No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Chapel

4สไตล์เฉพาะตัว ที่พักพร้อมอาหารเช้า Ratings explained
9 Breach Lane, , , Shaftesbury, SP7 8LE
The Old Chapel is situated at the foot of Castle Hill in Shaftesbury, which is an ancient Saxon hilltop town set in Thomas Hardy country with many places of historic interest in and around the area. This makes Shaftesbury an ideal centre from which to explore Dorset, Wiltshire and Somerset. The Chapel was built in 1827 and extended in 1868 to double its original size. It became a private dwelling in 1985 and has recently been totally renovated and extended to be a comfortable family home. As a family run Bed & Breakfast we look forward to offering you a warm and friendly welcome to our home, and to making your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable experience.
Picture of The Old Chapel, Shaftesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

catch up with friends
Met friends halfway from Cambridge and Tavistock
excellent spot wonderful place and excellent rapport

Reviewed by
Sue d

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable accommodation with excellent friendly hosts.
We really enjoyed our stay in this beautifully refurbished church. The bedroom was very comfortable and well furnished. The lounge has superb views which we enjoyed after very good supper at local pub just 100 yards down the road. Breakfast was excellent with much choice of very fresh and well cooked food.

Reviewed by
Derek D

From St Helier, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 Stars
5 star service in 5 star accommodation. The current owners', Chris and Sue, have made a lovely conversion of the old chapel giving guests a first class room on the same floor as the breakfast room and guests' sitting room from which the views to the Mendips are, particularly at sunset, quite stunning. Their greeting and subsequent service was of a commensurate high standard.
A short walk to a friendly pub, The Fountain, with good food, and a charming town centre, completes a very satisfactory visit.

Reviewed by
Michael T

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
This couple run b&b was absolutely fantastic. Beautiful settings and fantastic breakfast. I would highly recommend to stay here

Reviewed by
m pearson

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
This is a lovely B&B - very welcoming, with tea and cake on arrival. The 1st floor room was very comfortable with a modern en suite bathroom, and we were able to sit in the nearby lounge which had wonderful views overlooking 3 counties. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, which included lovely fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals, plus several choices for the main breakfast meal from a menu. The Old Chapel is beautifully converted, and we very much look forward to our next visit!

Reviewed by
L Lord

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B I've ever stayed in
Immaculately clean and stylish rooms with jawdropping view from the lounge.
Breakfast was as fresh as I've ever had in a B&B, with local produce used. Fresh strawberries, blueberries etc with cereal and warm croissant were 5 star touches.
The B&B owners/hosts were very warm and pleasant. I was down in the Shatfesbury for work but I forgot that when I was in the Old Chapel as it felt more like a nice weekend break.

Reviewed by
syed n

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Warm Welcome and an Unforgettable Experience!
This was a very beautiful chapel renovation. The views from the rear upstairs lounge were to die for. Our room was excellent and the ensuite bathroom was of the highest standard. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was superb. Phil and Sue were warm and welcoming hosts and we felt immediately at home.We would highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone and we will certainly be visiting again in the future.

Reviewed by
Carole Luff

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.