No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Number One

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 Windsor Villas Lockyer Street The Hoe, , , Plymouth, PL1 2QD
A warm and & friendly welcome awaits you at:Number One Guest Accommodation. Designed by renowned architect John Foulston (circa 1850) this impressive, newly refurbished regency villa offers elegant en suite accommodation, ideally situated on Plymouth Hoe. Only a few minutes walk from the heart of the City centre, historic Barbican and rail & coach stations. Elegant Victorian building located in the Plymouth Hoe area, close to all local amenities, with free parking for guests. All rooms are en-suite and have been recently refurbished. Each room has a new flat screen TV with freeview and tea/coffee facilities. A full English breakfast with alternatives is served every morning. Free WI-FI is available. Perfect for business trips, short breaks or as a convenient base for your holiday in Devon & Cornwall.
Picture of Number One, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Great little room, great location. Staff friendly and really helpful. Cooked breakfast was good quality and just what you need after a visit to the Barbican the night before!!
Would stay again

ManagementResponse

We’re very happy to hear you had a good stay. Thank you for letting us, and future guests, know. Erica

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Hotel ideally situated for all the amenities that Plymouth has to offer. Room was clean but rather dated. Water was temperamental in bathroom. A couple of times it ran out! Bed comfortable. Lovely breakfast though felt a little rushed.

ManagementResponse

You were clearly underwhelmed by your experience with us and I’m sorry to hear that. We had some upgrading works done during the week which required the water to be switched off and it was a little spluttery from some taps the day after (big old house, very long pipe runs!), however it should have been nothing more than a few splutters and if that wasn’t the case we’d have welcomed the opportunity to resolve the issue for you during your stay. When it’s a busy breakfast service we aim to do all the rushing ourselves so that you don’t have to and so, while from other guest’s feedback I think we generally succeed in giving the good customer service that we aim for, I’m very sorry if we fell short of those high standards for you. Erica

Reviewed by
N Skinner

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I was looking for. Clean & comfortable, with no added frills.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for using LateRooms.comThank you for your review, we aim to get the B&B basics right for all our guests: a comfortable bed and decent breakfast delivered with good service. Hope to see you again Erica Number One, Plymouth

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tomy Run
Very clean and well present accommodation. Service and food excellent

Reviewed by
Roger Croft

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply the best
The weekend away was so that my son could visit Plymouth University open day. I booked a twin room at Number 1, what can I say but what a wonderful place gem of a place to stay. It is close to the centre of town and also The Hoe. Free parking is also a bonus. The staff are friendly and very helpful. My son loved the breakfast and said the eggs were wonderful which is high praise indeed as he is exceptionally fussy. The Number ! is faultless and am currently working out when I can go back. It felt more like going to visit friends than staying a a guest house.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for sharing your experience at Number One, we’re very happy to hear it was a good one. I hope your other university open days are as productive but that your son chooses Plymouth and we see you again! Regards Erica

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My only comment is the inconsiderate person in the room next to ours. Banging the door in early hours of the morning and then having the television on so it could be heard in our room. Also the workers that banged their car doors just after 6:30 every morning, as our room overlooked the car park, quiet was not what we got.

ManagementResponse

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and rated us highly in all respects. I’m sorry you were disturbed by a neighbouring room; while guests’ behaviour is not under our control we do encourage anyone coming in late at night or departing early in the morning to be considerate to other guests by keeping noise levels down when coming/going. As you were staying a number of nights, as was your neighbour, I would have been happy to speak to them on your behalf. If we are fortunate enough for you to book a return visit, you are welcome to speak to me in advance about room selections. Regards Erica

Reviewed by
angela a

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
My wife and I wanted a base to travel around the south devon and cornwall coast. We were very pleased with the ideally placed Number One guest house, just a two minute walk from Plymouth Hoe. Car park for guests at the rear of the property was a bonus. The rooms were perfectly adequate and comfortable and very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, the tea, coffee and milk replenished daily. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. Cooked breakfasts were excellent and always hot.If I was to stay in Plymouth again, I would stay here. Great value for money.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us at Number One. We’re very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Erica

Reviewed by
L Cain

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant welcome and stay
Excellent location close to the bay in easy reach of most areas of interest; with helpful free parking.
Good value for money room - especially in the summer. Expecting to be down for more work and will look to re-book.

Reviewed by
Julian C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definitely go back
Great little hotel, ideal location in Plymouth for all attractions. Clean rooms , friendly staff. Reasonably priced accommodation. Will use again.

Reviewed by
steve w

From Braunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant find!!
Excellent rooms and food. Ideal position as well for seeing Plymouth at its best!

Reviewed by
R Cobb

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next