No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blackbird Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
A38 Wellington - Taunton Rd Nr West Buckland, WELLINGTON, TA21 9HX
Phil & Keirsten extend a very warm welcome to you to The Blackbird Inn

With a Double Room costing only £60.00 per couple Bed & Breakfast and as little as £40.00 for a single The Blackbird Inn makes the ideal spot to stay whether it be as a stopover before continuing your journey or a longer stay to explore the beautiful Somerset Countryside.

We are situated on the main A38 and are very easy to find and less than 5 minutes from the M5 motorway.

Famous for food: Our menu offers many of the traditional favourites sourced using local suppliers and using only the finest and freshest ingredients.

Our Bar is very well stocked with 3 Local Real Ales, 2 local Ciders, Stouts, Bitters & 3 Lagers. Plus a comprehensive wine list of wines from around the world as well as lovely Bean to cup coffee.

We are pleased to be able to offer our customers free WiFi.
Picture of The Blackbird Inn, WELLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Good to be able to stay somewhere comfortable with good food and beer

Reviewed by
Yvonne Rowse

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean, and with a comfortable bed. Evening meal was good value as was breakfast. Reception was friendly and helpful. Down side was that the car park was on the opposite side of the main A38 and on a bend - so you took your life in your hands when crossing with heavy suitcases.

Reviewed by
R Paragreen

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but excellent value for money
Only stayed i night but would definetly use again: easy parking; comfy bed; nice hot shower. All you need and at good value. Particularly appreciated the packed lunch in lieu of breakfast which was left for me when I left at 6:30 am! Many thanks. Lee

Reviewed by
Lee Harrington

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding value for money
Lovely accomadation, nothing was too much trouble. Very clean and staff very polite and helpful

Reviewed by
laura b

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blackbird Inn- a nice family owne place.
Very friendly staff, extremely good food abit pricy but very nice. Abit of a hazard to get in as car park is on the other side of a relativly busy main road (probably can't be help as land is more than likely limited and listed). Basic rooms with appliances that could need updating. The pub it's self gas plenty of character and gives off a nice vibe. A genuinly nice place for a country get away with Taunton town only 7 miles away.

Reviewed by
N Martin-Ripley

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice food and hospitality but the road noise is very loud

Reviewed by
M Filby

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over at the Blackbird Inn
Very welcoming on arrival, friendly atmosphere in the bar and restaurant the meal was excellent and the wine very reasonable. Large comfortable room and bed quiet to sleep even though on a main road.
In the morning the young couple who own the establishment were very friendly and relaxed
in their manner providing a choice of breakfast - the full English was first class. I would definitely stay there again. I think they have strived successfully to establish a good business and wish them well together with their beautiful little daughter!

Reviewed by
h holland

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stop
We stayed for only one night on a late night drive arrived at 11pm to a warm & friendly welcome. Clean & comfortable room slept well ready for another long drive the next day. Lovely breakfast far better option than the alternative prem inn type accomodation. Would use again brilliant : )

Reviewed by
T Cox

From Penzance, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only Slept in the room for one night
We had to check in and rush off to a wedding so spent little time at the hotel, what we did see was excelent the owners we very nice the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excelent service very good.

Reviewed by
Brian Fuller

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and welcoming
Booked at very last minute via laterooms, had a warm welcome and friendly service.
The room was very clean. Food was very enjoyable and would happily come and stay here again!

Reviewed by
B Connew

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next