No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rose & Crown Country Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Stoke St Gregory, , , Taunton, TA3 6EW
The Browning family has run this thriving country pub since 1979 and while the menu, staff and decor might have changed over the years the quality of food has remained paramount. Following a devastating fire in March 2008 the pub has been sympathetically restored to a high standard, retaining it's characteristic charm while boasting a contemporary style. Our newly refurbished accommodation in the Rose and Crown can cater for small families, business trips, weekend breaks and overnight travel stops. Each room has en-suite and tea-making facilities and free view colour television There are 3 double rooms and a family suite. Breakfast is included in the overnight price. Produce is locally sourced from quality Westcountry suppliers allowing our experienced chefs to create classic dishes with a modern influence. And with a choice of beautifully-furnished accommodation to choose from, the Rose and Crown is the perfect base for guests exploring the magnificent county of Somerset.
Picture of The Rose & Crown Country Inn, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was cold, dark and wet when we arrived, but we couldn't have been made more welcome.
The room was as described and very warm - like our hostess. AND ..... delicious food and wine!
A really great stay and we recommend it thoroughly.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast outstanding - very helpful hosts - dinner available too - excellent value for money
Loved our short stay here. A good dinner - a refurbished, clean comfortable room, and a first class breakfast. We arrived later than intended and the hosts were very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent - why ? Eggs fresh from the chickens - fresh poached eggs are hard to beat - sausages made by our hosts, gooseberry jam made in the village - fresh croissants - the small things do count. Rural location (Stoke-St-Gregory is a small village very convenient for the M5 but right in the countryside), we were travelling on to Devon so did not spend time walking but I imagine it must be a pleasant base from which to explore the countryside, knowing you can return to the pub for dinner.

Reviewed by
D Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
The title says it all

Reviewed by
martin g

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a find.
I have stayed here a handful of times now, purely for a business stop over. For my needs it exceeds on every level. Peaceful surroundings, very friendly family run, great rooms and the food is fabulous. I cant recommend it enough. I shall be returning as soon as I can.

Reviewed by
Ben Millard

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an excellent pub with rooms, very comfortable, very good value.Worth the detour
See above, This pub is in the Somerset lanes but near to Millfield and to Bristol Airport,Great place too, to break your journey for Cornwall.None of the categories mention the stop off category. I have stayed here 3 or 4 times in the last year visiting my grandson who was at Millfield.The last time I stayed was on Tuesday on return from Cornwall bound for Pembrokeshire

Reviewed by
D Gammon

From Tenby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the jewel in the crown
delightful accommodation discovered as a last minute booking. Whilst a little trek out from Taunton, the surroundings in the middle of the countryside were peaceful. Excellent service and wonderful food, best poached eggs for breakfast. Room has everything you expect from a hotel (space did not allow for a chair though) but in pub surroundings.

Reviewed by
carole d

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
Almost reluctant to share this jewel lest it become so popular I can't book! Fantastic fresh and local food, friendly service above and beyond what one could normally expect, and really comfortable and well-equipped accommodation. Superb.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline S

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Very good room, great food, excellent beer, superb breakfast. Can't really get in to pub before 17:30, number on door to ring if early, but phone in pub and no staff to answer it. Maybe worth mentioning on booking form or pub details. Don't let it put you off, fantastic all round experience.

Reviewed by
A Passfield

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay with excellent food
Very friendly reception and shown to room on arrival. Food choices were fantastic with plenty to select from. I settled for a rib eye steak and it was excellent. Shame I was only there for one night as other dishes I saw being served looked superb. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place for a relaxing night. Lovely location. Very nice quiet room (room 3) comfortable bed, great shower, very pleasant staff with excellent customer service. Ideal with restaurant on site offering great value good quality food in a very pleasant dining area. We used as a stop over before going onto yeovil the next day, will definitely visit again just for a night away.

Reviewed by
LISA JANE

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next