No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 20 at The Kings

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
20 Wood Street, , , Swindon, SN1 4AB
Welcome to 20 At The Kings. Situated at 20 Wood Street in the old town of Swindon, "20 at The Kings" offers something for everyone - day or night. Centrally located between M4 junctions 15 & 16 (directions), our hotel accommodation offers the businessman affordable rooms and convenient access to the major business parks in Swindon. The Kings is within walking distance of the restaurants, nightlife, and local gardens that make the 'Old Town' so special. All en-suite rooms have remote control colour TV, hairdryer, coffee making facilities and direct dial-out. Some of the key feature of our property include, - Bar 20, open all-day, everyday for coffee, food plus all your favourites beers, wines. - Restaurant 20, serving the best modern, European cuisine at lunchtime and dinner - Hotel 20, providing top class accommodation in the heart of Swindon for business & pleasure Our Ballroom is also the ideal venue for weddings, private parties and banquets. PLEASE NOTE that during the weekend we have a regular disco that finishes at 03:00 am in the morning. While the atmosphere is very fun and friendly it can be quite busy and lively up until this time and we hope the impact on your stay will be minimal during these nights. So why not book you're stay at The Kings, a perfect base form exploring Swindon. We look forward to welcoming you. PLEASE NOTE WE DO NOT HAVE A NIGHT PORTER - LATEST CHECK IN IS 11 P.M !
Picture of 20 at The Kings, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a huge waste of time if you expect to be able to sleep
Stayed a saturday and sunday, was kept awake with the disco playing till 3pm and some sort of thumping machine (possibly for ventilation) which sounded as if it was right outside the window, After the disco finished I was woken up 3 times on the saturday night and twice on sunday nights by single males taking females, they had met at the disco,to their rooms. How do I know they had only just met. because I could hear them talking as the came along the passage and past my door. During the rest of the night/ early morning I was woken by drunks going to their rooms.I gave up trying to sleep at 3.30 on saturday and 4.30 on Sunday and sat watching the tv which couldn't be viewed properly as it was on top of a chest of drawers to high to be seen from the bed when lying down, couldn't sit up as pillows too soft to support back. I wasn't told the room wasn't on suite and came back on sunday evening to find the toilet allocated to my room occupied. In the end after 20 minutes I asked a member of staff check no one had collapsed in there. I tried to re book somewhere else but couldn't find any vacancies. Dont stay here if you want to sleep I paid to use a room for sleep and l I got at the most 6 hours sleep in total, a very sore neck and back and a ruined weekend.

Reviewed by
p chambers

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value.
helpful staff, comfortable bed. will certainly stay there again,

Reviewed by
alan b

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy but clean
I had an attic room, which was nicely decorated and was very clean. The bathroom had a very slippery floor though, so beware of walking in socks! The bed was as hard as can be imagined, so I had to sleep on the duvet to make it bearable. The room was at the front of the pub and, while the pub closes at 11pm, that's when nearby nightclubs get going! It's also when taxis and minicabs pull up outside and disgorge noisy customers. Thankfully, I usually carry industrial ear plugs with me (my wife's snoring is legendary) and so I managed a decent night's sleep. One big irritation was having to walk down two flights of stairs, only to be given the wrong wifi password, so I had to come down once more. I don't know why hotels are incapable of handing out the password when you arrive, or making sure it's displayed in the room,. I didn't eat dinner in the hotel (warned off by Trip Advisor) but across the road is a wonderful tapas bar. The breakfast in the pub was excellent though, served by a cheery waitress.
Overall, I probably wouldn't stay there again, because of the bed and road noise, but it's not bad value for the centre of Swindon.

Reviewed by
Kevin G

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms were very clean and the breakfast was everything you would need

Reviewed by
s barrett

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel centrally located in Swindon, the staff are very friendly. The room was clean.
The staff are friendly. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and the food was prepared freshly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
lee winter

From fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check which room your given and who's next door before accepting
The directions to the "parking" were not detailed enough, The room I had was at the back over the rear entrance and outdooring area for next door building and the public carpark. Late night drinkers outside kept me awake till gone 1 as the windows were not double glazed. Then, after getting to sleep I was woken up at 3am by the noisy bed next door which was being "enjoyed by the single paying occupant and their non paying guest.. Not able to get back to sleep I went down for breakfast at 7 as this was the time given when booking in,only to find they wouldn't be serving till 9. On the plus side the breakfast staff were very pleasant and the food was hot and prompt.

Reviewed by
P Chambers

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of Swindons best
Accomodation, service, food; all first class.

Reviewed by
Michael Gilhooley

From Blaydon on Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Missed having a toilet in th room

Reviewed by
Danny Brady

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,
Though our room was on the second floor, and had not yet undergone the 'Hotel Inspector' style makeover the public areas had, this was an advantage as this is a busy and rowdy pub on a Saturday night.
Breakfast was good, and the staff mostly friendly.

Reviewed by
James G

From Arundel, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

totally rubbish hotel, smelly, noisy, all the bad experience, horrible!!!!!

Reviewed by
M Li

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next