No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tarr Farm Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Exmoor National Park, , , Dulverton, TA22 9PY
"As always you looked after us so well and we are already counting the days to our next visit." "Just wanted to say a big thank you, it was only one night but it was a perfect break. I wish we could have stayed longer." "This is the first holiday I have enjoyed in 30 years. I woke up this morning and thought I was in heaven." "The rooms are very comfortable, warm and very well provisioned with unusual and thoughtful items.Everyone of the staff were so helpful and Chester, our dog was so spoiled.There is a lovely personal touch towards your guests and in such a natural and beautiful enviroment, our stresses were converted into relaxation and peace. Thank you." Our facilities are unsuitable for children under the age of ten as residents unless by prior arrangement. Tarr Farm has recently been awarded the AA 5 star Highly Commended Inn award for 2009-2010, being 1 of only 2 Inn in the UK to achieve this. There are so many ways in which to enjoy Tarr Farm’s incredible surroundings. Exmoor offers some of the most spectacular walking in the country with its beautiful, tranquil moorland and stunning views towards Wales and Dartmoor. Wildlife abounds here with red deer, the famous Exmoor ponies, a thriving bat population and even otters. Bird watchers will find themselves in heaven – Exmoor boasts 243 species of bird. Whatever you’d like to do during your stay at Tarr Farm, we are happy to arrange all activities and transport for you.Cycling, fishing, clay and game shooting, horse riding, off road safaris and much more. Each of the nine rooms at Tarr Farm Inn has been designed to provide every modern comfort. Fresh and contemporary, the bedrooms and bathrooms are generously proportioned and little luxuries such as organic bath products, power showers and full size baths, the fluffiest bathrobes and towels and Egyptian cotton sheets are included. We look forward to welcoming you to Tarr Farm
Picture of Tarr Farm Inn, Dulverton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tarr Farm stopover
Beautiful setting, very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely spotless room. Can't really criticise. ...maybe some background music whilst dining might be nice.

Reviewed by
Joe Carter

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

restful weekend
Very quiet, peaceful surroundings. Comfortable, well equipped room and en-suite. Excellent food, breakfast set us up for the whole day. Polite, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Mandy D

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent... but.
We were very happy with the standard throughout, but we were unnerved at finding in our room what we presumed to be the lockable gun cabinet. As this was housed within an outer wooden cupboard, it would be possible to have this outer cupboard locked [except for valid users] with no-one else any the wiser.

Reviewed by
phil l

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Away from it all
There was no mobile phone reception, which was just perfect as we wanted a few days away from the demands of everyday life. It was an idyllic setting near to Tarr Steps and the room was both luxurious and comfortable. A cafetiere of ground coffee with fresh milk surpassed the standards of most hotels and was my idea of bliss at the end of a day walking on Exmoor. Friendly and attentive staff are a real feature of the hotel

Reviewed by
C de Labat

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect setting for a relaxing break
Booked for a one night break as we have always promised ourselves that one day we would try it out! Not at all disappointed - room beautiful -everything and I mean everything catered for in the way of little extras in the room - nice touches. Ate in the restaurant and decided to try the seafood special set menu - 6 courses for £30. Very tasty and the service was excellent. Comfy large bed in room with fantastic views towards the river. Breakfast was great with selection of help yourself items from the buffet table followed by lovely full English. Couldn't ask for more - will definitely return!

Reviewed by
Denise G

From Moreton in Marsh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable inn in a delightful position and with good food.
This is a comfortable inn in a lovely setting near Tarr Steps across the River Barle.
The rooms are comfortable and the food is excellent.
The service is slightly haphazard but extremely friendly. If one wants to have a punctual breakfast at 8.30 a.m. there is little sign of anyone to serve one.
I have stayed at this inn three times, including this time, and I would certainly return in the future.

Reviewed by
Iain M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Amazing service, amazing room, beautiful location. Highly recommended, every need catered for thoroughly!

Reviewed by
A Dixon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B, fantastic restaurant and setting
My husband and I have been going to Tarr Steps for many years now, but we'd never stayed at the B&B until now. It was absolutely lovely and ideal, as it was quite quiet that night. The staff were all fantastic - genuinely nice, helpful and pleased to see us. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was cozy and warm. We watched Netflix in the room quite a bit that night after dinner - no problem with the broadband (surprisingly, it's faster at Tarr Steps than at our home!). The restaurant was lovely - delicious food and knowledgeable chef who made a very good wine recommendation. We would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A haven of tranquility
Stayed for 5 nights last week with my partner. Would describe Tarr Farm as a haven of tranquillity in a stunningly beautiful location. The Inn is positioned next to the Tarr Steps (a clapper bridge which dates back to medieval times). Spent a very relaxing few days there, plenty to see and explore near by good walks etc, will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Sara M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.