No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sea View B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
High Bank, (Opposite Visitor Centre), , Porlock, TA24 8NP
Porlock, where wooded cliffs of Exmoor fall steeply down to the open sea. Our house stands between the two.. Featured in the latest "Lonely Planet Devon and Cornwall (Travel Guide)", this old, character property is a few steps from the High Street, on the road out to Porlock Weir: quiet at night, not situated on the A39 road. ‘Four Star’ unique, bijou B&B, fully central heated, in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Off-street parking/other parking facilities close by. Light/airy, 4 rooms en suite, equipped with TV, free Wi-Fi, complimentary refreshment tray, hair dryer, mini fridge, etc. Inside we are an art gallery of oil paintings – many featuring local sites, of historical interest, painted by Sea View’s artist/owner, Tony Kenyon. Extensive library of books you are welcome to peruse and maps/guide books to borrow during your stay. Breakfast (7 - 9am): 20+ hot choices, local fresh produce, homemade bread/preserves, selection of fruit, cereals, juices, yoghurts. Fish/vegetarian options, including our unique ‘Fatty Rascals’. Alternatively, continental breakfast is available in your bedroom. Special diets catered for (home made gluten free bread, etc). Walker's paradise, here all are very welcome – whether muddy, wet or tired, always made to feel at home: comfortable, warm and dry (we even provide blister plasters). Porlock has "Walkers are Welcome" accreditation, with good reason - picturesque coastlines, ½ mile from the South West Coast Path. Also, Coleridge Way, Porlock Weir and Culbone Church (smallest operational church in UK). The village has a variety of shops, restaurants and pubs to cater for most tastes. We also have a village App and our very own weather station. Astronomers: Exmoor National Park is designated the first International Dark Sky Reserve in Europe. Within easy reach are all areas of interest and outstanding beauty, including: castles, medieval villages,
Picture of Sea View B&B, Porlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
What a quirky and interesting guest house. An ideal location for exploring. I particularly enjoyed breakfast with the other guests, all sitting around a large table. Good company and interesting conversation - quite a treat when travelling alone.

Reviewed by
Beverley L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little jewel in sleepy porlock
small it is but most welcoming with a delicious breakfast...for both the vegetarian and the meat eater. it's beautifully sited for a gentle five minute stroll up and down the high street to pubs and eateries. highly recommended.

Reviewed by
a lloyd

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good breakfast
The Sea view is in a historic building with lots of paintings on the walls. The room with twin beds was small but nicely furnished. The breakfast (choice of est. 20 different items), served by the friendly owner was excellent.

Reviewed by
Angelika H

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, comfortable stay
I had a very relaxed and relaxing stay - lovely welcome, helpful local guidance and comfortable room. It suited my needs very well as someone travelling alone, using public transport and having a couple of days to explore the (very beautiful) area and do some walking.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very attractive single room with sea view in picturesque village
very good value for money. Food was v good and prepared exactly to guest's requirements. The location is marvellous for those who enjoy walking, the outdoors and peace - spectacular scenery. I would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
DEBORAH T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for Coast Path
Perfectly placed for the South West Coast Path. Bus stops right outside and just down the road for Minehead and Lynmouth. Free parking and just off the main road so not much road noise but still close to places to eat. I had the front single room which was large and comfortable. Breakfast selection was huge but can have as much or as little as wanted.
Wonderful old building and Gill was the perfect host.

Reviewed by
Nina H

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
I had a very pleasant weekend, landlady, Gill, was most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The homely atmosphere and uniqueness of the Seaview gets my vote. Ted the labrador was also very welcoming. I highly recommend the Seaview, it's a great place to stay and to explore the beautiful surroundings.

Reviewed by
Jane Gardiner

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Such a beautiful place, wonderful B n B and such great hosts in Gill and Tony, Such a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and wow, superb breakfast, so many choices !

Reviewed by
helen willis

From Par, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service would recommend this hotel
The Landlady could not do enough for me fantasic service food was brilliant.Going to take my family there.

Reviewed by
Trevor Primett

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect runners retreat for the weekend!
My girlfriend and I made a last minute booking for a weekend away in Porlock as somewhere new to visit with coastal paths and green hills so that we could incorporate an 18 mile training run into our break - we weren't disappointed!
We were made fantastically welcome by the owner of the B&B - Gill is one of the friendliest and most helpful people you could hope to meet; nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was fabulous and filling and I was even able to put my compression sock ice packs in the freezer ready for after our run!
The B&B was cosy and it was extra lovely having a log fire burning at breakfast in the morning.
The Top Ship pub is a minutes walk and serves good sized portions of wholesome food - we went there both nights for ease and were not disappointed. Some great beers available such as Proper Job and Otter so I was very happy.

Reviewed by
D Habershon-Butcher

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next