No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shrubbery Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
17 Commercial Road, , , Shepton Mallet, BA4 5BU
If you are looking to enjoy good food in a relaxed atmosphere including real fires, The Shrubbery at Shepton Mallet is the ideal venue. New owners took over in December 2011 and have given the bar and restaurant a fresh new look and introduced tasty new menus. Open every day of the week, the restaurant serves everything from morning coffees and nibbles through to wholesome lunches and an a la carte restaurant menu in the evenings. The menus use locally sourced produce and are well-priced. The Shrubbery has 8 rooms, the majority of which are en-suite and can provide conference facilities for business meetings. The Shrubbery also has an extensive garden and terrace maintained to a high level in which to relax.
Picture of The Shrubbery Hotel, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Embarrassing
I booked in and paid then went out for a walk. Upon my return I started to go upstairs to my room when a woman shouted "can I help you". I did not think she was shouting at me but when she shouted again I turned and she shouted yet again. I was extremely embarrassed! I said I was going to my room. She then blamed her staff for not noting my arrival. No apology!
I would not go there again!! Avoid

Reviewed by
A Martin

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis in a desert!
Lovely hotel with all amenities required for a super dinner 🍴 too. Not much to do in Shepton Mallet itself so great to have it all in one place. Bedroom adequate and breakfast similar. We went to Fleet Air Arm Museum the next day and the closeness to vicinity was amazing. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Louise H

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Nice room though a bit small. Lovely breakfast. attentive staff.

Reviewed by
G Goodridge

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room and friendly helpful service.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable . Room was very clean and was fine for our overnight stay .
Breakfast was fine although we had scrambled eggs which came without toast . Then had to toast our bread on the toaster in the dining room while the eggs went cold.
Service was very friendly

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room
breakfast good. would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Neil O

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay at the Shrubbery Hotel, Shepton Mallet
This was a last minute booking and the hotel manager was very accommodating and helpful. He offered to wait if we were not there by the specified time and even provided a sample of his home made ice cream - wish we could have got there in time to eat. I would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
R Wood

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrific little hotel
We stayed one night having travelled down to go to the Bath and West Show. This was such a great find! The staff were friendly and attentive, although busy, and we had a great evening meal. They offered us a "steak deal", which included wine and was fabulous value for money. The Chef is clearly very good and all the dishes (that we had) were home made, generally using local produce where possible. Breakfast was perfect too. We were in a family room, although there were just two of us, which was immaculate and tastefully decorated. It's a charming old, period home, so we readily forgave the slightly noisy plumbing because the hotel has character, as do the staff, and frankly we were made so welcome and had such a nice stay that it would have been churlish to complain about anything!! We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Shaun Andrews

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great

Reviewed by
K Thomas

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, except for an inexplicable lack of curtains.
Everything was very nice, except that the window was covered only by a venetian blind. Even very good venetian blinds can not make a room dark. You need curtains too. I would recommend staying here, but if you like to sleep, check they've added curtains.

Reviewed by
Jonathan P

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next