No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Marlborough , Salcombe, TQ7 3RN
Set in the picturesque village of Malborough, The Lodge is positioned between the coastal resorts of Salcombe and Hope Cove, known for their beaches, coastal paths and scenic views. Free on-site parking is provided, as well as a garden with sun loungers.

The Lodge operates on a self-service basis. Prior to arrival, guests will be provide with all the necessary information to access their accomodation. Local staff are available on call for any of your requirements.

Each of the en-suite rooms are comfortable and well appointed and they include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with Sky Channels, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. A complementary DVD library and a computer room with internet connection are available to use on request.

Hope Cove and Salcome can both be reached within a 10-minute drive, the latter of which lies within the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Guests can enjoy pleasure sailing, yachting and hiking in these areas.
Picture of Lodge Hotel, Salcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 48% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms were clean and comfortable sitting areas comfortable Had we been able to eat and drink at the hotel we would have rated it higher This was the first hotel we stayed in that had no reception and did not see anyone else all the time we were there.

Reviewed by
Ann Perry

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and quiet hotel
We had a pleasant overnight stay, easy to get to both kingsbridge and salcombe. Not easy to find car park or way in, this should be texted along with key code beforehand. Nice communal areas. Hairdryer had a sticky handle and was covered in hairs which was off putting but otherwise immaculate.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed, the room had a damp smell and paint was peeling off the walls. No greeting. We had to wake another guest to let us in as they failed to give us the door code. Poor!

Reviewed by
P Gould

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why did I pick this place
This is 1 of the worst Hotels I have stayed in. There were no facilities available, other than the TV (with poor reception) in the room, the shower/toilet, and the Tea/Coffee making facility with sour milk & no staff there to complain to. No evening meal or breakfast available. How can this be called a Hotel? Please don't stay here, you will be sorry.

Reviewed by
Ken D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lodge Hotel was un-manned so I couldn't comment on customer service, although they were prompt to let us know how to enter and gave us an emergency mobile number to ring in case anything went wrong. The room was really comfortable and clean, the only problem being the toilet was a bit reluctant to flush! It would have been nice to have breakfast included in the room rate, but we were aware when we booked that there was no breakfast, so that was our choice. Overall a nice hotel in a lovely village.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Willsher

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly as descibed great location

Reviewed by
D Hearn

From Portsmouth , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NEVER AGAIN!
This is not a hotel, it is an unclean deserted house, where for the entire stay we saw no members of staff, slept in a filthy room and if the owners would return my emails, would be attempting to get my money back.

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced No staff but we knew that milk in rooms out of date
Overpriced as had to buy own food
Knew no staff but said food help yourself wasn't any ?
Milk maids all were out if date emailed to change them
Reply came after we'd returned home
Clean tidy liked hotel room freedom but costly for no breakfast

Reviewed by
C Tait

From Ferndown , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bizarre experience
This was the most bizarre hotel experience I've ever encountered. From reading previous reviews I knew the hotel was unstaffed but we got no prior notice of what to do on arrival.
When we did arrive the hotel was unlocked and the keys to all rooms were on the reception desk. Surely not great security. There were two mobile numbers listed that you could call for assistance. Two problems - mobile reception is very, very patchy in the area but worse when I did get some there was no response from either number. Left messages on both numbers but didn't get a call back from either.
Eventually we just took all the keys, checked every room and chose the one we liked best. We chose room 7 - a family for us and our 3 year old daughter. Room was very clean but very small. Diuble bed was tiny and we didn't sleep well. The worst part though was the horrendous siund the toilet made every time we used it. Had to be heard to be believed.

Reviewed by
Benjamin F

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stay

Reviewed by
N Piper

From PLYMOUTH, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next