No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dunster Castle Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street, , , Dunster, TA24 6SF
The Dunster Castle Hotel offers contemporary style with traditional comfort at the foot of the historic National Trust property of Dunster Castle, in Exmoor National Park. With 8 individually furnished luxury ensuite bedrooms the hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard offering high quality Exmoor accommodation. The hotel has a Cellar Bar and Squires Restaurant which serve locally produced food. There is a private function room which opens out onto the large back garden area with views towards the Church. The hotel has a large private parking area. The Dunster Castle Hotel prides itself on it’s Exmoor food menu, using locally sourced Somerset Pork, Red Ruby Devon Beef and Exmoor Lamb. We strive to use only the finest local ingredients and pride ourselves on our Daily Fish board. The hotel is ideal for families with children and is ideally positioned to explore the beautiful area of Exmoor National Park with many Exmoor pubs and restaurants close by. Excellent base for walkers, cyclists and varied outdoor activities why not try us for a Short Break.
Picture of Dunster Castle Hotel, Dunster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room and lovely location
We had a lovely time the owners were very friendly and we were upgraded on arrival as it was our anniversary. The room was beautiful and the breakfast was very tasty.

Reviewed by
Kerry W

From Ashill, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Somerset
Beautiful and convenient place to stay.

Reviewed by
Rosemary Earp

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb - Gem Of a Hotel - Excellent Staff, Fantastic Food - Great Location.
The staff were very welcoming and everything about our stay ran very smoothly. Breakfast was excellent (so good we did not need lunch).The dinner menu was good and the dining room has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The hostess, Jo, could not do enough to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a homely stay away from home. Thanks Jo - we look forward to another stay with you in the future.

Reviewed by
Annette Priest

From Usk, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Staff polite and helpful hotel clean and tidy ,room clean and tidy,bathroom clean and tidy water VERY hot
Restaurant clean tidy . My guest and I both had the lamb dish ,cooked to perfection .Never tasted better 5star

Reviewed by
Robert McGregor

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all very friendly at time of our stay .they couldn't do enough for us .

Reviewed by
s southall

From Taunton, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel, friendly staff

Reviewed by
M Sears

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good news and bad news
The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly indeed. Seemed a bit strange that there wasn't a reception desk but you dealt with whoever was behind the bar at the time.. Our room was clean and tidy but very hot so we had to open the window. Not hotel's fault but we were kept awake by the church bells that started at 3 a.m.
We had a lovely breakfast the first day but on the second morning there wasn't any fresh fruit at all which was disappointing. We had one evening meal which was o.k. Overall we wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Parsons

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stay.
We both enjoyed a very pleasant evening in a comfortable well appointed room with an excellent breakfast included. Our evening meal was superb and such good value for money. We shared a baked camembert starter, had two mains and two desserts for just over £50! We would definitely stay here again. All the staff gave outstanding service and could not have been more helpful. Everything was done with a smile. A first class experience all round.

Reviewed by
A Kern

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
The room was comfortable and clean although the flush on the toilet was loose, a window latch was broken and there was a small hole in the bathroom wall. The food (breakfast) was ok but the overall cleanliness wasn't brilliant. Crumbs on the table, marks on plates etc. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were friendly and welcoming but the little things really let them down. Attention to detail can be the difference between a visitor returning or not.

Reviewed by
F Abbott

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel

Reviewed by
Tony Parry

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next