No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sea View B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
High Bank, (Opposite Visitor Centre), , Porlock, TA24 8NP
Porlock, where wooded cliffs of Exmoor fall steeply down to the open sea. Our house stands between the two.. Featured in the latest "Lonely Planet Devon and Cornwall (Travel Guide)", this old, character property is a few steps from the High Street, on the road out to Porlock Weir: quiet at night, not situated on the A39 road. ‘Four Star’ unique, bijou B&B, fully central heated, in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Off-street parking/other parking facilities close by. Light/airy, 4 rooms en suite, equipped with TV, free Wi-Fi, complimentary refreshment tray, hair dryer, mini fridge, etc. Inside we are an art gallery of oil paintings – many featuring local sites, of historical interest, painted by Sea View’s artist/owner, Tony Kenyon. Extensive library of books you are welcome to peruse and maps/guide books to borrow during your stay. Breakfast (7 - 9am): 20+ hot choices, local fresh produce, homemade bread/preserves, selection of fruit, cereals, juices, yoghurts. Fish/vegetarian options, including our unique ‘Fatty Rascals’. Alternatively, continental breakfast is available in your bedroom. Special diets catered for (home made gluten free bread, etc). Walker's paradise, here all are very welcome – whether muddy, wet or tired, always made to feel at home: comfortable, warm and dry (we even provide blister plasters). Porlock has "Walkers are Welcome" accreditation, with good reason - picturesque coastlines, ½ mile from the South West Coast Path. Also, Coleridge Way, Porlock Weir and Culbone Church (smallest operational church in UK). The village has a variety of shops, restaurants and pubs to cater for most tastes. We also have a village App and our very own weather station. Astronomers: Exmoor National Park is designated the first International Dark Sky Reserve in Europe. Within easy reach are all areas of interest and outstanding beauty, including: castles, medieval villages,
Picture of Sea View B&B, Porlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly b&b in beautiful country village
The house was full of character and the host was very friendly. Breakfast was great, homemade bread and jams plus locally sourced produce, huge selection to choose from. We stayed in the twin at the top of the house, the room is very small, with the two beds in we struggled to get around the room, however for our 2 day stay this wasn't a huge problem and the price was reasonable. Shower was adequate, most of the time we had hot water which is most important, pressure not great but then this is the top of an old house so as expected. If you want a power shower; stay at the travel inn! We had a lovely time, the area is stunning. Great pub just behind the b&b, The Top Ship, lovely food and local cider and ale. Make sure you visit Porlock Weir where you can go to the 'Bottom Ship' pub and marvel at the scenery whilst breathing in that sea air!

Reviewed by
Sarah J

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

homely b and b

Reviewed by
claire e

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
What a quirky and interesting guest house. An ideal location for exploring. I particularly enjoyed breakfast with the other guests, all sitting around a large table. Good company and interesting conversation - quite a treat when travelling alone.

Reviewed by
Beverley L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little jewel in sleepy porlock
small it is but most welcoming with a delicious breakfast...for both the vegetarian and the meat eater. it's beautifully sited for a gentle five minute stroll up and down the high street to pubs and eateries. highly recommended.

Reviewed by
a lloyd

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good breakfast
The Sea view is in a historic building with lots of paintings on the walls. The room with twin beds was small but nicely furnished. The breakfast (choice of est. 20 different items), served by the friendly owner was excellent.

Reviewed by
Angelika H

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, comfortable stay
I had a very relaxed and relaxing stay - lovely welcome, helpful local guidance and comfortable room. It suited my needs very well as someone travelling alone, using public transport and having a couple of days to explore the (very beautiful) area and do some walking.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very attractive single room with sea view in picturesque village
very good value for money. Food was v good and prepared exactly to guest's requirements. The location is marvellous for those who enjoy walking, the outdoors and peace - spectacular scenery. I would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
DEBORAH T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for Coast Path
Perfectly placed for the South West Coast Path. Bus stops right outside and just down the road for Minehead and Lynmouth. Free parking and just off the main road so not much road noise but still close to places to eat. I had the front single room which was large and comfortable. Breakfast selection was huge but can have as much or as little as wanted.
Wonderful old building and Gill was the perfect host.

Reviewed by
Nina H

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
I had a very pleasant weekend, landlady, Gill, was most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The homely atmosphere and uniqueness of the Seaview gets my vote. Ted the labrador was also very welcoming. I highly recommend the Seaview, it's a great place to stay and to explore the beautiful surroundings.

Reviewed by
Jane Gardiner

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Such a beautiful place, wonderful B n B and such great hosts in Gill and Tony, Such a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and wow, superb breakfast, so many choices !

Reviewed by
helen willis

From Par, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next