No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fernery

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lydiate Lane, , , Lynton, EX35 6AJ
Welcome to the Fernery Bed and Breakfast! Freshly painted and tastefully refurnished, the new Fernery bed and breakfast is an ideal base for a family holiday, a romantic getaway or a restful break with friends! The Fernery has three newly renovated en suite bedrooms: a superking (which can be arranged as a twin on request), a king, and a little double. The rooms make no pretence as to their size, which is on the small side, but their architectural quirkiness--deriving from the rich structural heritage of a unique period property--lends them a great deal of character. Situated within the beautiful historic centre of Lynton, the Fernery is short walking distance from the Valley of the Rocks, the Lynton/Lynmouth Cliff Railway and the Southwest Coast Path, among other spots! Beyond these local jaunts, visitors will find Exmoor National Park, the scenic coastal villages of Minehead, Porlock and Ilfracombe, the stunning beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton Sands, and much, much more!
Picture of The Fernery, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect mix of old and new
Beautiful old building that has a very contemporary feel inside. We had the smallest room which was tight but had a lovely small ensuite and when it comes to value for money you just couldn't beat it! Breakfast was superb, the owner couldn't do enough for you. Can't wait to go back in the future....

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort at the Mill
Beautiful accommodation in a lovely setting. Very friendly service.

Reviewed by
PIET BAKKER

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best place to Stay
My Wife and I booked this B&B for Our 1st Anniversary, what a amazing place to stay,Jo the owner of the guest house was very welcoming, we were shown our room, absolutely beautiful, clean & tidy, left to settle in and welcomed by a nice cup of tea and a cake lovely. Jo was very helpful with advice of the area, and plenty of options for breakfast which was done to perfection. could not fault our stay in any way, Well Done Jo. keep up the good work, we will return soon.

Reviewed by
D RUSSELL

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super!
A quaint little bed and breakfast ran by one incredibly sweet lady.
We couldn't have asked for more from our room, and were constantly surprised by the personal touches that made our stay a truly welcoming experience.
Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Neil S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect.
Jo is a very nice lady, with an immaculate b&b. Nothing was too much trouble for her and the guest areas were filled with thoughtful touches. The only thing that would have made our stay better, would have been if our children had been away long enough for us to have an extra night! Highly recommend The Fennery, we will certainly be going back.

Reviewed by
Elliott M

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful one night stopover
We stayed here for one night en route from Porlock to Combe Martin whilst walking the South West Coastal Path. We took the easy way up to Lynton from Lynmouth via the cliff railway and were directed to the Fernery by the ticket seller who told us that the proprietor of the B & B was a "lovely lady" - he was not wrong. We were greeted warmly by Jo after a hard days walking, shown to our room and served tea and home made cake!. The standard of the room was excellent and Jo was a great hostess who made us fell right at home. Breakfast with homemade bread was delicious and served in the enchanting 'farmhouse style' breakfast room. Wonderful - thanks Jo!

Reviewed by
Julia D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B and a great host
We really enjoyed our stay at the fernery and would highly recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
Fabian B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful B & B in Lynton.
A wonderful quiet place, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. Superb breakfast.

Reviewed by
E Wickham

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Fernery. Jo was an excellent hostess, very helpful and welcoming. Lovely room and lots of little extras made it a very relaxing break. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and beautifully presented. No hesitation in recommending to anyone looking for a peaceful location.

Reviewed by
Rachel Gibbons

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it and really friendly!
We have stayed in many b&b in the ara and Jo the owner really does a great job. Quality linen and fresh yellow roses gives the small but perfectly suitable bedroom a lovely feel. the breakfast options are great and there is no sense of "what do you mean you want more!". We will deffinately return

Reviewed by
Mandy S

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next