No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Steam Packet Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Steam Packet Inn St Peters Quay, Totnes, TQ9 5EW
Welcome to The famous Steam Packet Inn, a family owned pub which has been lovingly refurbished to the highest standard.

Situated right on the banks of the river Dart & just five minutes walk from the centre of the historic town of Totnes, where you will find a warm and friendly welcome, beautifully appointed character bedrooms, a great selection of wines, beers and spirits and mouth watering and tempting menus focusing on local produce especially Devon’s abundant seafood celebrated on our fish specials board.
Picture of Steam Packet Inn, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Lovely setting on the river, helpful friendly staff, great food, comfortable modern rooms. Will definitely be back. Thanks!

Reviewed by
j paul

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our double room was great: a very comfortable bed, decent bathroom and great use of the space.
We loved our one night here: such a comfortable bed, decent linen and cosy decor. The bathroom was well designed and had a fantastic shower. And all this was at a great price, particularly as it is so central in Totnes and yet just a short walk from the High Street so much quieter too.

Reviewed by
charles r

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
The room is very well appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we were in, on the second floor, was spacious, clean, has a good view and is nice and quiet as the inn is a couple of minutes walk from the noisier town centre. I would go back.

Reviewed by
A Jackson

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Steam Packet Inn
Brilliant service, comfortable rooms, loved the open fire in the bar, convenient location, noisy water pipes a bit annoying but would stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrea S

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family party
The room and service were excellent. Lovely view and facilities. The food was average - fish in batter was soggy and scrambled eggs rubbery. Other members in our party were satisfied with their meal.

Reviewed by
J Rees

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
service,standard of the room,and comfort could not be faulted,the setting is just stunning.overall i would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation to friends and family

Reviewed by
sandra c

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very stylish and comfortable room and bathroom, although rather warm! The heating wasn't on but it was still very warm. All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They made you feel as though nothing would be too much trouble. We enjoyed a tasty light lunch and then a very hearty evening meal which was absolutely delicious, couldn't manage a pudding though! Would love to stay again.

Reviewed by
Lin F

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Needed a room for the night in central Totnes. I've eaten at the pub previously and it always seemed a good option for a B&B stay. The room had a river view, contemporary furnishings, very comfortable bed (though smaller than we're used to), large bathroom with walk-in shower. Might all be a bit cramped for a longer stay and not a room to sit around in, but was fine for our purposes. Would stay again. Didn't eat in the pub or have breakfast (which started too late for us at 09:00)

Reviewed by
Roger C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value

Reviewed by
S AUSTIN

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, staff very helpful and respectful, felt welcome from the minuet that i arived
Room was lovely , well kept and comfortable

Reviewed by
R O'Connor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next