No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Montacute Country Tearooms B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1 South Street, Montacute, , Yeovil, TA15 6XD
Montacute Country Tearooms is a listed Georgian Property situated in the centre of the quiet picturesque village of Montacute, yet only a few minutes drive away from the amenities and businesses in the town of Yeovil and the main A303 trunk road. This period property combines character with modern facilities including power showers and free wi-fi in a relaxed atmosphere. The village is surrounded by lovely countryside Ideal for walking and cycling. Its Residents live the longest in the country! All the bedrooms are decorated in a co-ordinated neutral décor and equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, clock alarms, hairdryers and flat screen TV’s with freeview and a DVD player. The en-suite bedrooms are situated to the rear garden side looking towards the trees of Montacute Park (National Trust). The en-suites have power showers, w.c.’s and wash basins. Breakfast is served in the tearooms, in the summer in our delightful conservatory. Choice of breakfast comprises fruit juice, fresh fruit, prunes, yoghurts, cereals, cooked items including traditional English breakfast and toast with preserves and honey. We serve lunches in the summer in the tearooms & garden. Packed lunches also available. Being connected to the well-known TV Radio Toy Museum, the tearooms are uniquely decorated with pictures and nostalgic items that will bring back memories of your favourite TV programmes. Two inns in the village provide evening meals. There are delightful walks some through National Trust grounds and woods and the adjacent Ham Hill National Park. We are also on the South Somerset cycle route. Several National Trust properties and gardens are close by including Montacute House in the village. The house and village were used in the filming of Jane Austen’s ‘Sense and Sensibility’. Fleet Air Arm Museum and Haynes Motor Museum are close by. There are a number of golf coursecourses in the area and horse racing at Wincanton, the beaches of the Jurassic coast are only 45 mins away.
Picture of Montacute Country Tearooms B&B, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely B&B, all we could ask for really. Pleasant owners, a very clean and comfortable room, plenty of choice for breakfast and a fair price. Montacute is a very pretty village, with good walks in the area and a choice of two pubs to eat at for supper or lunch.

Reviewed by
L Farrell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our visit to Mandecote tea rooms
We found the hosts very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Although not a large bedroom with en suite, all amenities were there and everything was very clean.The breakfasts were lovely.
If we are in area again, we will definitely stay a Mandecote tea Rooms.
Mick pescod

Reviewed by
Michael Pescod

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant location
Montacute is a beautiful old village. Lots of history, very relaxed and friendly. The Tea Rooms have a central location, easy to walk to any amenity eg. Post office, Pubs Montacute house. Our impressions were mainly how quiet and peaceful the place was even in high season. the tea rooms were very clean, very interesting with lovely food. Our room had everything we needed from a very large comfortable bed to Real milk for tea and coffee of which there was a wide choice. The weather being hot we had a fan too.
Our hosts were also warm friendly and very helpful. I will definitely be returning and I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Reviewed by
Erica D

From Llandysul, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet village stay
The Montacute Tea Rooms B&B provided a wonderful night of accommodation in a clean and very quiet environment.
Easy to find, very friendly staff and parking right outside.
The room was comfortable and of a very high standard. Breakfast in the morning was taken in the large sunny conservatory and proved the perfect start to the day.

Reviewed by
Simon Harrison

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montracut tea rooms B+B
Superb accommodation , really enjoyed the stay , It was only one night but I plan to go back and stay longer.

Reviewed by
Keith Copple

From Needham Market, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B and B in TV and Radio museum!
Very welcoming and well situated in this charming Somerset village. The only reservation is that the single room I occupied was very small and dark. With the Late Rooms price this was acceptable. I wouldn't want to have paid full whack. The museum is fascinating and the themed tea room and shop add a delightful sense of English eccentricity. DId Jack the Ripper really write an autobiography and was it found here amongst the papers of the creator of Larry the Lamb? Fascinating stuff.

Reviewed by
Michael E

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

step back in time
Very clean and welcoming nothing any trouble the museum is a must do will take u back in time would stay again without any thought

Reviewed by
M Oliver

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guests r us
I had no idea it was a Toy museum and shop and TIC and entertainers thrown in for free! We booked because of the beautiful village and good vfm. What a treat! Good enough en suite rooms and nothing too much trouble breakfast and general service from very friendly welcoming couple. Full marks

Reviewed by
Jim S

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, and friendly, thoughtful service

Reviewed by
Anthony P

From Altadena, USA
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a peaceful step back in time.
My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay here. The people were lovely, the accommodation was excellent and the nostalgia priceless. The lady of the house was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Her husband, who runs the TV and radio museum, was extremely approachable and a very warm character as well. The village is so picturesque and Montacute house, just off from the centre of the village is lovely. I heartily recommend staying here and, if you do, please be sure to go into the museum itself as it is incredibly interesting and memory provoking. Lovely people, lovely setting, just a lovely place to stay!

Reviewed by
Sean Curtis

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next