No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blackbird Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
A38 Wellington - Taunton Rd Nr West Buckland, WELLINGTON, TA21 9HX
Phil & Keirsten extend a very warm welcome to you to The Blackbird Inn

With a Double Room costing only £60.00 per couple Bed & Breakfast and as little as £40.00 for a single The Blackbird Inn makes the ideal spot to stay whether it be as a stopover before continuing your journey or a longer stay to explore the beautiful Somerset Countryside.

We are situated on the main A38 and are very easy to find and less than 5 minutes from the M5 motorway.

Famous for food: Our menu offers many of the traditional favourites sourced using local suppliers and using only the finest and freshest ingredients.

Our Bar is very well stocked with 3 Local Real Ales, 2 local Ciders, Stouts, Bitters & 3 Lagers. Plus a comprehensive wine list of wines from around the world as well as lovely Bean to cup coffee.

We are pleased to be able to offer our customers free WiFi.
Picture of The Blackbird Inn, WELLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay at the Blackbird inn.
Travelled down from Leeds,stayed overnight at the Blackbird inn,the accomadation was very good,the food in the restaurant was very nice. The young manager, his wife and staff were excellent,and although the inn is on a busy road,with the double glazing,very little noise was heard. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
C TRICKETT

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel with excellent food
When I drove up I thought I was at the wrong place as outside it looks a little rundown. However the friendliness of the greeting and the excellent quality food more than made up for the initial impressions. The accommodation was adequate for guest/house pub accommodation. I am not sure the King bed was actually king - I think it was a double. Check the room rate as well. My bill for the accommodation was more than the quoted rate on laterooms. When I mentioned it, they changed it no problem just something to look out for... However I would recommend and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Valerie B

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blackbird Inn
We had an excellent overnight stay on the way down to Cornwall.
Good food and drink.Nice atmosphere in the bar.
Only downside was the noise from the A38 and being careful to cross it to get to the carpark.

Reviewed by
Michael Knight

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, good pub, great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian THOMAS

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and good deal
Friendly people, Nice food, Rooms were enough spacious
Only drawback was the noise of the traffic.

Reviewed by
Nirmal Kurungat

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The Blackbird Inn is to be recommended! !
We arrived at 11pm. and couldn't have had a warmer welcome! !
The room was very comfortable and we felt really at home.
Breakfast the following morning was very nice indeed and the service was excellent.
Nothing was too much trouble! !
If there was an Olympic games for a B&B. The Blackbird would win the Gold medal

Reviewed by
David Pallister

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall value
The Blackbird is looking a bit tired but the landlord provides a good value offering for his cusyomers and I would certainly stay there again whrn needs demand

Reviewed by
Murray H

From Cobham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay on way to Cornwall
Had a really enjoyable overnight stay and thought the food was wonderful.thank you for your warm hospitality from the couple who's son lost his car keys but found out they had been given to taunton police.

Reviewed by
s smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
This is an historical Inn with an interesting pub sign. Good sized room and bathroom. The staff were welcoming. They were also able to provide vegetarian sausage at breakfast when requested. Our room was on the main road but the double glazing was effective. Nice pub where we played Bar Billiards. You do need to walk through the pub or restaurant to access your room. Close to M5, countryside and seaside. Good value.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking for a quick and cheap place to stay whilst my mum and I visited my new born grandaughter in Taunton. Very impressed. Big clean room, food was amazing and all reasonable. Only down side, had to keep bedroom window shut because it was noisy and food in the evening took a little long to serve. But it was all freshly cooked.

Reviewed by
niki c

From gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next