Reviews - Steam Packet Inn


St Peters Quay, ,, Totnes, TQ9 5EW

Price From 125.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Phil T

  • August 2015

Misleading advert

We booked this venue based on the detail of the Laterooms listing.

What the listing did not mention was the fact our room faced a noisey construction site and although we were on the second floor, construction workers using power tools were working at and above our bedroom and bathroom window height. The bathroom window was clear glass and the shutter did not cover the top window so you can imagine using the bathroom was extremely uncomfortable the first morning. We did complain and a small curtain was fitted. From here on we had to keep the windows and curtains closed while in the room. While having breakfast on our last morning we were asked permission to access to our room as they were going to put obscure film over the windows. This was a bit late and only resulted in us checking out earlier than planned as we didn't want to share it with a workman. Carrying out work like this while guests are still using the room is not acceptable. Finally our booking clearly shows bed and breakfast included but every morning we were challenged that the booking through Laterooms was room only!. This is the second time this has happened to us using Laterooms this year and is very embarrassing.

  • Hazel W

  • July 2015

Steam Packet Inn

Food, welcome and service are fantastic.

  • Rebecca F

  • July 2015

Super weekend!

We stayed for 2 nights to attend a friends wedding.

We didn't really have any expectations and booked purely on location.

After checking in we were shown to our room, which was clean and inviting, with a lovely king sized bed (and fab luxury bathroom). On our first night we decided to eat in the restaurant downstairs. The food was plentiful and flavoursome and each of our 3 courses were thoroughly enjoyed. The setting was in a bright conservatory over looking the river, which is also where breakfast is served, which again was excellent quality. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We will certainly return as we plan to further explore the South Hams area. Many thanks.

  • norman d

  • June 2015

Steam Packet Inn

Nice room, well-equipped but rather compact at the price.

  • chris h

  • May 2015

Great location,rooms very good ours had a splendid view of the river,high quality suite with large lcd tv,free wifi that works,modern bathroom.Very friendly helpful staff,nice cosy bar.Looking forward to returning in the summer.

  • David B

  • March 2015

overnight stay

shame about the construction site next door, otherwise the building has a nice situation on the river.

  • Christopher W

  • February 2015


My "small" double room was anything but.

The room has been recently been refurbished and is both attractive and comfortable. Beware narrow, steep stairs if this may be a problem.

  • j paul

  • February 2015

Great place to stay

Lovely setting on the river, helpful friendly staff, great food, comfortable modern rooms.

Will definitely be back. Thanks!

  • charles r

  • February 2015

Our double room was great: a very comfortable bed, decent bathroom and great use of the space.

We loved our one night here: such a comfortable bed, decent linen and cosy decor.

The bathroom was well designed and had a fantastic shower. And all this was at a great price, particularly as it is so central in Totnes and yet just a short walk from the High Street so much quieter too.

  • Andrea S

  • December 2014

Steam Packet Inn

Brilliant service, comfortable rooms, loved the open fire in the bar, convenient location, noisy water pipes a bit annoying but would stay again.