No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blackbird Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
A38 Wellington - Taunton Rd Nr West Buckland, WELLINGTON, TA21 9HX
Phil & Keirsten extend a very warm welcome to you to The Blackbird Inn

With a Double Room costing only £60.00 per couple Bed & Breakfast and as little as £40.00 for a single The Blackbird Inn makes the ideal spot to stay whether it be as a stopover before continuing your journey or a longer stay to explore the beautiful Somerset Countryside.

We are situated on the main A38 and are very easy to find and less than 5 minutes from the M5 motorway.

Famous for food: Our menu offers many of the traditional favourites sourced using local suppliers and using only the finest and freshest ingredients.

Our Bar is very well stocked with 3 Local Real Ales, 2 local Ciders, Stouts, Bitters & 3 Lagers. Plus a comprehensive wine list of wines from around the world as well as lovely Bean to cup coffee.

We are pleased to be able to offer our customers free WiFi.
Picture of The Blackbird Inn, WELLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice food and hospitality but the road noise is very loud

Reviewed by
M Filby

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over at the Blackbird Inn
Very welcoming on arrival, friendly atmosphere in the bar and restaurant the meal was excellent and the wine very reasonable. Large comfortable room and bed quiet to sleep even though on a main road.
In the morning the young couple who own the establishment were very friendly and relaxed
in their manner providing a choice of breakfast - the full English was first class. I would definitely stay there again. I think they have strived successfully to establish a good business and wish them well together with their beautiful little daughter!

Reviewed by
h holland

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stop
We stayed for only one night on a late night drive arrived at 11pm to a warm & friendly welcome. Clean & comfortable room slept well ready for another long drive the next day. Lovely breakfast far better option than the alternative prem inn type accomodation. Would use again brilliant : )

Reviewed by
T Cox

From Penzance, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only Slept in the room for one night
We had to check in and rush off to a wedding so spent little time at the hotel, what we did see was excelent the owners we very nice the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excelent service very good.

Reviewed by
Brian Fuller

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and welcoming
Booked at very last minute via laterooms, had a warm welcome and friendly service.
The room was very clean. Food was very enjoyable and would happily come and stay here again!

Reviewed by
B Connew

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly throughout stay with excellent food and accomodation

Reviewed by
B Newman

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
We had a lovely 3 nights stay at The Blackbird Inn, being well looked after from arrival to leaving, by everyone at the Inn. Keirsten and Phillip made you feel part of the family, and the bar was a great place to relax, have a quiet meal and a drink,if you did not want to go into the dinning room.
All the meals we had there were of good quality, nicely presented, generous proportions and reasonably priced.
Our bedroom was on the front of the hotel, which overlooked the main A38, but the double glazing did it's job very well, and traffic noise was down to a minimum.

Reviewed by
David Pritchard

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay at the Blackbird inn.
Travelled down from Leeds,stayed overnight at the Blackbird inn,the accomadation was very good,the food in the restaurant was very nice. The young manager, his wife and staff were excellent,and although the inn is on a busy road,with the double glazing,very little noise was heard. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
C TRICKETT

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel with excellent food
When I drove up I thought I was at the wrong place as outside it looks a little rundown. However the friendliness of the greeting and the excellent quality food more than made up for the initial impressions. The accommodation was adequate for guest/house pub accommodation. I am not sure the King bed was actually king - I think it was a double. Check the room rate as well. My bill for the accommodation was more than the quoted rate on laterooms. When I mentioned it, they changed it no problem just something to look out for... However I would recommend and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Valerie B

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blackbird Inn
We had an excellent overnight stay on the way down to Cornwall.
Good food and drink.Nice atmosphere in the bar.
Only downside was the noise from the A38 and being careful to cross it to get to the carpark.

Reviewed by
Michael Knight

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next