Reviews - The Ivy Barn B&B

3

The Ivy Barn, Fore Street Holbeton, South Hams, PL81NA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • John L

  • December 2014

I would Visit Again

The accomodation was very clean and tidy, staff friendly and approachable.

A good breakfast was available continental or full English. But disappointed other meals were not available. Though a Pub and a Restaurant are available nearby which serve an excellent meals. We visited during December and the local sites and ammenities were shut down so we are likely to want to revisit in the spring, summer or autumn. The room was a little chilly for our taste but would not be a problem at other times of the year.

  • laura f

  • November 2014

lovely location, shame about the grumpy male b & b owner

This is a lovely place to visit, the b & b room was nice, clean and warm.

The lady b & b owner was friendly, she gave additional toast when requested after a tasty cooked breakfast and helped us with the finding a nice beach. The down side to staying here is the grumpy male owner, when checking out I said thanks for which he replied with a grunt and no goodbye. After arriving in the pouring down rain in the pitch black with a 4 month old baby I was told that I had to pay an additional £7 (not breaking the bank i know but it is the principle) for a superior room for my dog to stay in (I stated this in the special requests on late rooms and spoke to the owners directly before hand which I wasn't informed) I feel I had no choice as I was in the middle of no where and had already paid a £30 non refundable deposit with a baby. Please be aware when booking.

  • Melanie K

  • August 2014

Lovely breakfast

  • Keith Thompson

  • February 2014

Cosy, comfortable and friendly place to stay

Very nice accommodation and charming hosts.

Excellent breakfast served just as you want it. Spacious, clean and very comfortable room and a lovely traditional pub within easy staggering distance. I have now stayed here twice and will do so again whenever business takes me to this part of the world.

  • n Holloway

  • January 2014

Excellent

Went away with a toddler my partner and my grandparents, Amazed at how clean the family suite was.

Such a lovely location and such lovely people running the ivy barn. We have already discussed returning in the near future and staying for longer. Highly recommended. Comfy, Clean and beautiful. (yummy breakfast too!!!) Thank You

  • Andrew G

  • December 2013

Great family suite.

Great family suite spread over two floors.

Very quiet for those that sleep lightly. Heating just about adequate on a 5 degree December evening. Nice breakfast from friendly owners. Scaldingly hot water (there are signs but watch younger children) made for a lovely shower - but in this room it is definately a sit-down shower as the 2/3 size bath is righ up against the pitch of the converted roof space.

Lovely out of the way village deep in the lovely South Hams - location for film 'International Velvet'. Shame the Real Ale pub the 'Mild May Colours' was closed for the evening. The newer 'Dartmoor Union' Bistro is also closed but wether this is for the winter or forever is unclear. The surrounding area and coastline is gorgeous and has much to offer both walkers and families and the B&B provided much local tourist information.

  • Alan W

  • November 2013

The Ivy Barn

The b&b is a bit off the beaten track, I had to rely on my sat nav to find the accommodation.

As I arrived in the dark and rain it wasn't very clear where the b&b was as its situated behind a pub. The owners were very pleasant and polite. The breakfast in the morning was really good. The room was very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. If you eant to get right away from everything and have the peace and tranquillity of the country side you couldn't go wrong in staying here.

  • Jamie H

  • September 2013

South Hams Village

Lovely quiet village location, with two pubs.

Excellent food in the Dartmoor Union. Simple, clean and tidy rooms with own outside door. Don't worry when you see the bath tap shower, it is powerful and hot, as all showers should be. Good freshly cooked breakfast.