No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mariners Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Silver Street, Lyme Regis, DT7 3HS
Formerly a Coaching Inn, this charismatic 17th century building has been lovingly renovated to retain its historic character married with contemporary fittings and the latest technology, a seamless blend with majestic period features. There are fourteen comfortable guest rooms – all en-suite – and many boast inspiring views of the sea.

We have a seperate bar, lounge and restaurant, this can be hired for private functions, and beautiful sea view gardens complete with summer house. Our restaurant has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence since 2009 to present day. Our chef prides himself on using the wealth of fine ingredients that the west country offers. Dorset lamb and beef, pork from west country farms, and fresh local fish caught in the Lyme Bay.

The hotel is available for private functions, wedding receptions, birthdays, and other events.
Picture of The Mariners Hotel, Lyme Regis at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night in Lyme Regis
The Mariners was cosy and old fashioned, but in a nice way.
The dining experience was very quaint and made a nice change from London life.
The food was great and the service faultless.

Reviewed by
a noble

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough but not again for us
Staff polite and friendly. Breakfast very good. Didn't dine at the hotel as we prefer a livelier atmosphere so went into town each night. Our bed was comfortable but we were awoken too early by noise from adjacent room and the room above. The curtains are so light that they might as well not be there. The kettle cable didn't reach the socket from the table so I had to put it on the floor to boil it. It worked intermittently and needs to be replaced.

Reviewed by
corinne M

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Promised much but failed to achieve
The hotel has a great location and in most respects offers a great deal. Location is good so too is car parking. However the rooms are small and ours was not well maintained. Blinds were poor and held in place by ageing Velcro, many light bulbs had failed and not been replaced. Staff were OK but in respect to the restaurant the service differed from acceptable to un-attentive. More importantly the quality of food did not meet the expectations so highly promoted. Evening meals differed from good to very poor and comments made by us were met with indifference. The hotel has so much to offer but just fails to fulfill its potential.

Reviewed by
F Johns

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Night
A good overnight stay, clean and with a particularly comfortable bed. Breakfast good and very generous!
Would stay again if in Lyme Regis

Reviewed by
Sandy Riley

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful and friendly, food was good , but same menu every night. Room was a bit grubby, thick dust on shelves in bathroom and dust on bathroom floor behind the door and on bedside tables. Crumbs on floor of the dining room for duration of stay.

Reviewed by
Janet T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mixed feelings
Limited facilities, but superb lounge overlooking Lyme bay. Dining room also nice, but food cooking not up to the standard of a four star Rosette awarded hotel in my view, (i.e.often overcooked).
Bedroom small but spotless clean. No lift and steep stairs - not so suitable for those getting on in years. Car park across the road from hotel. Location up a hill from the town so car necessary, although there is an hourly bus service.

Reviewed by
c slater

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel - quiet, comfortable room with a view, good lounge area, friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Maureen H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mariners Hotel
A little gem of a place with friendly helpful staff, a great location and excellent bar and dining. I am only sorry that I stayed one night.

Reviewed by
R James

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and spotless room.
Warm welcome on arrival and shown to a very clean and well presented economy room (no sea view), cannot comment on evening meal as I didn't eat in, but breakfast was good and plenty of choice.
Thought that the Sea View rooms were a little expensive for January but but very pleased with the economy room and price.

Reviewed by
R Mason

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a weekend in Lyme
Room was nice and warm with everything up you need for a hotel. Nice size room and pleasantly decorated. Delicious breakfast, with lots of choice. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Abigail Carberry

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next