No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Steam Packet Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Steam Packet Inn St Peters Quay, Totnes, TQ9 5EW
Welcome to The famous Steam Packet Inn, a family owned pub which has been lovingly refurbished to the highest standard.

Situated right on the banks of the river Dart & just five minutes walk from the centre of the historic town of Totnes, where you will find a warm and friendly welcome, beautifully appointed character bedrooms, a great selection of wines, beers and spirits and mouth watering and tempting menus focusing on local produce especially Devon’s abundant seafood celebrated on our fish specials board.
Picture of Steam Packet Inn, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
I enjoyed my stay but felt the breakfast was ordinary. I would have liked a bowl of chopped fresh fruit for example. The evening meals though were of a very good standard.

Reviewed by
Sandra Orange

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely stay there again
Room was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was lovely. Position on the river in Totnes was great . We paid for B and B but on the second morning but decided to leave before breakfast to miss traffic and they just took the. Breakfast off the bill which I hadn't asked them to do , they just did it and didn't have to. Would definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
linda m

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Wasn't too sure what the accommodation would be like, but found it to be a lovely surprise, a great setting and wonderful accommodation. Will be back for a longer stay next time in the part of the country.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Barry A

From Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magnificent Weekend Away
Stayed for 2 nights as at a wedding in Totnes and thought it was fantastic. Room was great and all the staff really friendly. Lovely setting and right in the centre of everything so we didn't move the car the whole weekend as everything in walking distance. You can relax on the decked area overlooking the river, beautiful setting. Defo go back here.

Reviewed by
V McFarlane

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly inn in lovely riverside setting
This was a lovely stay in a friendly atmosphere. More a pub than a hotel, but the room was beautifully kept.

Reviewed by
Lesley Cohen

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay !
From the time we arrived to departure we (my daughter Stephanie ) and myself had a really lovely stay at The Steam Packet Inn, Totnes. The accommodation was very clean and we loved the stylish bathroom. All the staff we spoke to were very helpful, friendly and professional and really gave the impression that visitors are their top priority.Stephanie has been having health problems and really needed this break so it was a real tonic.......just wish it could have been longer !

Reviewed by
Alison Adams

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We had a fantastic time at the Steam Packet. Highlight was the terrace where you could sit with a coffee or a meal and watch the world go by. Good to have parking as well. Rooms were very clean, albeit on the small side.

Reviewed by
Toby S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made very welcome great staff good food

Reviewed by
Leonard T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Steam packet Inn
Beautifully refurbished rooms with everything you need for a very comfortable stay.
Easy walk into the town and lovely views of the river.
Allocated parking space was good and there is a small ferry across the river
Bit surprised by the cost of the breakfast - £10 each as the room was very reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Roz T

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next