No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kingsway Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
36 Ponsford Road, , , Minehead, TA24 5DY
The Kingsway is an elegant purpose built hotel comprising of spacious bed rooms all with their own private en-suite facilities. It is the wish of the owners to provide a home from home atmosphere and as such the facility is run as a guest house Bed and Breakfast only. Located on a corner plot "The Kingsway" is set within pleasant gardens and lawns within a similarly presented residential area. It is but a short stroll to the sea front and Minehead town centre. A high level of decoration and furnishings throughout create a high standard of accommodation that attracts repeat visits from many of our guests as well as comments on the high level of cleanliness. Minehead is an ancient port as well as a medieval town set at the edge of the exquisite Somerset Exmoor. Here visitors will observe the many attractions that exist within the town and close by surrounding areas within Somerset. Dunster castle is but a 5 minute drive. Porlock, Lynton & Lynmouth is a relatively short distance away where views of the rockiest cliff formations within the UK can be viewed. Other similarly located villages within the Exmoor region as well as the differing array of tourist facilities ensure that Minehead remains popular throughout the autumn and winter periods. The town is ideally suited for all types of visitors more so since the high level of investment undertaken in the area. It provides an evironment for a relaxing stay or as a gateway to the many attractions available. Three types of room are available in the form of double, twin and triple layouts. A large guest dining area is provided where a varied selection of food can be requested for breakfast. Afterwards, guests can relax within the spacious private guest lounge. You will receive a warm welcome from the resident proprietors, Diane and Joe Erfurt who will do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Picture of Kingsway Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place lovely couple liked the way they introduced their selfs by Christian names and asked ours and used through out our stay told us some interesting places to visit full of information would stay here again in the area

Reviewed by
Carol Stokes

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in a pleasant clean place
Friendly atmosphere ... Warm welcome ... Good food and clean tidy place

Reviewed by
Wendy F

From Birmingham , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

School Reunion
I couldn't have been made to feel more at home. Diane & Joe were lovely hosts.
A stonking full English breakfast set me up for the whole of Sunday!!

Reviewed by
John Cutts

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, lovely clean bedroom, food 1st Class, could not expect better.

Reviewed by
S Grubb

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, walking distance to town and sea front
Clean hotel, old fashioned decor with floral curtains and lace. Old portable T.V's. We only had tea & toast for breakfast ( our choice ) but it was poor quality tea and bread. No fruit or yogurts on offer.
Each time we left our room someone would go in and turn the T.V off at the wall ! Prefer our room to feel like ours when we are paying it for it. Although the owners are friendly they were a bit too much for us. Seagulls woke us at 3pm and had no more sleep after that.

Reviewed by
T Hughes

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Guest house
We were made extremely welcome and it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. We arrived on motorcycles in torrential rain and Diane took our wet clothes to dry!

Reviewed by
Gordon Jeffries

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, well furnished, friendly service

ManagementResponse

We wish to thank you for taking time to provide your comments and we are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable.

Reviewed by
M Reynolds

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and welcoming
I expected a hotel from the booking information, but Kingsway is a guest house. The owners were very welcoming. My en suite room with single occupancy was comfortable and quiet. I would have liked a little more choice for breakfast, to include fresh fruit and yogurt for instance. As a vegetarian I was not attracted by the Full English Breakfast, but no doubt this was well cooked, as were the tomatoes and mushrooms I ordered.

ManagementResponse

We wish to thank the reviewer for their comments but would ask others to note that we advertise that we are a purpose built hotel that is run as a guest house. Moreover, fruit and yoghurt is served when asked for, within reason (as advertised in our reception area)???

Reviewed by
Timothy Riggs

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We have been coming to Minehead for over 40 years and found the Kingsway to be the best B&B accommodation in the town. Joe and Dianne were particularly welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. A very enjoyable visit - many thanks.

Reviewed by
A Bremner

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money,great location!!
Booked a triple room for myself,my husband and son bank holiday weekend.We had a wonderful warm and friendly greeting from diane and joe when we arrived,what a super couple!!.Our room was spotless and a really good size.Breakfast was yummy,very fresh and cooked to order.Couldnt fault our stay here and will be returning.

Reviewed by
l kidd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next