No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westwood House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
29 High West Street, , , Dorchester, DT1 1UP
We have a superb location being centrally situated in the historic county town of Dorchester. Westwood House is an attractive, Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven ensuite bedrooms all individually styled and furnished to give a high level of comfort. All are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Westwood House, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable hotel and very welcoming host.
Very good sized room, huge bed, nice bathroom.
Parking a bit of a problem (on street)

Reviewed by
Judith F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located hotel
The hotel was in good position for all amenities and attractions in centre of town.It was clean well decorated with personal touches such as ironing board iron sewing kit luggage scales and
other useful items.The breakfast had a large selection of cereals fruit and preserves ,and full English breakfast using locally sourced produce
Our room had a little sitting room attached which was novel.
The only downside was that the bathroom had a damp musty smell .There were a few holes in the floors under the carpets in some areas,but we would certainly stop there again

Reviewed by
S Beckett

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome, lovely place,very comfortable bed and a beautiful breakfast! Thank you Tom!!

Reviewed by
I KHAN

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and great hosts, an Aussie and a Kiwi ,

Reviewed by
Alan Kidd

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply excellent
Perfect service, perfect accommodation and perfect food ...

Reviewed by
Dave G

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, good service, delicious breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Elliott

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Comfortable and Convenient
We were made to feel really at home and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size and having a proper sofa was great. The bathroom was large, quality shower and all looked very new.
We were easily able to walk down the road to nearby restaurants without the need for the car which we left at the carpark a few minutes away. A lovely quality place to stay.

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in Dorchester B&B
Really spacious bedroom and bathroom .Comfortable bed. Excellent choice at breakfast. Proprietors very friendly. Only drawback was the noisy seagulls @ 3:00 in the morning - but nothing could be done about that - lol.

Reviewed by
S Hutchings

From Caerphilly, Wales
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
High recommend this lovely guest house. Warm welcome and thoughtful service throughout my stay. Beautifully decorated and comfortable room. Excellent and generous breakfast. Great, central location to enable you to enjoy all that Dorchester has to offer. I stayed last year and am already looking forward to booking another stay.

Reviewed by
Ella Harris

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place
Stayed at Westwood now a few times and the place is one of the nicest to stay. I travel around a lot with work and stay in many places and you would go a long way to beat the Westwood.
Customer service is excellent and a very friendly couple run the place, rooms big, nicely decorated and clean.
The breakfast service is freshly cooked and the best I have had, try the poached eggs benedict - fabulous

Reviewed by
stephen s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next