No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cannards Well Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Canards Grave Road, , , Shepton Mallet, BA4 4LY
The Cannards Well is to be found on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet (A37) within a mile or so of the Bath and West showground, 2 miles from the Glastonbury festival site and 5 miles from the cathedral city of Wells. Shepton Mallet is a delightful mixture of old and new; a combination of ancient market town and modern indus­trial community, nestling in a fold towards the western edge of the Mendip Hills. We are commited to customer care and offer anything from fresh fish, locally raised beef and pork dishes to traditional pub grub. We offer the areas widest range of ciders and perry's as well as a varied selection of lagers, real ales and an extensive choice of whiskies, cognacs and wines galore. The hotel has 12 en-suite bedrooms and 5 suites on two floors. They are all being constantly updated to maintain today's standards of comfort and convenience and are all tastefully decorated with elegant furnishings and fabrics. All of our rooms have delightful views of the Menip Hills and pleasing aspects over the hotel's countryside surroundings.
Picture of The Cannards Well Hotel, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not pleasant
Room smelled of smoke, Linen of grease

Reviewed by
Izak v

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great reception, the staff were friendly and couldn`t do enough for us. Evening dinner was good, the homemade chips were the best I`ve had in years. Breakfast was very good and made a change to have `proper` sausages. Only marked the cleanliness down slightly as mirrow in bathroom needed a good clean.

Reviewed by
P Westley

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff - makes up for quality of room
First impressions were that we did not hold high hopes for the quality of the hotel accommodation. They were to some extend proved true - however the staff really went out of their way to help and the owner even drove us to the wedding reception we were attending. I would not stay again but I would certainly go there for food and to experience good customer service, that they provide. The room was noisy - so bring ear plugs. Other than that - good beds.

Reviewed by
Simon N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent, the team of people were lovely, made you feel very welcome
Great Value for money, food was excellent, will definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Tina Lord

From Tenbury Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Near enough
Cannard's Well is a food pub with letting rooms. The welcome was great, staff are friendly. Shame about the toenails under the bed and the bed breaking. Would stay here again

Reviewed by
Adrian G

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfortable.
Basic but comfortable. Warm room, but slightly noisy fan running in the early morning.

Reviewed by
N Savage

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely few days away .the manager plus staff are very friendly the food is great and plenty of it we would rate it 9 out 10 and would stay again

Reviewed by
p goodhind

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little tatty but very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
dave b

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Doubled booked
room was doubled booked but was so found another room in the hotel.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cook turned up late for breakfast so cleaner made me breakfast! Because she was doing that the eating area had not been cleaned from the night before.
General appearance could be improved a lot of clutter on view i.e. vacuum cleaners, cleaning products lying across tourist information display in entrance, managers desk in the bar area covered with all office paperwork and computer nothing secure.

Reviewed by
A Atkinson

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate B&B
Room was clean and basic, no hairdryer, wi-fi was intermittent.
Evening meal was very good, breakfast was 7 out of 10.
Would I stay again? probably.

Reviewed by
E Adam

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next