No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Number One

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 Windsor Villas Lockyer Street The Hoe, , , Plymouth, PL1 2QD
A warm and & friendly welcome awaits you at:Number One Guest Accommodation. Designed by renowned architect John Foulston (circa 1850) this impressive, newly refurbished regency villa offers elegant en suite accommodation, ideally situated on Plymouth Hoe. Only a few minutes walk from the heart of the City centre, historic Barbican and rail & coach stations. Elegant Victorian building located in the Plymouth Hoe area, close to all local amenities, with free parking for guests. All rooms are en-suite and have been recently refurbished. Each room has a new flat screen TV with freeview and tea/coffee facilities. A full English breakfast with alternatives is served every morning. Free WI-FI is available. Perfect for business trips, short breaks or as a convenient base for your holiday in Devon & Cornwall.
Picture of Number One, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
My wife and I wanted a base to travel around the south devon and cornwall coast. We were very pleased with the ideally placed Number One guest house, just a two minute walk from Plymouth Hoe. Car park for guests at the rear of the property was a bonus. The rooms were perfectly adequate and comfortable and very clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, the tea, coffee and milk replenished daily. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. Cooked breakfasts were excellent and always hot.If I was to stay in Plymouth again, I would stay here. Great value for money.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us at Number One. We’re very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Erica

Reviewed by
L Cain

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant welcome and stay
Excellent location close to the bay in easy reach of most areas of interest; with helpful free parking.
Good value for money room - especially in the summer. Expecting to be down for more work and will look to re-book.

Reviewed by
Julian C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definitely go back
Great little hotel, ideal location in Plymouth for all attractions. Clean rooms , friendly staff. Reasonably priced accommodation. Will use again.

Reviewed by
steve w

From Braunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant find!!
Excellent rooms and food. Ideal position as well for seeing Plymouth at its best!

Reviewed by
R Cobb

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
Lovely accommodation. Friendly and helpful owners. Will definitely stay there again. We have recommended to others. We love the location as it's a stones throw away from everything you could possibly want . The only thing is remember to pay on the way out. We just assumed Late rooms took the money in advance but they don't, could have been a little embarrassing.

Reviewed by
a jemison

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central position
A1 position & good quality. When going to bed only one pillow each, bit disappointed & too late to complain.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for leaving your comments. I hope you’ll return to stay with us again and if you require something in your room to improve your stay, please do let us know. We’re on duty and available to help until at least 10pm. Regards, Erica

Reviewed by
tim C

From chilton polden, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel experience
lovely hotel with nice owners
room a little dated, but perfectly adequate

Reviewed by
Calum A

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Very pleased with my stay and the free parking made a real difference as street parking is all charged.

Reviewed by
David Mason

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
I have stayed at Number twice in the last two weeks as I travel to Plymouth on business. The hotel is small but beautiful and well presented. The old admiralty house has been restored to an excellent standard and the bedrooms are very well appointed. The hotel has it's own parking, which is amazing being situated just two minutes from the top of the famous Hoe where Drake played bowls and is less than a five minute walk into the main town, wide choice of restraints and the Theatre Royal. This is an independent hotel presented in the style of a top guest house. There is no guest lounge, bar, room service or other amenities but it's proximity to the town makes this unnecessary. Breakfast is excellent with good choice of dishes. I will stay at number one often!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for using LateRooms.comThank you for leaving us such positive feedback, we love to hear that we’ve made our guests’ stay a good one. As you say, we are a B&B rather than offering hotel amenities and there’s certainly no shortage of choice on the doorstep for entertainment and eating out. We hope to welcome you back soon. Erica, Number One, Plymouth

Reviewed by
Heather Hunter

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Friendly owners, very clean room, tasty breakfast. Central location for all local attractions.

Reviewed by
A Roberts

From Llanybydder, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next