somerset
Excellent public house bed & breakfast, with the only downside of having to leave the windows open because of the warm weather and having to put up with the noise of the traffic on a busy road outside. Otherwise, extremely warm welcome from the landlord and his wife, excellent breakfast and a very good choice of menu in the restaurant for the evening meal(optional). Would definitely stay at the Blackbird Inn again if we are down that way.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Swansea, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and tired.
Excellent place to stay and recharge the batteries before continuing our journey. The room was a very good size with a big comfortable king size double bed, everything else functioned properly and the whole place was scrupulously clean.
We ate in the restaurant where all the food was freshly prepared the bar and garden served equally well to relieve the stress of the days travel.

Reviewed by
Graeme Stuttaford

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next