No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dunster Castle Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Dunster Castle Hotel, 5 High Steet, Exmoor National Park, Dunster, TA24 6SF
The Dunster Castle Hotel offers contemporary style with traditional comfort at the foot of the historic National Trust property of Dunster Castle, in Exmoor National Park. With 8 individually furnished luxury ensuite bedrooms the hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard offering high quality Exmoor accommodation. The hotel has a Cellar Bar and Squires Restaurant which serve locally produced food. There is a private function room which opens out onto the large back garden area with views towards the Church. The hotel has a large private parking area. The Dunster Castle Hotel prides itself on it’s Exmoor food menu, using locally sourced Somerset Pork, Red Ruby Devon Beef and Exmoor Lamb. We strive to use only the finest local ingredients and pride ourselves on our Daily Fish board. The hotel is ideal for families with children and is ideally positioned to explore the beautiful area of Exmoor National Park with many Exmoor pubs and restaurants close by. Excellent base for walkers, cyclists and varied outdoor activities why not try us for a Short Break.
Picture of Dunster Castle Hotel, Dunster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good news and bad news
The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly indeed. Seemed a bit strange that there wasn't a reception desk but you dealt with whoever was behind the bar at the time.. Our room was clean and tidy but very hot so we had to open the window. Not hotel's fault but we were kept awake by the church bells that started at 3 a.m.
We had a lovely breakfast the first day but on the second morning there wasn't any fresh fruit at all which was disappointing. We had one evening meal which was o.k. Overall we wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Parsons

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stay.
We both enjoyed a very pleasant evening in a comfortable well appointed room with an excellent breakfast included. Our evening meal was superb and such good value for money. We shared a baked camembert starter, had two mains and two desserts for just over £50! We would definitely stay here again. All the staff gave outstanding service and could not have been more helpful. Everything was done with a smile. A first class experience all round.

Reviewed by
A Kern

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
The room was comfortable and clean although the flush on the toilet was loose, a window latch was broken and there was a small hole in the bathroom wall. The food (breakfast) was ok but the overall cleanliness wasn't brilliant. Crumbs on the table, marks on plates etc. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were friendly and welcoming but the little things really let them down. Attention to detail can be the difference between a visitor returning or not.

Reviewed by
F Abbott

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel

Reviewed by
Tony Parry

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great coaching inn
Enjoyed the driving skill test to get to the car park through the entrance which the old mail coaches used. A overstaying a wedding party from the previous day had delayed room preparation but we were immediately offered a drink in the bar and the room was ready almost immediately. The room had views of the village and the sea which was a bonus and was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good using local suppliers and all the staff were friendly and helpful. An enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
david w

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommend this hotel
Very friendly staff all very helpful, room very comfortable and clean, breakfast and evening food very nice.

Reviewed by
F vassie

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dunster Castle Hotel
A good experience at this hotel. I had a pleasant room with a good ensuite. Some noise was experienced from the road outside but this did not spoil my stay. Good breakfast service from the attentive chef. The car park entrance is narrow so beware if you drive an outsize vehicle.

Reviewed by
Carlton A

From Bucks, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel staff were very obliging nothing too much trouble.We went when weather very hot unfortunately no air conditioning.

Reviewed by
R West

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in picturesque village
Dunster is a fascinating village and Dunster Castle Hotel is right in the middle, close to the castle and all the local shops. The hotel has the distinct advantage of its own private car park. The breakfasts are brilliant and the rooms are well equipped. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth S

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place to relax
The staff at the hotel were polite, courteous and very helpful, sorting out a problem for us immediately. The standard of personal service was very high and we were made to feel very welcome, by both regular local visitors to the bar as well as staff.
We dined at the hotel in the evening and both agreed that the food was exquisite; an interesting menu, beautifully served.
We fully intend to return as soon as we can, to explore a little more of the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Christine Breckell

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next